We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Traverse City

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
AmericInn Traverse City
1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pretty good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We come to Traverse City every couple years or so, and I usually just shop around for the best rate at the given time. Had never been to this hotel before, but had a great experience at an AmericInn in the UP a few years ago. This looked a tad shabby from the outside, but was fine on the inside. Clean renovated rooms. As someone else said, the desk staff varied. young man extremely pleasant, young lady not so much. Overall a good experience, comfortable bed and good breakfast. Fridge in the room would have been nice.

Room Tip: We used the handicap assessable king to get a king bed at a lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel! We take pride in providing excellent accomodations for a great price! I hope that you were able to enjoy all the wonderful things there was to do in the area and that you were able to feel refreshed every morning after staying with us. Thank you again for such a nice review. I hope to see you back on your next visit to the Traverse City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    45
    12
    1
    5
See reviews for
49
66
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms are updated and clean with comfortable beds..The breakfast included hot waffles and biscuits and gravy in addition to the continental staples.This was our first time staying in Traverse City and there is many things to do in the area. The hotel is in a beautiful setting adjacent to a State Park and close to Lake Michigan. It is also proximate to the TART bike and hiking trail which was a real plus, as there are many nature stops in the area. Bring your bicycle.There is also an amusement complex next door featuring Mini Golf and Go Cart Track which are open in the summer. The hotel provided great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our area and our hotel so much. Thank you for visiting the AmericInn onyour first (of many I hope) visits to our area. The Traverse City area is such a great hidden treasure for everyone to visit and do things. Again, I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel so much and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pawcatuck
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our family recently stayed here, rooms clean,but noisy. Lobby nice. Breakfast not so hot. Some of the front desk help nice, others need personality training. Apparrently, when you book with hotels.com, they do not communicate with the hotel, unfortunately, we had a very bad experience with the manager after a 17 hour drive. so over all the stay was just okay. We would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Tara, I am so sorry you feel the way you do about the hotel. When you made your reservation through the online travel company they only placed a reservation for one night. Unfortunately, the company didn’t pass through the special requests that you had and because of being sold out and your late arrival, we were unable to accommodate the special requests. When making reservations through an online travel agency, there is no personal contact between the company and the hotel, everything is done electronically.

I am sorry you felt that our staff was unfriendly and that you had a problem with me. Our staff attempted to make contact with you multiple times but we were unable to due to not having contact information for you locally and two hours after the scheduled check-out we had to make decisions as we were sold out and had to accommodate other guests.

I thought we had a great conversation after about your son’s schooling at the local college and if I had known you had concerns regarding noise or anything else, I would have been happy to make it right with you. Our hotel strives on providing excellent service and I was very saddened when I saw you felt differently. That is not the way we want you to feel about our hotel.

Again, I am sorry you felt the way you did about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron River, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed on a Sunday-Monday night. The rooms were very nice but there were no micro/fridges in the room. Front desk clerk Emily was very helpful as we had a problem in the bathroom of the first room they gave us. Pool and hot tub could have used a little cleaning as there was a scum buildup on upper tiles. The breakfast bar was outstanding and had a very good selection.

Room Tip: Do not rent the King room with shower only(very slippery floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
The Traverse Area Recreation Trail (TART Trail system) is a wonderful thing that Traverse City offers and am glad that you were able to take advantage of it as it passes right past the hotel! Thank you for such a nice review. I am so happy that Emily at our Front Desk was able to assist you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

On a tight budget, yet wanting to end the summer right...we happened upon AmericInn in Traverse City. What a great place to stay. The staff...super nice and friendly...and knoweledgeable of the area. Right across the street was the State Park...beautiful. And there was a Putt-Putt and go-cart establishment right next door! What a great time. Rooms where clean and comfortable. Breakfast was terrific.

Room Tip: The first couple rooms on the first floor would not be good, high traffice area. We stayed on the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you have enjoyed your stay and recommended it to others. I hope that we can welcome you back very soon to the AmericInn Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It was my first stay at an AmericInn, and I plan to stay again. Friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms, very good choices at breakfast, with an employee constantly monitoring and cleaning the breakfast area. Especially enjoyed having coffee, tea, hot chocolate available at all times. Good location ~ close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for saying we are highly recommended! The entire staff works hard to make sure every guest walks away with a wonderful experience. We know you have entrusted your vacation memories to us and we work to make sure that those memories are something that you will always remember your time in Traverse City. Thank you so much for choosing AmericInn and thank you for telling the world about how wonderful your stay was! We are very lucky to have such wonderful guests visit us too! Thank you again and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Traverse City and the AmericInn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

You won't find modern decor or anything fancy, but the hotel is super clean, and our suite was quite large for the price. The pool area was also clean (and uncrowded). The breakfast was fine, but like almost every other hotel that offers a free breakfast, the options are skewed toward sweet stuff (waffles, yogurt, donuts, fruit), and I can't stomach anything sweet in the morning. The sausage gravy and biscuits were good, but very high-calorie, I'm sure. Can't beat the location -- right across the street from the beaches (without the high price of the resorts across the street) and close to the public beach. Just a short drive to downtown Traverse City, and also close to both peninsulas. We stayed here for four nights in early September and used the money we saved (compared to the resorts) to spend on food, wineries and gifts. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americinntc, General Manager at AmericInn Traverse City, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so happy you were happy with the accommodations and felt that we were a great value. It sounds like you had a wonderful time experiencing all that Traverse City has to offer and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Traverse City

Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel Traverse City
Address: 1614 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#11 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treating guests like neighbors - that's the AmericInn way! The AmericInn Traverse City is newly renovated in spring 2013 and our staff is eager and ready to show you our award winning hospitality and service! We strive to ensure a positive experience 100% of the time! Our goal is to exceed your expectations. Upon your arrival to our facility, you will be welcomed into the hotel by our warm, cozy lobby. We offer a comfortable seating area where you can relax and read your favorite magazine...Or browse one of ours! Enjoy a fresh cup of coffee and the company of other guests or the staff while you sit back, put your feet up, and relax after your day of exploring the Grand Traverse area. At the AmericInn hotel you can expect the highest level of service, the quietest rooms in the business, oversized accommodations and a long list of amenities including an inviting pool, free high-speed Internet access, cable TV, free local calls, complimentary hot breakfast and more. Let us "Welcome to the end of the day". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AmericInn Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.