We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Renunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Bayshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Cedar Springs, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Renunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My family & I have stayed at Bayshore Resort for as long as I can remember (I'm 32 & I know we started when I was little). This is one of the few trips my grandparents took with all 10 of their kids & we have been able to keep the tradition going. We have always had an excellent time at this establishment. We are a group of anywhere from 50-70 in any given year & we have lots of kids running around all the time. We can also be a little needy with extra blankets, pillows & other "extras". The staff always goes above & beyond to be helpful & friendly. They open up their breakfast room for us every night so that we are able to all sit together & play games & eat treats. Thanks Bayshore for allowing us to continue a tradition that is so important to all of us!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your family's Bayshore Resort experience with other travelers.

We are so glad that your family is able to gather and spend time together with us year after year. We look forward to seeing you all again in 2013!

Thank you,
Bayshore Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
49
61
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jackson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we checked in early on a friday (in november), we were the only car in the parking lot, and were checked in a room with a great view of the street. we asked the frt. desk about moving rooms he advised us the rooms were a blind draw and whst you get is what you get. he did say there were water view rooms available but he wouldnt switch us. after all that my daughter turned the shower on and the tub wouldnt drain, also the was a large hunk of something in our bathroom sink, i think it was mold. the female night manager, was even worse, we had a large group of people and yes there were kids which in my opinion were well behaved. she told us at check out that our group of kid (13 year old boys) were terrible and misbehaved. im not sure why she had no complaints to any of the parents while we were staying. my advise to the consumer is stay anywhere else you can find i'd rather sleep under a picnic table on the beach than give this place my money again. and to the owner, fire your frt. desk staff and hire people who treat you guests as guests and not intruders.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feelings about the weekend you stayed with us.
I would like to address some of the concerns you wrote about.

Rooms at the Bayshore Resort are never a “blind draw”. Your room was part of a hockey team block. All of the rooms in the block are the same group rate, and all of the rooms are close to each other. To achieve this, rooms have a variety of views – no view, side view, or full view.
To take advantage of being in the block, at the low rate, with the rest of the team, you give up choice of view. If a view is more important, you pay a higher rate.

We apologize that you had an issue with your drain. I am glad that Maintenance was able to attend to the matter as soon as you called the Front Desk.

Your hockey team was one of three teams we hosted that weekend. We also had non-group guests staying with us. It was a busy weekend. Every room was occupied. One of the Front Desk’s duties is to make sure that all of our guests have a safe and enjoyable stay. Thus they do tell children not to run, not to horseplay, and to slow down on the stairs. We received many accolades from other guests who stayed this weekend: “Good job handling the hockey teams! Thank you” is one of many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding. I really don't have any major complaints about the stay. The hotel staff was friendly, and the room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. They could probably use an update though; I wasn't really digging the floral wallpaper in the bathroom, and generic bouqet still life prints in the bedroom. Why not add some kind of wine themed, or Great Lakes/nautical themed decor?

I feel like the free breakfast could be improved a little. Powdered eggs make me sad :(.

Good location; it's probably a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of downtown TC, and a short drive to many of the wineries.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Traverse City area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff at the front desk was unfriendly at check in. Room smelled musty and I was unable to control the temperature. Room was either hot or freezing. If you are not extremely quiet people who love victorian decor and people who think they are better than you, do not stay here. We frequent the Holiday Inn on Front St. at least 10-12 times per year along with the Cherry Tree Inn and have always been trated like royalty. Will never stay here or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Mitch ran the cc four times due to his human error and Eric stood up for him while being rude to my friend and I. The people skills leave much to be desired. The hall smelled like mold. The view was nice and the breakfast was good. But I will not be treated the way I was again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
There are a few items that I would like to address in regards to your stay and your review.

The front desk clerk that assisted you at check-in did ask your permission to run your card again when the funds did not go through the first time. One of you then instructed the front desk clerk to keep trying to run the card and he just did as he was asked. We do apologize that with debit cards, sometimes banks place holds on funds even when the charges do not process on our end. This is something that your bank needs to be made aware of and only they can release those pending charges. Our Front Office Manager did call your bank the next afternoon as soon as she started her shift. She had the bank release the pending charges right away.

In regards to your comments about mold in the hallways, the public areas in the hotel are meticulously cleaned daily, including all hallways. There has never been any mold brought to our attention, nor has our staff ever seen or smelled mold. All of our carpeting is brand new this year.

Again, we apologize that this did happen but we are glad that it was resolved the next day and that you were still able to enjoy your room during your stay.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just returned from staying there for the week-end. The front desk were very friendly. We did find there were a few problems with the lights not working in our room. Since we were not in our room a lot we did not say anything. Also we were able to hear a lot of what sounded like running in the halls. I believe it was on the 3rd floor. We were on the 2nd floor and I did not see anything when I looked out into the hallway. Breakfast was good. I enjoyed having a lot of fresh fruit to choose from. The beds were very comfortable.

I would choose this hotel again as it is so close to downtown Traverse City. Good location. Hopefully our next trip will have weather that is a bit more cooperative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and were able to take advantage of our location.
I apologize that you did have issues with some of the lights in the room. We do use all energy efficient bulbs so they do take a minute or so to warm up and come fully on.

We will try and get the weather to cooperate the next time you stay with us!
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a great one-night stay in this hotel. It was clean and quiet, with a great continental breakfast. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The only drawback was there was no coffee maker or mini-fridge in the room. Those two items are nice perks for staying in hotels.

Our room had a balcony that overlooked Traverse Bay. They had a sandy beach with chairs that you could sit and enjoy the breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Address: 833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.