We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bayshore Resort to your Saves list
Bayshore Resort
833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We made a last minute reservation from an email sent to me by Bayshore with a special offer for the weekend. The resort has a nice pool and hot tub, the room have recently been redecorated, new carpet, new tv's. The whole resort was very clean. Breakfast was nice, along with the traditional offers of cereal, coffee, rolls, fruit, yogurt, they also had made to order sausage, waffles, egg and cheese. Our favorite was the Macadamia Nut coffee. I would have given the resort an excellent rating, but we felt the mattress could have been more comfortable, a little too firm. The lower lever has a walkout to the beach which would be nice in the summer. Staff was friendly and helpful for reccomending restaurants in the area. Check out the framed National Cherry Festival posters from past years hanging downstairs.

Room Tip: We booked a standard queen room, we did not have a view of the beach. There was no coffeemaker, fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    63
    44
    21
    13
See reviews for
52
82
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel and the staff were outstanding! Desk staff was great. Needed a new light bulb and it was changed within five minutes. Room was large and pristine. Lots of common area, very spacious and well-lit. 24-hour coffee. Breakfast some of best we've had. Great HBO and other channels. Well-maintained large exercise room and pool area. Great place and great value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Unbelievably rude staff, from the front desk to breakfast room. Hate hockey families? Well the five teams that just stayed at your hotel just dropped $5,000 at least. Show a little respect for that fact.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great place to stay especially the jacuzzi suites! On Traverse Bay, close to downtown.
Awesome indoor pool and spa. Quiet and clean.
Nice spread for breakfast. I would stay here again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed here for few nights when we attended the Macaroni and Cheese Bake Off put on by the Old Mission Peninsula wineries. We had three rooms and stayed two nights. Each of the rooms were on a different floor. The rooms were all nicely decorated - this hotel has an "old fashioned" flavor. The room on the1st floor had an issue with the heat. When we mentioned it to the front desk they sent a maintenance person immediately. It was fixed with in 30 minutes! The second floor room had a balcony with a light. Unfortunately, the light was on all night and my son overslept because he had to draw the black out drapes to block out the balcony light. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and clean. We found the beds a little hard. The pool looked great - unfortunately we forgot to bring our suits. The hotel was hosting many families of young hockey players there for a tournament but the rooms were very quiet.
The breakfast was okay. The usual fare - waffles, sausage, breads, yogurt, cereal, sweets. I would have liked to have hard boiled eggs available as an alternative to the usual powdered scrambled ones. The fruit was fresh and plentiful and the coffee was good. I felt the prices were a little high - given the time of year - and the hotel did not seem full. However, we did enjoy our stay and would go back again and would recommend this property.

Room Tip: We had "no view" rooms and they were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Springs, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family & I have stayed at Bayshore Resort for as long as I can remember (I'm 32 & I know we started when I was little). This is one of the few trips my grandparents took with all 10 of their kids & we have been able to keep the tradition going. We have always had an excellent time at this establishment. We are a group of anywhere from 50-70 in any given year & we have lots of kids running around all the time. We can also be a little needy with extra blankets, pillows & other "extras". The staff always goes above & beyond to be helpful & friendly. They open up their breakfast room for us every night so that we are able to all sit together & play games & eat treats. Thanks Bayshore for allowing us to continue a tradition that is so important to all of us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your family's Bayshore Resort experience with other travelers.

We are so glad that your family is able to gather and spend time together with us year after year. We look forward to seeing you all again in 2013!

Thank you,
Bayshore Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we checked in early on a friday (in november), we were the only car in the parking lot, and were checked in a room with a great view of the street. we asked the frt. desk about moving rooms he advised us the rooms were a blind draw and whst you get is what you get. he did say there were water view rooms available but he wouldnt switch us. after all that my daughter turned the shower on and the tub wouldnt drain, also the was a large hunk of something in our bathroom sink, i think it was mold. the female night manager, was even worse, we had a large group of people and yes there were kids which in my opinion were well behaved. she told us at check out that our group of kid (13 year old boys) were terrible and misbehaved. im not sure why she had no complaints to any of the parents while we were staying. my advise to the consumer is stay anywhere else you can find i'd rather sleep under a picnic table on the beach than give this place my money again. and to the owner, fire your frt. desk staff and hire people who treat you guests as guests and not intruders.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feelings about the weekend you stayed with us.
I would like to address some of the concerns you wrote about.

Rooms at the Bayshore Resort are never a “blind draw”. Your room was part of a hockey team block. All of the rooms in the block are the same group rate, and all of the rooms are close to each other. To achieve this, rooms have a variety of views – no view, side view, or full view.
To take advantage of being in the block, at the low rate, with the rest of the team, you give up choice of view. If a view is more important, you pay a higher rate.

We apologize that you had an issue with your drain. I am glad that Maintenance was able to attend to the matter as soon as you called the Front Desk.

Your hockey team was one of three teams we hosted that weekend. We also had non-group guests staying with us. It was a busy weekend. Every room was occupied. One of the Front Desk’s duties is to make sure that all of our guests have a safe and enjoyable stay. Thus they do tell children not to run, not to horseplay, and to slow down on the stairs. We received many accolades from other guests who stayed this weekend: “Good job handling the hockey teams! Thank you” is one of many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Address: 833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.