We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff, Quiet Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 N Country Lane, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Welcoming Staff, Quiet Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were greeted by a very welcoming and helpful staff who gave us good recommendations for restaurants. The room was clean and quiet. Our room was on the back of the building so we had no outside noise. My guess is this would not be true of a room on the front side which faces a busy drive. The hotel is somewhat isolated from town, but not unreasonably so. We were not impressed with the breakfast. The room was crowded and noisy and the choices minimal.

Kudos to the staff, who made it good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the backside of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    61
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
43
50
12
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Exactly what I would expect from a Fairfield Inn. Clean, great staff, great place to just get some sleep. Breakfast in the morning is what you would expect: Bagels, waffles, yogurt, fruit, and coffee anytime. Property appears to be updated quite recently. I was here on business so I was basically there for a bed and a shower all week and it fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland,Mi.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night, but would likely not return. The hotel was clean and nice but had a few negitives. Our room smelled slightly like it had been a smoking room at one time. The bed was not comfortable at all and the TV sat so low on a short dresser that it could not be viewed comfortably while laying in bed. The hot tub in the pool area was very nice. The breakfast was ok but the food area was a little cramped. Making a left turn out of the entrance can be a little frustrating during high trafic times. I would suggest going out the side and through Sam's lot to the side road to get to the trafic light.
Also, after turning off the TV to go to sleep, I could hear the TV in the room next to us as well as people talking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Fairfield Inn is near the mall (maybe a mile from the lake) but if you're ok with that location and the hotel isn't your destination per se this is a good choice. Rates are better than other hotels in the area and typically there's greater availability. Rooms are clean updated and my king suite had a sitting/ office area and a bedroom area. Very roomy. Two LCD tv's, fridge and microwave. Free wifi. Bed was comfortable. No complaints. Perfect for a business trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, but would not return to this hotel. The staff was very friendly and efficient, especially in the continental breakfast area. The hotel is also very clean which we truly appreciate.

On the flipside, the pool is tiny and the beds and linens are much to be desired. The mattresses are basically pieces of foam with no support. And the bathroom towels were a complete joke! After being out exploring the area all day what we really needed was a great shower and a good night's sleep. The quality of the beds and towels are what I'd expect from a much lower end hotel. For the 2 night stay, including taxes, we paid $575!! Regardless of whether it's high season or not, that's a lot of money for little sleep and not being able to properly dry yourself after bathing.

Be careful if you decide to use the computer in the lobby. The way that it's positioned let's everyone walking into the hotel or sitting in the lobby see your business. Not a very good design!

For the overall rating I had a difficult time deciding between poor and average. I went with the average rating based on the staff and the hotel cleanliness. But really, the rest of the hotel should be rated as poor.

There are many other options in the area which we plan to try on our next visit.

Room Tip: Request a room on the backside of the hotel. It faces a wooded area and is much more relaxing to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is set back in off a very busy road (55 mph, no traffic light) which made getting in/out very difficult at times. The road sign is also small, and its very easy to drive by the place (even some locals didn't know it was there). This is high tourist season in the city and the weekend rate for our tiny 2 full-sized bed room was over $250/night, which I thought was crazy-overpriced. Location is not near the water, downtown or much of anything - just next to a Sam's Club and you have to drive everywhere. Yet, the rooms were very clean and the staff was great. I was able to use points for some of my stay, but if not for that I
would probably stay elsewhere for that kind of money.

Room Tip: Get a King Suite for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was a waypoint on a trip through Michigan, selected by TripAdvisor ratings. Nice clean room and breakfast area with helpful staff. Our only comment for improvement is poor signage. Even with GPS we actually drove past because the hotel is set back quite far from the highway and the signage is part of a cluster with other businesses. When you get close, keep your eyes peeled for the sign. Would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI

Address: 3701 N Country Lane, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Favorite Traverse City Hotel to experience Pure Michigan! The Completely modern Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott is conveniently located in the epicenter of destination Corporate, Government, andLeisure Travelers coming to Traverse City. For Corporate Guest we are minutes to Munson Medical Center, Interlochen Center for Fine Arts, RJG, Sara Lee, Grand Traverse Mall, NMC University Center, and a host of our regions premier businesses. The Leisure Traveler will find us just down the road from Grand Traverse Bays, Sleeping Bear Dunes, and Old Mission/Leelanau Peninsula Wineries. Perfectly located around the finest golf, boating, snowmobiling, fishing, hiking, & nature site seeing in Pure Michigan. Large rooms, indoor pool/spa, free high-speed, complimentary breakfast,legendary guest service that makes you want to return. National Cherry Festival First Week of July 2010. Book now and experience the best hotel for the money in Pure Traverse City, located in Pure Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi Hotel Traverse City
Fairfield Inn And Suites By Marriott Traverse City, Mi
Fairfield Inn Traverse City
Fairfield Traverse City
Traverse City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Traverse City, MI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.