We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at AmericInn and very impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Traverse City to your Saves list
AmericInn Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Goshen
1 review
“First time at AmericInn and very impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were very pleased as everything that makes a "home away from home" was in place here! Our room was cozy, quiet, and clean. Our bed was comfortable. The tv, wi-fi, and coffee maker worked well. The shower/tub was great! The breakfast & coffee/tea center was wonderful and Nancy, the breakfast hostess, is a gem. The staff were super-helpful in answering questions about the area. One small problem is the overwhelming chlorine smell one notices as you step into the lobby (no doubt from the pool). Otherwise- a perfect score! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding the AmericInn! We truly try to be the “home away from home” for our guests and we strive to give each of our guests the personal attention and recommendations to make them feel like they are truly part of the AmericInn family. I’m so happy that you have found our accommodations comfortable where you can relax and enjoy your stay. Thank you so much for your “perfect score” Until next time, thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    97
    24
    5
    8
See reviews for
98
132
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, IL
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at this property because of the TripAdvisor reviews and found this location to be just as good if not better than the other guests had related their visit to be. The entire staff is excellent and knowledgeable about the area, they are always helpful and friendly and trying to do anything they can for their guests. They made us feel like members of their family staying there. The breakfast is great to enjoy in the morning and there is always coffee and tea available in the lobby. The rooms are spotless and quiet. The TART bike trail is located just a few yards behind the parking lot to take you to the downtown area, Grand Traverse Bay and the Leelanau bike trail but bicycles are not allowed in the rooms but there is a bike rack available to lock the bikes outdoors. The State beach is also close by and the scenery is terrific. Some suites have fireplaces, but they are electric. The prices were very reasonable for the area in the fall during the week. Fast and strong wifi sevice. I would definitely return here next year for another enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. I am so happy that you chose us for our reviews. We are very fortunate to have such great reviews. Our staff works hard with each and every guest to make their stay memorable and enjoyable. Our amenities set us apart and location is wonderful! We know there are a lot of choices in accommodations while in Traverse City and we are proud that you have chosen us! Thank you and I look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbear989
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the 2 room suite. You walk into a room with desk, couch and tv. Next is the bathroom area - very nice size. The bedroom had a king size bed and tv. Everything was very clean. Bed & pillows very comfy. Breakfast was included. All this for $99 = bargain!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and your review of the AmericInn! I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and found the amenities a bargain. We are proud of the hotel and especially since the renovation this past spring, the hotel is even better! Thank you so much again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As usual, Nick and his staff provided excellent service. Everything was as it always is, clean and inviting, except better due to recent upgrades. I look forward to returning every year and would return more often if I could. It is so nice to see many of the same staff during every visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn Traverse City and taking the time to review out hotel. Also, thank you for returning year after year! We appreciate you choosing the AmericInn for your lodging needs when here. We look forward to seeing you and your group next fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We very much enjoyed our one night stay at Americinn. The staff was friendly, the rooms and public areas were very clean and the breakfast was good. We loved the area and do want to return in the future. This was our first trip here and, sadly, we only stayed one night. Will return again and most likely will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Shelley, thank you for your kind words about the AmericInn! I am so happy that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel (and to our town). The staff takes pride of the hotel and it shows with the kind words you have said about the hotel. Next time you will have to spend a few days and really experience everything that our area has to offer! Thank you again for taking the time to tell everyone about the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to the AmericInn Traverse City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We often stay at AmericInn. Have never had a bad experience. The price is right, the staff is courteous, the rooms and common areas are clean and well maintained. The beds are comfortable, and there are plenty of pillows. Whenever we travel, we look first to see if there is an AmericInn in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Peter, thank you so much for your kind words about the AmericInn and our comfortable atmosphere. We are proud of our hotel and the level of service and amenities we provide. After our recent remodel, the refreshed hotel is even better then before! Its great to hear you look for AmericInn’s when you travel and we are happy to welcome you to the end of the day on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a refurbished motel. Rooms were clean, up to date furnishings. Bathrooms were very nice. A work desk was in the room which is an upgrade from other AmericInn's we have stayed at. Only complaint is a couple of workers were smoking outside right next to the main entrance and in front of a no smoking sign. Somewhat annoying to pass by. Breakast is nothing special and area is small, therefore it was very crowded the morning we were there. Coffee quality could be improved.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Richard, thank you for your comments about the AmericInn. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I’m also sorry about the smoking. During your stay we did have a group staying that we had to ask multiple occasions to move away from the front door non-smoking signs. I am sorry this was a problem but know that our staff went out on multiple occasions to ask them to move away from the door. I hope that on your next visit, you will be able to continue to enjoy the upgraded rooms and amenities of our renovation this past spring. Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AmericInn Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.