We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh not impressed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
West Branch, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ehh not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room are very old. They try to update with wall fixtures and dark colors. The view is not really a view you can definitely see into other ppl rooms thus they can see into yours. Not a resort quality place. Makes for a better hotel / motel.. I will not stay here again. The lady at front desk who checked us in was professional but not nice. So i give it a eehhh i will never be back. We are gold memebers and holiday in express are way nicef than this place.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello robojp,

Thank you for your review and for your membership with IHG. We value your opinion and would love for you to give us a second chance to prove to you our resort quality.

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    69
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
52
79
5
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel sits on the water but is waking distance to everything in downtown traverse city. It was clean and comfortable and priced well, our specific room had a perfect view of the bay. It's also a close drive to go go the winery's from the location. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I can't remember the number but it was the 3 or 4 Floor I think? We asked for good views when bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Abby Y,

We are glad you had such a great stay with us! Thank you for the great review and we can't wait to have you back!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family went for dinner at West Bay Beach and had a wonderful experience. Allie waited on us and was warm, personable, and attentive. The food was also very tasty. We will definitely be back with friends in the future!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Kellymb83,

Thank you for your review of our resort and of Allie! We look forward to you and your friends coming back to visit us! See you soon!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I came here on a whim, couldn't afford to stay here otherwise in the summer but in December. We were pleasantly suppressed. The breakfast was excellent! The eggs Benedict was amazing! We found the rooms clean, the pool warm and the workout room was nice as well with a great view. Being here makes me want to come in July! Lots of great views of the bay. The hotel is older but recently updated and very nice. Jennifer was an awesome host for breakfast. Would def. come back! Free yoga classes for hotel guest on Friday and Saturday mornings!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Robbie B,

Thank you for sharing your great experience with us on Tripadvisor! We would love for you to stay with us in the summer when our amenities are even more numerous and exciting! We'd love to have you back regardless what time of the year it is!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is clean, up to date, and has almost any amenity you might need or want. I stayed two separate times for a total of 3 weeks in November and December. They have a fitness center, indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, am out door pool (closed for the winter), Starbucks, a resteraunt, and a night club.
The entire staff is all super friendly and knowledgeable. Autumn (front desk, and waitress) was super helpful pointing me to great local resteraunt and shops. Thanks to Autumn and the rest of the staff!!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Jim R,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your great experience with our resort and our staff. We have amazing staff and are glad to hear that Autumn was able to make your stay more enjoyable! Come back to see us on your next visit to Traverse City!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there today for a conference and was very impressed. Very clean everywhere and attentive staff for lunch and a very nice and warm pool area. Lobby and halls look like everything recently upgraded. A nice view if the bay from the restaurant and lounge too.

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Pete K,

We always enjoy having groups like yours staying with us! Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy to hear that our updated building and friendly staff made you feel at home. It is our hope that you and your group enjoyed yourself enough to view us as your home away from home!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel! Rooms very clean and employees very nice and helpful. We just spent a girls weekend there, had a great time. When getting back to hotel last night, 2 of my friends and I road the elevator up with an employee holding a tray of food and drinks. I assume it was room service but nothing on his try was covered! No covers over food or drinks. I found this a bit disgusting. Other than that everything else was great!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krystal F, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Maggie D,

We would like to thank you for making our hotel the destination for your girls weekend. Your experience with room service that night was far below our standards and never should have happened as it is protocol to have everything covered. However, we appreciate your review and hope to have you and your friends back next year for even more fun here in Traverse City!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.