We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite spot when on business in Traverse cCity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Orwell, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“My favorite spot when on business in Traverse cCity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I always try to get this Hotel when I travel to Traverse for work which is usually 8-10 weeks out of the year. I love the hotel's location and Staff. Jennifer is especially appreciated in the morning, She always remembers me and what I drink, gets my order quick so that I can get to work. She knows I am usually in a hurry. Her energy and all around happiness makes me a feel better about having to go to work, She is great I need someone like that at every hotel I stay at for work. The only downside to this Hotel is I can usually have my work's travel agent book this hotel except when there is something happening in downtown Traverse City then prices SKY ROCKET so they tend to find somewhere else that is around the usual price.Overall great hotel, great location, great staff always a great experience.

Room Tip: Any room I get is always good but the rooms on the older side of the hotel, by the Day club, have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    74
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
56
83
6
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

over all I had a good time at the holiday inn but the best part was the service I recived in the day club with Chris, she was great! never an empty glass and fast service with the greatings and food. I also went to the night club and did not enjoy it near as much. the staff in the big bar area didnt want to be there and you could tell and dj taz or something was playing raver music forever, dont get me wrong i like the club enviornment but club music and rave music are two different things. Anyways I will be back and i will go to day club again thanks chris your your good service!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter R, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Brent B,

Thank you for telling us about your amazing experience in DayClub and Christine's great service! She has the perfect personality for her job. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate you choosing to stay at our beautiful resort! See you next time,

Hunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My niece and I stay here for 3 nights this January. Naturally we would of preferred coming in the summer but no choice there. Usually we stay in our family cottage north of TVC and don't get much of a chance to visit many of the local shops and restaurants.
Our stay at the hotel was very pleasant, nice rooms, tidy, felt very welcoming, excellent food every morning and evening! Our kudos to the kitchen, excellent!!
Also, our morning waitress, Jennifer was just wonderful and very cheerful every morning!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Hi Jennifer M,

It is a joy to hear you had such a great experience and that the service was top notch! Thank you for the five star review and we hope that we will get to see you again this summer!

Sincerely,
Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was here for a wedding this past weekend. I've visited TC many times, but have never stayed at this location. The staff here is amazing! I mostly dealt with Autumn, who made the stay here helpful and easy, all with a smile. From giving us directions around the building for easy access, to being a smiling face at Shimmers the next day, she was a wonderful part of our stay. The things she helped with may seem small, but when you've just finished a 3 hour drive and just want to get to the room, her advice was helpful and welcome. I will definitely be back, hopefully at a time when Autumn is working again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Victoria P,

Thank you for the great review! We loving having Autumn as a part of our team and appreciate you recognizing her publicly for her overachieving attitude! We'd love to have you back soon for another visit!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent three wonderful days from Jan. 11-13, 2015, in West Bay Beach, together with my friend Lorri from Sparta, Michigan. The room was very nice and clean with a great bay view. Customer service was good. I especially want to mention our breakfast waitress Jennifer. She is a great waitress and very sweet person to talk to, and she helped us finding things in and around Traverse City, gave us excellent tips on where to go for a super steak dinner and where to find certain items we were looking for. Thank you, Jennifer! :-)
We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was good, but the room was a little dark and the food wasn't really warm when served. This is the reason for me for not giving full points of my rating.
All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much and would like to come back some day.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Marlies T,

We greatly appreciate your review and are pleased to see that Jennifer made your stay even better! She's a wonderful person to have on our team! Next time you are back in Traverse City we would love to accommodate you and Lorri again! Thank you for choosing us!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay about 75 nights a year in hotels for business and earn enough points to stay up to 25 nights on vacation. The hotel I stay at for business the most is the West Bay Holiday Inn Resort in Traverse City. It combines the 2 features I look for most in a hotel: it's Downtown and it's on the Beach. Not many hotels can claim that! They have a great staff including Danielle at the Front Desk, Jennifer in restaurant for breakfast and Christine in the restaurant for dinner. They always provide great service and friendly conversations.

Room Tip: Ask for a Best View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Kurt K,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize some of our amazing team members and our great location! It's encouraging to hear your review based on numerous experiences staying with us! It's always a pleasure to have you!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a few months ago and loved it. This time, it was like a completely different hotel. The hotel was dirty and the staff was too busy talking to each other to be bothered with guests. The lobby wasn't cleaned all weekend. It was so cold in the elevator that we put on our coats. Extremely disappointed!!! We used to love staying here, but we won't be back. Not sure if they have a new manager or what, but something has clearly gone very wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mr. Work,

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,

Derek L.
Bench Manager
West Bay Beach a Holiday Inn Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.