We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Resort

Save Saved
You added Bayshore Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bayshore Resort
833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Columbia City IN
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a great one-night stay in this hotel. It was clean and quiet, with a great continental breakfast. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The only drawback was there was no coffee maker or mini-fridge in the room. Those two items are nice perks for staying in hotels.

Our room had a balcony that overlooked Traverse Bay. They had a sandy beach with chairs that you could sit and enjoy the breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    51
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
49
61
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at room 205 and it was atrocious. There is no window to the outside. It is claustrophobic and the window only looks to the indoor pool. They have painted a blue sky to give an impression of an outside but that isn't even close to an actual window to the outside.
I am deeply disappointed, and I plan to warn all my friends and family away from this place on their future trips to Traverse City. We will never visit here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BayshoreResort, Guest Relations Manager at Bayshore Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We apologize that your room for the weekend was not what you were expecting.

We only have 8 guestrooms that do not have exterior windows and that look directly into the indoor pool. The remaining rooms out of our 120 guestrooms all have exterior windows. Many of these rooms also have full views of the bay along with private balconies.

Our rates are determined mainly by the view from the room. The room type that you had booked is called a Pool View Room and is described as a non-view room. We do apologize if there had been a miscommunication somewhere throughout the reservation process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have visited Traverse City several times off peak using the Convention Center's Fall package. We prefer to be within walking distance of downtown and have tried the other two hotels that fit that description. We have finally found the best for us of the three. The Bayshore has the best value with its exceedingly clean rooms and public areas. The oft discussed breakfast was certainly as expected for the price we paid. When the breakfast room was too full, we simply carried our choices back to the room. Yes, the scrambled eggs were made from either egg substitue or powder, but there certainly were many other choices. The Omlette Shop is a great choice if this breakfast is not up to your expectations.

The Bayshore's beach which includes plenty of lounge chairs and tables and chairs on a wooden deck was lovely. Towels were provided both at the beach and pool, but be advised that they are bath sized. Bring your own large beach towels to place on your lounge chair. The pool and hot tub were kept at comfortable temperatures which were posted. This was one of my favorite indoor pools; it was both large enough for lap swimming and well lit with a wall of windows and glass doors. The ceiling was painted sky blue and many colorful kites were hung from above which must be wonderful in the gray and cold of winter.

Yes, the decor is Victorian and includes lace sheers on the sliding doors and busy rose covered wallpaper in the nicely sized spotless bath with ceramic flooring. My main suggestion here is there was really nowhere to hang wet swimsuits. Most beach resorts or cruise ships have a clothesline that pulls out in the shower, but not here. We didn't even have the option of hanging things on hangers as they were like new wooden hangers. We had a first floor room so we weren't comfortable leaving things on the tiny terrace. I hope the hotel can solve this problem. All in all, everything was in good repair and very clean.

Both checkin and checkout were instantaneous with cheerful clerks at the front desk who also answered any questions we had. We even saw a worker on her hands and knees scrubbing grout in the inside hall by the exit to the beach. She was smiling and doing a great job. Wow! We enjoyed the great attention to detail here and would certainly return.

As for the reviews posted earlier that advise you to book at the hotel next door, be warned that it changed hands while we were at the Bayshore and a huge and much needed renovation is planned. Check the reviews for it and you will select the Bayshore which costs only about $20 more under the Fall TC Convention Center Special and includes breakfast. If you have any questions, I will try to answer them promptly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent four days at the Bayshore during the Traverse City film festival this year. My walkout room on the beach level was wonderful -- I could sit on the porch with my feet in the sand one minute, go inside and soak in the in-room spa the next, and all the while be enjoying the sights and sounds of the beautiful bay. The room was spacious enough to easily accommodate a rollaway bed, too. My only complaint would be the lack of an in-room refrigerator, which seems a little odd for a resort hotel such as this; I would have liked to be able to store my own beverages or leftovers during my stay. But that aside, the hotel has pretty much everything else I could ask for -- an excellent location, quiet and comfortable rooms, a convenient fitness area and laundry room, a spacious parking lot, adequately stocked vending machines, friendly service, and a very good breakfast selection (although other posters were right in that it can get ridiculously crowded in the dining room, especially the later you arrive). Granted, the Bayshore isn't the cheapest place in town, but I felt like I got my money's worth and would be glad to stay here again on a future trip.

