We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel/rooms in a great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Very average hotel/rooms in a great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we checked in, we found that our room (2nd floor - 218) overlooked the concrete roof over the lobby drop-off. Very unattractive, different colors, water dripping (but it was raining). We asked for a different room and the young lady tried to accommodate us but nothing else was available. She told us to check back the next day - which once we were unpacked we didn't really want to move so we did not check back. Our bathroom was very small and smelled a bit mildewy. The closet had a shower curtain as the door with a bent rod. The desk lamp hadn't been dusted in quite a while. The rest of the room was good size and the bed was comfortable. We stayed over a weekend so some middle-of-the-night noise from other guests going back to their room. Would agree that it has a "spring break" party feel to it. The location is great since you can easily walk to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    93
    26
    15
    4
See reviews for
67
100
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here last weekend while attending a wedding weekend in Sutton Bay. The facilities while dated on the outside have been updated on the inside. Only downside for us was our room was above the "club" and even though we were pre-warned was considerably louder than we anticipated.
The location itself is ideal as it is just out of downtown next to a park with its own beach facilities but still in easy walking distance to everything in Traverse City. Overall a very nice stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

After reading some recent reviews, I was wondering if I'm being too harsh but I don't think so. This has been a Holiday Inn for years and they tore down sea walls and added beaches a few years back, which is great. However, this doesn't make it a resort. Our last stay here was probably 3-4 years ago and we noticed some nice updates but also some things that needed improvements. The entry into the lobby is nice but the three steps going into the hallway are filthy. Housekeeping knocked on our door at 9:30 a.m. on our second day there, my husband was in the shower. She took the wastebasket & emptied it but did not come back to make the bed or to refresh the coffee and tea packets. Another reviewer mentioned that the shades do not completely block the exterior lights at night & that is accurate; they're a little less wide than needed. The rooms were nice, not as clean as could be; a broken part of someone else's sunglasses were on our floor so I'm not sure it had been vacuumed between guests. We arrived just after Memorial Weekend and although it's been chilly, it did not appear as if they had prepared for the start of summer. There were a lot of logs & debris on the beach, the outdoor pool was closed, the planters were empty, etc etc. It felt as if they were behind on exterior landscaping; it just didn't have a 'summer feel'. We ate breakfast at the Bistro one morning; don't do that, it was horrible. My husband and I were sharing an omelette & ordered it with the breakfast potatoes. The waitress brought the meal on one plate (no problem), set it between us & said "there you go". I asked for an extra plate & it took about five minutes to get it. The potatoes were deep fried & cold and the omelette was not worth eating. The location of the hotel is great; right on the water & within a relatively short walk to town. I guess I'll have to say this hotel was better when it was just a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 235, 335, 435 and those near it as you overlook a moldy roof & the Dish satellite re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertGM, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Hola 4876,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns, it certainly seems as though we dropped the ball during your recent visit.
Although we had much of the summer landscaping complete, last weeks 2 nights of frost required us to hold back and we actually had to bring some plants in over night.
The crazy weather also stalled getting the outdoor pool up and running as early as we would have liked, luckily we have the indoor pool and spa open.
I'm not sure what happened with your breakfast as we consistantly receive great reviews on our food.
As a valued guest who continues to visit us, I hope you will let me know the next time you are coming to Traverse City so I can personally assist you and show you how seriously we take "creating hotels that guest's love"
Happy travels,
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Township, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We simply cannot put into words how incredible our wedding was at West Bay. A huge thank you goes out to Rachel and Suki and the entire WBB staff. It was like a dream come true from the beach platform, to the flowers, to the food, etc. Everything was just perfect. You even ordered great weather for us!! Our room was the perfect location and your ability to change things up on the fly was amazing. You didn't miss a beat!! We cannot think of one single thing that we would or could change.
We will be back next year for our 1 year anniversary. Julie&Steve

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesertGM, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Julie and Steve,
First of all CONGRATULATIONS ! Your wedding was beautiful, I had the opportunity to watch the ceremony and it was very touching.
I am thrilled that you got to be the first wedding on our new "Lakeshore Veranda". I bet the photos will be spectacular.
I know Rochelle and Suki were a little worried about the crazy Spring weather but it seems as though you have a friend in Mother Nature .
Thank you so much for letting us for taking the time to twll us how we were able to make your day that much more special and again, Congratulations, we look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary, if not sooner!
All the best,
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My husband and I stayed two nights at West Bay Beach over the Memorial Day weekend and our only complaint is that we weren't able to stay longer. The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything Traverse City has to offer. The path from the property to downtown goes along the waterfront and under the busy street so it's safe, easy and scenic. The hotel is right on the beach with a gorgeous view. It was everything we'd hoped for and more.

The front desk staff was very welcoming and helpful, even when we changed our mind about the type of room we wanted. They showed us a map of what was available and were very open and honest about the pros and cons of each. We settled on a king room on the bay and were advised that there might be some noise from the bar the first night. We'd read this in another review but were willing to chance it - SO glad we did, as we didn't hear a thing and the view was amazing!

The restaurant and bar servers were helpful, quick and friendly and our light meal exceeded expectations. While the room itself is pretty basic, the view and the service made this a great experience.

The hotel has clearly been around for awhile but the interior is nicely updated and the room was attractive and extremely comfortable. If I stood right near the angled window, I could hear voices from next door but that wasn't an issue anywhere else in the room. Coffee was provided, even though there's a Starbucks onsite, and the toiletries and linens were well above what we expected. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both had a great night's sleep both nights. And the view just couldn't have been better!

West Bay Beach was fantastic. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O Fallon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I loved this hotel. Everything was within walking distance...shops, restaurants, parks. The room was clean. The staff was extremely friendly. There were 2 restaurants in the building, which made it very convenient for happy hour dining and breakfast. There was also indoor and outdoor pools, as well as a hot tub.
The only complaint I would have was that the bathroom wasn't large enough, but it was a typical hotel bathroom.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff was helpful and accommodating for a few minor requests. We did not spend much actual time on the property to assess much else. However, the location was great for the activities we wanted to attend, in and about town.

Room Tip: Try NOT to have to travel at PEAK Holiday dates!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn Resort West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.