We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
1 review
“Very accommodating.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I was stuck in Traverse due to car and weather issues, and I'm very fortunate that this place exists. The hotel has good rates, a kind staff, wonderful food, and clean rooms. I'm surprised more people don't come just for the food. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Traverse City for any duration.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    67
    17
    12
    3
See reviews for
47
77
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel to TC for work frequently, first time at the West Bay Beach. I do not think I could have been impressed more, not only is it a well maintained and manicured facility, the staff consists of the best people TC has to offer. Professional and personable and fun. The breakfast crew Jacki and Jennifer were FANTASTIC. It's not always fun to be working away from home however this place sure does make you feel right at home. I would whole heartedly recommend staying, and be sure to try the stuffed hashbrowns for breakfast!!!

Room Tip: beautiful views from the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for one night to go on a wine tasting tour and didn't want to drive home afterwards. The hotel is right on the water and the beach looks nice but we didn't get to try it out since it was November and snowing. The view from our room on the 4th floor was nice, overlooking the bay. You could also see the ships docked at the local college, one of which is a recycled US Navy sub hunter.

The staff were very nice. We forgot to bring toothpaste and they brought some to the room in minutes.

The room was clean and well maintained. We had a King bed and sleeper sofa, a refrigerator and safe.

The facilities are a little worn and could use some freshening up but they were very clean.

I would have no problems staying here again if I am even in town.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My stay was outstanding beginning at check in, Char greeted me and was very professional every step of the way. Jennifer in the dining room gave perfect service for three visits. I started my evenings with cocktails during my three day stay and was impressed with the staff. My lady friend also was very happy with the service conducted by Christine, Allie and James. They went out of their way to make our stay special while enjoying drinks before dinner. I must mention a truly special person... her name is Paula from housekeeping. Her attention to detail to make our stay exceptional was obvious and much appreciated. Anything we needed we had, anything she could do was done. She is truly an asset to your establishment. Thank You, I will be back. Steve Babic

Room Tip: All rooms have Lake views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello sbabic,

Your review on our resort was wonderfully received! We are pleased to hear that our staff made your stay so memorable! Every person you mentioned is such a blessing to have here working on our team, and we thank you for taking time to recognize these people. We will be sure to make your next visit just as memorable!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was in town for two days of work and the weekend with friends. Had an Internet issue that they went out of their way to resolve. Everybody from the front desk to the managers to the waitstaff were amazing - Colin, Hunter, Brandon, Danielle, Jacki & Jeremiah were all beyond superb - can't say enough good things about the staff and the job they do

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Motherfiretrucker,

We really appreciate the five star review! We are glad that we were able to make the most out of the internet problem and help you get around the issue. We are extremely proud of our team and sincerely thank you for the encouraging review. We loved your lighthearted humor and hope to see you again soon!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Here for a night recently, checked out the fitness room - which was decent. couple of treadmills and ellipticals, weight stack. Adequately equipped with towels and water bottles as well. Indoor pool - didn't use though.
Room was comfortable, and bistro downstairs serves Starbucks.
Getting to room was a bit of a challenge - two elevators to two separate buildings, depending on what room number one has.
Overall, decent overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lake - awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jon C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a group stay here from thurs-sun on Nov 6-9, 2014. This is the nicest Holiday Inn that I can remember! All of our rooms were great: updated furniture, clean and spacious. I HIGHLY recommend eating at the restaurant for breakfast. Ask for Jackie as you server! She was AWESOME both times we ate there! She recommended the stuffed hash browns and they are incredible! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Rv55ell,

We appreciate you and your group choosing to stay with us for your conference! We are proud of our updated facilities and even more proud of your experience with Jackie! She is so great with people and has a tendency of really making someone's day! We'd love to see you again for your next visit to our beautiful city!

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.