Room Tip: The walkout rooms on the Beach level are wonderful, but do be aware that people are on the beach pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesick, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our daughter was married this past week-end at Crooked Creek Ranch in Leland and wanted a hotel that could accommodate not only the wedding party and family, but friends who were traveling a great distance. She wanted to be close to downtown Traverse City as this was a destination wedding and there were people coming in from all over the state and country. This hotel is right on the bay, close to downtown Traverse City, and the pool is first class. Our rooms were clean, the staff went out of their way to accommodate all our guests. We had people aging from 9 years old to 100 and there was something for everyone close by; biking, jogging, swimming, shopping, night life, and quiet places to relax. If you are looking for location, accommodating staff, and a clean place to stay, I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are priced by location. I would pay the extra money and have the walk out rooms located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

A very nice resort. The indoor pool was very well maintained and the decor was beautiful. The room (a beach view with 2 queen beds) was spacious and very comfotable. Sheets were not scratchy. Everything seemed to be exceptionally maintained; even the vending machines all worked! Staff was friendly and helpful. The free breakfast had good selection, even hot food. Nice back deck area on the beach for morning coffee. Nicely located toward the end of what seemed to be a main strip thru town yet nice and quite. Would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were a little hesitant after reading the negative reviews that we canceled one of our nights before arrival. We had 3 rooms with walk out balconies to the beach. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful at check in. We had 3 rooms right next to each other as requested. Yes, the decor is a little dated but could not have been cleaner. After spending 2 days on Mackinac Island & paying twice the money for !/3 the space, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are spacious. The bathroom was large & spotless; with not one but two vanities. One was outside the bathroom which is great in early morning. With lakefront walkouts, the view was amazing. Yes, there was sand . . but what part of beachfront don't you understand. Let's get real here. Granted, we were here on "off season" but we could have not been more pleased. Actually, we were going to add a night until we checked the weather & found that it was going to be cool & rainy. There were plenty of chairs on the private beach. Just such a great time relaxing, watching the sail boats. As for the breakfast . . We thought it was good. There was such a good variety of fresh fruit. There was a choice of two eggs, all kinds of pastries, cereals & breads. What do people expect on a continental breakfast? Let's get real here . . they are feeding the masses without a full kitchen. We have traveled a lot since retirement . . have spent about 40 days in hotels this year. Outside of the Holiday Inn Express in Casa Grande AZ where we had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant because we were Priority Members, have we had a better breakfast. I just can't understand the negative reviews. Please people... get real here.

Room Tip: Loved the walkout to the beach . . but if you are there during the summer, I would opt for a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayshore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Resort

Address: 833 E. Front Street, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are ready for a romantic relaxing getaway or simply enthusiastically wanting to indulge your sense of adventure, you can do it here at Bayshore Resort! Our Victorian style hotel is nestled on the beach of West Grand Traverse Bay and offers the best of all you love about Traverse City - a great waterfront location and a short stroll away from downtown with its diverse dining, shopping, and nightlife. Bayshore Resort has the perfect room to fit the specific needs of every guest from amazing views to Spa Rooms, Suites, and more! Our complimentary Wi-Fi makes it convenient to mix business with pleasure. Join us every morning for a fresh, complimentary breakfast before spending the day on our private beach, taking a swim in the large indoor pool, or venturing out to explore the charming shops and restaurants that the area has to offer. Taking a day trip couldn’t be easier as it is only a short drive to the area’s elegant wineries, exciting casinos and exceptional Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Bayshore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Hotel Traverse City
Bayshore Resort Traverse City
Bayshore Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.