We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 N Country Lane, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Columbia SC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The high point of this hotel is the staff. Every single front desk employee I spoke to was friendly and responsive. Upon check out, I asked to have a package shipped via FedEx and I received A+ care from the employee who helped me. She even taped up my box and made sure it was good to go before I left. I was very grateful for her help, as I was trying to make an early flight at TVC. Overall, I felt they had one of the stronger staff teams I have observed on recent my business travels.

The rooms are clean and in line with what one expects from Fairfield Inn properties. The bathroom mirror lighting could be better. Walls are a little thin. I did have a lot of noise from the man next door the first night, but, thankfully, he checked out and wasn't there the next two nights. I liked having my own refrigerator and made a run to Target to stock it. I'm not a huge fan of the AC window units, because they click on and off so loudly and disrupt my sleep, but they are pretty standard at places like Fairfield, Courtyard and Hampton Inn these days.

I had to travel to TC for work during the end of the Cherry Festival and caught the tail end of some surprisingly high rates at this hotel ($274 plus tax!!!!). That seemed to be the case at a lot of the properties in the area during the Festival, as has been pointed out in other reviews. Hard to believe that these rooms were costing as much as I have paid at the Ritz! At that price, it's hard to argue the Fairfield is a good deal. But it's a good value at around $150 a night, in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
44
53
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here because it was a Marriott property and the city was busy with Cherry Festival, but we were blown away with it's $250 per night rate.due to the festival. The place was clean and the staff was very cordial, a big plus, but I can't get away from the negative price gouging feeling. The other huge negative was access to the property. It was hidden, and trying to get out was dangerous due the the heavy traffic and no stop light to slow the cross traffic down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnota-AGM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Although, we are a bit difficult to find, most of our guests enjoy our quiet location. Traverse City is a very popular summer vacation spot. We are confident that our rate is competitive in this market. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rooms might be dated but hotel is clean and nice.
Good location, and you must try the strawberry water they have at the check in counter.
Pool is also nice and the breakfast is a big plus.
Sam's club is near by for cheap gas.and things you may need on your vacation.

Room Tip: Get the top floor so you don't hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel same in person as in pictures. Great service and staff. Bit pricey but great location, far from craziness and traffic during 4th July weekend. Breakfast was also good. Pool and room really clean! Only complaint was the thumping on floor from room above ours at 5 am!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I recently stayed at this property and cannot think of any complaints! It was under 10 minutes from downtown Traverse City, and very easy to access (right off a main road- but the hotel is tucked back far enough that from our room, we didn't hear any traffic). The complimentary breakfast in the morning was awesome! There was everything you could want in a free continental breakfast (waffle maker, eggs, sausage, oatmeal, etc) and the guy cooking and stocking everything was SO on top of making sure it was all full and that everyone had what they needed. The hotel is very updated and modern, including the rooms, which is always nice. The king size bed we had was SO comfy too, super fluffy! We enjoyed the pool & hot tub several times and were very appreciate of the extended hours for adults, from 10-11:30pm since we never got back to the hotel earlier than 10pm. Other than that, we didn't spend too much time in the hotel, but everyone we came in contact with was really nice and helpful. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend it to friends as well!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Not bad for a inexpensive/medium priced hotel, but nothing very special either. The room was clean and pretty big. Comfortable bed, free wi-fi, big screen TV, basic bathroom (stingy on the shampoo and soap). This place is located about four miles out of downtown Traverse City, but close to the route to the TC airport. It sits on a hill behind a Cracker Barrell and at a short distance from a Sam's Club, so we're not talking about scenery or ambiance here. It is fairly quiet as it's 100 yards off a highway. Breakfast was just OK--cardboard toast/muffins and reconstituted scrambled eggs, but lots of fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt.
The front desk staff was unfailingly friendly and helpful--they are the best feature of this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator or mechanical room (avoid anything with a 26 in the numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently booked a block of rooms and stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites in Traverse City, MI for our daughter's "destination wedding". From our first phone calls to get rates and rooms reserved right through our entire stay, the friendly customer service at this hotel was way above expectations!

Thank you to everyone who helped make our stay so good including Arnoda, Jen, Annette, Reed and everyone else who gave exceptional customer service! We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI

Address: 3701 N Country Lane, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#16 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.