We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 N Country Lane, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Customer Service!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

I will NEVER return or recommend this hotel to anyone! If you are traveling with young children or teenagers, this is NOT the hotel for you. The hotel manager is rude and extremely unprofessional. He greatly upset me, my children, and the other families I was traveling with.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FritzHeller, Owner at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI, responded to this review, June 11, 2010
I apologize for not meeting your expectations, at the end of the day the group you were with had behavior that resulted in dozens of requests to quiet down and understand that less than 50% of the hotel was made up by group rooms, as a result of taking over the property and essentially pushing out other guests we made the decision to call the police to help us restore order that the dozens of requests made were falling of def ears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    68
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
58
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
High Desert
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

(occupant) There is an odor in the room. (desk clerk) I will have housekeeping spray the room in the morning. I do not know about you but covering up a problem does not make it go away, but it may make me. I know that all rooms are not created equally because others in our party paid less and received a considerably nicer room (even without an odor). When asked about renovating the rooms they staff said that all rooms were updated. I disagree with room 101 it does not appear to have been touched since… I can see how some enjoyed the time spent within the walls of this hotel and was even pleasant while others not so much. If time permits you may want to check out your room prior to occupying it because not all rooms are equal…

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

I've never experienced anything like this--
I checked in and went to my room. As I was leaving the room to go get the remaining things from my car, I checked to make sure the door to my room was locked. Lo and behold the door didn't latch! I tried slamming it a few times, and it never latched; you could just push on the door and it would open, no key needed.
I immediately went to the front desk and told them. A maintenance guy was there in 2 minutes and he replaced the door plate in the door frame.
If I can't trust a hotel to keep it's doors and locks in working order, why would I ever stay there again? I can only wonder who was planning on getting into my room while I was gone....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My wife and I had to have our kitchen floor replaced because of a dishwasher leak, so we stayed away from home for 3 days. We chose the Fairfield Inn in Traverse City and we were not disappointed. Reservations were quick, easy and we were offered a reduced rate plus an upgrade to a sofa king room so we wouldn't be living off our bed. Fritz handled the reservation and was very polite and understanding. All the front desk people were kind and friendly. The pool was clean as was the whirlpool spa. Extra towels were provided at poolside. Breakfast was the usual fare and was acceptable to us. The room was quiet, clean, and roomy with adequate heating & cooling. Beds and pillows were in great shape as was the linen. ALL rooms are non-smoking which is a big plus.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Highly recommend a visit to TC ... can recommend staying at the Fairfield if it is the best price you can find. Hotels tend to be pricey in TC ... we got a fair deal at the Fairfield, but the rate was higher than most other Fairfields we have visited. The room is smallish, but who goes to TC to stay in the room??? It was mostly clean, but we wondered if they remembered to run a vacuum. Offered an extended breakfast, but really didn't seem like the choices available at similar extended breakfasts. Had the most uncomfortable and ugly desk chair that we have seen in awhile ... wonder who talked them into buying it. Overall, it was a pleasant enough stay, but once we were in Traverse City we found ourselves wishing that we had spent a little more time researching the lodging options ... next time we will likely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Once again, this hotel went over and beyond the call to assist me in my recent stay. I was unable to make the appropriate reservations in advance due to circumstances beyond my control, but the Manager and staff went out of their way to make what could have been a disastor a pleasant stay and I was able to stay at my favorite place in Traverse City.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

I stayed here for a week for business. The hotel was chosen for the free internet access and its location. I was overall impressed with my stay here.

Pros: The beds were very comfortable, which is definitely a plus when traveling for business. The internet in the rooms wasn't wireless, but it was easy to use and fairly fast. They gave both shampoo AND conditioner Pantene products, which any woman with long or curly hair will appreciate. They serve warm chocolate chip cookies at the front desk all day long. It seems they have removed all the vending machines and replaced them with a "marketplace" in the lobby. You can get things like drinks, candy, ice cream, and magazines and just have it put on your hotel tab, which is very convenient. The continental breakfast was above average, with real oatmeal, waffles with fruit topping, and both skim and 2% milk (among other things). I didn't use the pool, but the hot tub was nice. The hotel itself is close to a lot of restaurants and the mall, but you have to drive pretty much anywhere (except if you go to Cracker Barrel).

Cons: When housekeeping came through each day, they would take my half empty shampoo and conditioner bottles and then not replace them. I had to call down to the front desk each day to ask for more, which was just more annoying than anything. I have to agree with a previous post that the towel quality has something to be desired. The television picture was a bit fuzzy, but not horrible.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds
  • Disliked — having to constantly request new toiletries
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI

Address: 3701 N Country Lane, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.