We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Traverse City to your Saves list
AmericInn Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our family enjoyed our stay. The rooms were quiet and clean. The beds were comfortable. We enjoyed having Pirate's Cove next door and saving money by buying our putt putt golf at the front desk. The front desk staff was always friendly. The pool area was nice. We really appreciated having breakfast in the lobby, but there always seemed to be an issue with seating. It was cramped and not a lot of places to sit. By our last morning we decided to go out to breakfast because there was no where to sit. We would definitely stay at here again if we are Traverse City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the AmericInn! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found your room to be comfortable. I understand the frustration of the smaller breakfast area and apologize for your frustration of trying to find someplace to sit. I am happy that you would come back and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    89
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
91
122
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at 3 different Americinn's on our recent trip to Michigan (Munising/Wetmore, TC and Ironwood) and were please with all of them.

This property had recently received an updating of its guest rooms/bedding. We had a double queen room and had plenty of room for all 4 of us (2 kids/2 adults). Beds were comfortable and bedding was quality. Breakfast was nice although after 3 nights/mornings the choices got a bit stale. Would be nice to see a rotating hot option instead of biscuits and gravy every AM. Pool area was nice and front desk staff was pleasant and helpful when assistance was needed.

Location was convenient for our purposes and I would certainly recommend as a good family option. Reasonable rates too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy you were able to visit Michigan and use three AmericInn properties! We are very proud of our remodel and upgrades and have heard so many positive feedbacks on them over the past couple months since we remodeled! I know one of the most important parts of a stay is service and thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our front desk staff. They are experts on the area and dedicate themselves to each of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had just spent a few days on Mackinaw Island, and wanted to visit Traverse City as we headed back south. This hotel is located on a strip with what seems like hundreds of other hotels on both sides of the road. I picked it originally due to its great pricing and I wasn't disappointed at all. The hotel is clean, quiet, the rooms were well appointed and the beds, pillows, and all were great. We enjoyed having a microwave in our room, as one night we stayed in and just popped some popcorn (available in the lobby vending machines) and watched a movie. Being next to the Pirate's Cove was nice in that one day we just walked over for some Dairy Queen, and not having to get into the car to make the drive made it taste even better!

This hotel is a few miles from downtown Traverse City, and walking is really not an option (road has really heavy traffic). Although I did see a parking garage or two in the downtown area, keep in mind that you need to be really good at parallel parking and have lots of change as that is the primary form of parking. This hotel is just a short distance from several public beaches which are large and clean with good parking. Hotels on the other side of the street with their own beach access would have been better if you were there for the beach, but we were not so it didn't really matter. Traverse City is about 30 minutes from Sleeping Bear Dunes if that is an attraction you might want to visit.

Breakfast was nice - cold cereals, instant oatmeal, danish, toast, yogurt, make your own waffles, and sausage gravy with biscuits. Coffee station is nice, they offer flavored creamers and flavor shots to make it more than just plain coffee. Seating is really limited though so keep that in mind. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel during your visit. Its great having DQ and Pirates cove next to us along with all the other great activities. The hotel was actually remodeled this past spring and the addition of microwaves and refrigerators to all rooms has really been enjoyed by our guests! Im so happy that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the area during your next stay. Hopefully you are able to stay longer and enjoy even more that Traverse City has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and loved it! The whole hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff couldn't have been friendlier and the price is much more reasonable than other hotels in the area. We came for a concert at Interlochen but also wanted to take in some of the other area attractions. This location was great because, within a short distance from the hotel, we were able to access 3 Mile Rd. to take the alternate route and avoid the heavy traffic along US-31 when we went to Interlochen but we were still within a few miles from downtown Traverse City and Old Mission Peninsula. It would be a perfect location for families because of the wonderful Pirate's Cove complex next door with putt-putt golf, bumper boats, bumper cars, a rope walk and a zip line. There are package deals available that combine the complex and hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are good. Even though we had a first floor room on the parking lot side wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words about the hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the "short cut" to Interlochen. Its so nice to have such a great arts camp so close to us here in town that brings in amazing concerts! I hope that you enjoyed yourself there. Again, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay while at the AmericInn and are so happy that you were able to explore our area. I look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon so you can do even more exploring in the Traverse City area. Please let me know if I can be of any other help when planning your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Everything about this place is great. Location, staff, room, services, breakfast, parking. Very happy with our stay there. The room was great, liked our spa and we had plenty of towels in our room to go with it. Very clean, quiet and the staff is super knowledgeable about the area. There is an amusement park nearby and it wasn't bothersome at all. We played putt putt there. Laundry facilities available that are clean and not expensive at all. Breakfast is yummy with lots to offer. We had a fridge and microwave in our room. You can walk to the beach, or drive and there was plenty of parking both places.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Barbara, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your stay to be “perfect.” We know there are a lot of options for lodging in the Traverse City area and are proud that you trust us with your vacation experience when you visit our area. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We found the hotel to be very clean and up to date. All the rooms have been remodeled. Hotel is in a good location to restaurants and entertainment. Located next door to a amusement park. However, the rooms were extremely quiet. Pool and hot tub area were very clean and inviting. Located within walking distance to Traverse Bay and beach across street. Found dining area for the complimentary breakfast to be a bit small and cramped, with limited seating. However, the food was good and fresh. To me, this was only draw back to hotel. Staff was friendly and very helpful. One other draw back, there is no fitness center. My wife and I joined a club down the street for $75 for a 10 visit punch card. Very nice facility.

Room Tip: I would say all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your stay. I am so happy you found your stay to be relaxing and quiet. I agree our location is perfect for many activities either within walking distance or a short drive. Glad you were able to take advantage of everything Traverse City has to offer! Thank you again for such kind words about the hotel and I look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next visit to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Great value for price & excellent location. Traverse City has a lot of hotels but many are in the $200/day range in the summer which is just too much. This hotel hads been recently refurbished in a simple but tasteful way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick T, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and staying with us during your recent visit. I’m so happy you enjoyed your stay and the refreshed hotel that we have. Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the AmericInn Traverse City, Michigan. We know there's no place like home, but with our newly updated furnishings (renovated spring of 2013), room decor, flat screen TV's and cozy Serta Perfect Sleeper beds, the AmericInn Traverse City will feel like your home away from home. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. The AmericInn Traverse City hotel is conveniently located in Traverse City, Michigan's Premiere four season resort destination only minutes away from the historic downtown shopping district, award winning wineries and micro-breweries, beaches, hiking and more. Welcome to the End of the Day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.