We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn By the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn By the Bay to your Saves list
Quality Inn By the Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“As Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was worried about staying here because I read some of the bad reviews. My experience was positive. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was OK. The only thing that wasn't positive is that when using the shower, if any of the surrounding rooms flushed the toilet, you would get a burst of really hot water. I paid $62.10 plus tax as I booked almost a year in advance. I believe some people were paying $100 or more for the same room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far back as possible so that you don't get road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a chance with us. We truly hope you enjoyed your stay and would like to see you again soon. I'm not certain if you had the opportunity to address the water temperature issue with our staff, but please remember in the future to let us know of any concerns you may have so that we can rectify them immediately.

Thank you again for your feed back and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    36
    31
    21
See reviews for
39
51
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were passing thru the area and needed a place to stay. As we are Choice Hotel members, we always look for one of their properties. This one was highly disapointing and WAY overpriced.
Our first room was right next to the pool. The pool and the area outside was full of screaming kids. The front desk was very helpful and gave us another room. This room was at the end of the wing and away from all the kids. However; this room also had paper thin walls and we could hear the "partying" going on next door. Way TMI! The room was also beat up with a stoickey bathroom floor. Maintenance came and cleaned the bathroom. After a poor nights sleep, we were looking forward to breakfast. Breakfast was up to Choice standards, however; the "breakfast" room wasn't. The room was acctually the lobby of the hotel with minimum seating.
We ended up sitting next to the entrance door on a low wall. Very disapointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. Thank you for acknowledging our attempts to rectify the situation regarding your first room being next to a loud pool area. Even though we made an attempt to move you to different room, it can be challenging to control people's behaviors in a public setting, specially when the hotel is sold out. I'm not certain if you had a chance to notify the front desk regarding the people that were being loud next to your new room, but we would have made every effort to quite them down.

We understand that the breakfast area can get crowded, but I'm excited to share that we will be renovating the hotel and creating a bigger and better breakfast area to unsure our guests will have a better experience.

Thank you again for your feed back and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoleon, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Bed spreads had rips in them. The room smelled like an ashtray and the bathroom was so small, you had no room to change clothes if you wanted...you barely had room to sit on the toilet. The breakfast area/ lobby was extremely small. There was no room to sit or stand if it was busy at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back with us regarding your recent stay. On behalf of our hotel and our team, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

I wished you had the opportunity to bring your concerns to our attention while you were at the hotel. We would have made every effort to remedy the issues. I do agree that our breakfast area is small for the number of rooms and guests we have at our hotel. However, we are very excited to announce that we will be breaking ground in August to have a brand new breakfast area with more room to accommodate our guests comfortably. We hope you will allow us another chance in staying with us so we can share these new changes and updates with you.

Thank you again for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've stayed at the Quality Inn By the Bay twice for 3 nights each time. The criticism that this motel is not "By the Bay" is essentially a semantic quibble in my opinion,y it is "By the Bay", but not "On the Bay". It is conveniently located to downtown Traverse City, the few public access points to Grand Traverse Bay and several restaurants. The biggest up-side for us is the fact that this is a dog-friendly motel (reasonable $5 per night per dog charge) and there is a walking/biking path right behind the motel and lots of grassy areas around the motel. It is also convenient if you do have a bike and want to take a ride after you check in, or want to walk, run or jog because you can simply go out you door and get started. The trial goes on for miles. The breakfast is quite varied (sausage, eggs, both hard-boiled and hot, waffles, biscuits, fruit, etc.) but the breakfast area was carved out of the original lobby so it's small and can be chaotic if you show up when a lot of other people want to eat. We didn't find the per night price unreasonable ($77 per night). I agree about the safe charge, but they will take it off when you ask them to do so. The problem is that you have to pay attention to what is on you bill when you check out. The entire facility is very clean and the housekeepers were responsive to our request to have our room made up at a specific time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We know that the title "By The Bay" can be confusing. We wish we were on the bay with a beautiful view, but nontheless, we are accross the street from the bay but only a block away walking distance from beach access.

We are happy you were able to take advantage of our "pet friendly service". We all know nowadays our family pets travel with us more than before. Thank you for pointing out all of the convenient locations and activities you were able to partake while staying with us.

We can agree that the breakfast area is quite "cozy" but we are happy to announce that we will be going under construction soon to provide a bigger and better breakfast area.

Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you again soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a recent visit to Traverse City. This was our first stay at this motel, and I was a little worried about the "mixed" reviews. However, we took a chance and I am not disappointed. Contrary to what many reviewers have said, we did not find our room or our wing of the motel to be "dingy," or "dirty." Yes -- it is a little "dated," but our room was clean and rather comfortable. Our room was equipped with a heart-shaped, Jacuzzi tub. The tub was clean and operated just fine. It was spacious, and easy to get into/out of, and we had no problems with it. Because we had a Jacuzzi tub, the bathroom was a bit "tight." The toilet is jammed next to the bathtub/shower. Our king bed was comfortable, and the room was equipped with an LCD Flat Screen TV with the usual type of "hotel" channels. No fridge or microwave. Plenty of pillows, even though they were a bit on the small side which seems to now be the thing in Choice Hotels. My only complaint about our room was the window air-conditioner. It operated fine, but only on "High," which was overly noisy. It took me a while to play with it to discover the "knob" was cracked and slipped. Once I figured this out, I was able to manipulate the knob to the "Low" position which was much quieter. The breakfast room is clearly an afterthought. It is jammed in the front lobby right next to the check-in desk. Both days of our stay, my wife and I were seated at a small table between the check-in desk and the front lobby doors. There were maybe a half-dozen other tables, so seating may not be available if the motel is crowded. Both days of our stay, however, we were able to find a seat during the 8:00 hour without a problem. The usual offerings for breakfast. Waffles, some cereals, sausage, eggs, muffins, toast, coffee, juices, milk, boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. Just nothing overly special. Suited the purpose.

They were doing work on the motel during our stay, so most of the guests seemed to be at the back of the motel. Note -- this motel has 96 rooms, and the building itself is over 900 feet in length. I couldn't believe how long it was. Reminded me of being on a cruise ship again. Since we were at the rear of the building, it was quite a hike up to the lobby area for breakfast. My wife is disabled, so I actually drove her down the 2nd morning so she didn't have to walk. It is nice and quiet on that end of the building, since you are back from the road. All things considered, a good stay.

If you are looking for a five-star motel with five-star amenities, this isn't it. However, if you are looking for a clean, affordable motel with basic amenities -- not too far removed from the hub bub of Traverse City -- and don't wince at a few, rusted plumbing fixtures -- then book a stay here. We found it clean, comfortable, and fit our fixed-income budget just fine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking a chance with us and our hotel. We appreciate all comments and reviews our guests submit and everyone is enttiled on their thoughts and opinions. It realy comes down to person preference and experience. We are delighted to know overall you guys enjoyed your stay. However, we are sorry you ran into a slight hurdle with the a/c unit. Thank you for trouble shooting the issue but please remember we are here for to assist in any way.

We are working on providing a bigger and better breakfast area to accommodate all of our guests comfortably. We hope to see you again so you can experience the changes and updates we have planned.

Thank You.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As others have observed, it's not "By the Bay," but that's not the issue.
There are better places to stay at comparable prices.
Please check my other reviews - I'm NOT all that picky.

If you DO stay here, ask the management to remove the charge for the safe from your bill. You probably thought that scam went away years ago, but it lives on here at $1.50. Ok, a small charge, but who actually USES an in-room safe?

The shower felt like pin pricks with no adjustment to fix that.

The slide lock channel (replacing a "chain" lock) to the inside hall door was barely hanging on by one screw. Not real secure. The steel door to the parking lot was peeled up on the corner. It looked like it had been opened with a can opener.

There are six tables in the breakfast area for about 80 hotel rooms. Most of those tables are for two people. The cute sign says that they call it "cozy," but you can be the judge. There ARE trays so you could take food out of that area. Hint: Trays are hidden below the counter, you wouldn't normally see them.

Room was clean, but smelled a bit musty.
Bed was OK.
Bath was redone and huge, but strange in that the inside hall entrance is through the bath.
WiFi worked fine.

Room Tip: This is a long, skinny old motel. Higher numbers are further from the road noise, but also further...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay.

The in-room safe service have always been provided and available to all of our guests. The fee for the in-room safe charge is clearly printed on every registration cards our guest sign and there is a big sign posted at the front desk that states the safe charge can be removed upon request if it was not used. We are not in the business on "scamming' people. Never have and never will. Believe it of not, people do use the safes for personal valuables such as lap tops and the minimal $1.50 fee provides coverage up to $10,000 of loss personal properties placed in the safe.

We are sorry that you ran into some issues regarding the water pressure in the shower and the door latch. . We hope you had a chance to bring this to our attention while you were here. We can agree that the breakfast area can get crowded but we are working on making major renovations to expand and provide a bigger and more comfortable breakfast facility.

Thank you for your time and we hope you will allow us another opportunity in providing a more comfortable accommodations you you and yours.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Lakes country
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here mostly because searching on my cellphone proved too cumbersome and we needed a place to stay after long day of driving, plus it was the first weekend of summer season.

Motel room was basic for the price, no refrig or microwave, somewhat hard bed. Clean, though, and great breakfast bar.

Convenient location near the bay, and right along main highway, in a popular summer vacation spot, which explains the price. And it did take pets, which was important since we had our dog with us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ram33, General Manager at Quality Inn By the Bay, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your business and your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know you were able to take advantage of our "Pet Friendly" service.

At this time, we only have a couple of rooms that comes standard with a microwave and fridge and that would be our two room suites with a king bed.

Our hotel is conveniently located near beach access, restaurants and shopping, as well as activites such as Pirates Cove (mini golf, go carts and zip line).

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn By the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn By the Bay

Address: 1492 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn By the Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn By the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn By The Bay Hotel Traverse City
Quality Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn By the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.