We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Traverse City to your Saves list
AmericInn Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ithaca, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Traverse City Americinn last night and were very impressed with the cleanliness and the help. The receptionist who checked us in was the most cheerful, pleasant and helpful receptionist that stood out from a sea of very good receptionists over the years at various motels. The lady who took care of the breakfast was outstanding too. Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Jon, Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and especially about the staff! All our staff work very hard to ensure a great experience for our guests and exceeding their expectations. I’m thrilled you were able to experience our guest service! It means a lot to hear of our guests experiences on TripAdvisor and talking to people at the hotel. I’m proud of my staff and of our hotel. Thank you again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    88
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
91
120
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Friendly staff, beautiful entry/breakfast area, clean room, comfortable bed, tasty breakfast.
Noisy fridge, terrible view of neighbor's trashy yard.
Would stay again; would like to try out the pool--looked inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write about the AmericInn today Susan. I am happy that you enjoyed your room and enjoyed the room. I’m sorry to hear about your view with the neighbors yard. I too am frustrated with this and please be assured that we have taken steps to try to have this corrected with them. I would be thrilled to have you stay again (and try out our amazing pool). When you call, ask our reservationist for a “odd numbered” room and the view will overlook the adventure park and not the neighboring hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel was great! The price and location will keep us coming back! It was within walking distance to Pirate's Cove and G's pizza. The room was clean and quiet. The breakfast had a great variety of food choices and the staff was really friendly. The breakfast space was a little cramped, but worth it! We will be back :) Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Wow….”Traverse City’s Best kept Secret” That is a headline I could get used to hearing. I’m so happy that you have found out hotel to be one that you will keep coming back to. That is such a wonderful thing to hear. Our staff is proud of our hotel and we enjoy being able to be apart of each of our guests vacations. Thank you so much for taking the time to tell everyone about your experience and I hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed two nights, very nice rooms, typical breakfast in the a.m., very sweet young lady at front desk when we checked in. Only bad thing was the "cigarette police" in the back end of the parking lot.....seriously??

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so sorry about your experience about the smoking area. As I explained in my letter to your comment card you left, we have fully investigated this and found that this was actually not a staff member, rather it was an employee at the neighboring business. We have brought these concerns to the ownership of the other business and are working to deal with this situation. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize that you experienced this issue and hope that you will continue to use our hotel for your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I asked for a room by a door, in that I am a smoker, which was promptly given to me. It would be nice to have a bench outside, after all I pay the same rates as non-smokers. Was glad there was a laundry facility available.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the AmericInn Traverse City! I’m glad we were able to accommodate your request to be near a door during your stay. I’m also glad you were able to take advantage of our guest laundry services. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a hidden gem. I enjoyed the most relaxing time with a king/Jacuzzi room. The price was unbelievable and that was without any kind of discount or anything. Super clean, comfortable and close to everything. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Wow! Thank you for the kind words about our hotel and calling us a “hidden gem.” We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. I’m happy you have found “the place to stay” in Traverse City as many others have. We are lucky to have such wonderful guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Mi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We have stayed here several times and will continue to stay here when we come to Traverse City. Rates for seniors are lower than most motels in this area where many places are overpriced. We find it clean, quiet, close to town and places to eat. Staff has been friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review about the AmericInn Traverse City. I am so happy that you found our accommodations great and the staff wonderful. We know you have a lot of choices when it comes to hotels in town, and we are so happy you have chosen to stay with us several times! That is the best compliment we can receive. Thank you so very much and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treating guests like neighbors - that's the AmericInn way! The AmericInn Traverse City is newly renovated in spring 2013 and our staff is eager and ready to show you our award winning hospitality and service! We strive to ensure a positive experience 100% of the time! Our goal is to exceed your expectations. Upon your arrival to our facility, you will be welcomed into the hotel by our warm, cozy lobby. We offer a comfortable seating area where you can relax and read your favorite magazine...Or browse one of ours! Enjoy a fresh cup of coffee and the company of other guests or the staff while you sit back, put your feet up, and relax after your day of exploring the Grand Traverse area. At the AmericInn hotel you can expect the highest level of service, the quietest rooms in the business, oversized accommodations and a long list of amenities including an inviting pool, free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, free local calls, complimentary hot breakfast and more. Let us "Welcome to the end of the day". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and AmericInn Hotels so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.