We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Bayshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Canton, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Recently visited the TC area...this was my first time and the Bayshore Resort was a great choice. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the resort and everything TC had to offer. The location is great-a quick ride/walk into town, close to restaurants, wineries and sleeping bear dunes. We had a partial lake view room and it was great...beautiful view, very large/clean room and very private. Staff was very friendly and helpful with recommondations and directions. I would recommend and will definitely come back and stay at the Bayshore again!

Room Tip: For couples-I recommend a partial view spa room...its excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    53
    39
    20
    12
See reviews for
51
68
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Rooms here were a bit more expensive than some alternatives, but we chose it based on a recommendation and it's beach location. This is a nice hotel with friendly staff. The room was spotless and comfortable. The beach was perfect. The breakfast selection was nice and included many fresh fruits. We also found the pool, hot tub and surounding area to be very clean.
The location of this hotel is great being you are on beautiful Lake Michigan and within walking distance of the downtown area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a 3rd floor quiet, clean room overlooking full view of the water. Staff friendly and helpful and always a smile as they greet you. For the price, a coffee maker and fridge would be an expectation. Clean resort:saw staff cleaning beach chairs every morning. Conveniently located close to downtown area. A must for restaurants is the Apache Trout Grill with a rustic outdoor patio overlooking the water. Well worth the wait!! Thankyou to Kate, our waitress, and the" kitchen team" for the fabulous service and symphony of delicious food. My husband and I are RCI members and are well travelled and thoroughly enjoyed our first time stay inTraverse City.

Room Tip: Had full water view room with 2 queen beds, Lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. Enjoyed coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a partial lake-view, but the distraction on the side of the hotel was unbearable. A dark green Chevy truck remained parked 24 hours along with other equipment. The owner of the truck would work on the truck late in the evening and throughout the night. A suggestion would be to plant some flowers and keep that area free of looking like a "junk yard". Sitting on the balcony was out of the question because all you could see was this truck and the other equipment. Felt as if you were next to a repair shop. Not a nice hotel resort feel.

The room was okay. It was truly hard to retreat when the comfort was not available. The dust around the headboard, behind the nightstands were horrible. The chairs with sand residue made it feel as if you were in an unclean room although the room itself looked clean until you were up on the area and saw it needed a serious cleaning. Towels in the bathroom had blond hair on them, but they did smell like bleach so you would figure they have been washed. Shower was left with hair each day after someone had come in to clean.

Staff were nice. The indoor pool was very nice. The exercise room was also nice, but freezing cold. One gentleman came into the exercise room to leave out...to only return with a sweatshirt and sweatpants because of the unbelievable cold temperature of the room.

Truth ~ this could be a nice hotel if it were cleaned, the sides cleaned up of the junk feel, and updated rooms, and renovation of the breakfast area. Not sure what was going on in that area. I refused to eat.

Needless to say my retreat took place more on driving somewhere else and taking in the sights or sitting on the lake. The worst part of the retreat was my time in the hotel.

Room Tip: Forget the partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almont, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room was nice, hallways and elevators were very hot, breakfast had something for everyone but not enough seating (nothing like trying to eat with people standing over you so they can snag your table when you leave, when you just sat down yourself), overall room was clean, just don't look behind the nightstand:( , our toilet wouldn't flush in the middle of the night- there solution here's a toilet plunger and just leave it in your room which didn't work so had to use the bathroom downstairs for all guest, next day asked again and they said it was fixed, luckily plunger was left in room the second night. Not something you should have to deal with at 280. a night. At 3:30am coffee available at desk was cold. For the price, mini fridges and coffee pots in room should be a give in. Plan to travel back to the area in the next couple of months with just adults, and thinking twice about staying here again.??

Room Tip: Full water view is great, if you are traveling with others or kids skip the jet tub as it sits right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and really enjoyed the hotel. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly. The rooms are large and some are right on the beach! The indoor pool was really nice and we loved using it when the weather was too cold to go to the beach. The location is great, less than a mile from downtown and directly across the street is a fabulous restaurant. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. We had the choice of several hotels but were told by locals this was the nicest. I had a pool view room and would not recommend this- noisy kids. My friends had a partial lake view which was a real stretch- they couldn't believe they paid more to crank their neck and see an angle of the lake. Make sure if you want to see the lake you ask for full water view. The room decor was dated. Felt very much like a holiday inn. I would have said but at least it was clean, until I noticed a dripping from my ceiling that was water from the room above me. I called the front desk about it but no one ever came to check it out. Yuck! The walls are thin and there is lots of noise from adjacent rooms and the hallway. I would never choose to stay here again, but can understand why you might if you were traveling with kids. Not if you are looking for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We apologize that you had some challenges during your stay.
In regards to the rooms that you stayed in, the partial view is definitely not a full view. There is only a very small price difference (usually $10 or so) from our no-view rooms to the side view rooms for that reason. The small price difference does guarantee that your room will have a balcony but not a full view of the beach and bay.

We do apologize that the issues you experienced happened during very late hours. Our commodes are required to be low-flow. We do not have a full staff on after midnight so our night auditor cannot leave the desk for long periods of time. We can send a maintenance staff member to your room first thing in the morning for any issues like this but it sounds like the issue only happened overnight unfortunately.

The night auditor at the front desk could have brewed fresh coffee as well if they had known it was not warm still and we apologize for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Address: 833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#16 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.