We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon Classic 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Save Saved
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
“Salmon Classic 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was here for the Salmon Classic Tournament. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. The location is great. I would highly recommend West Bay Beach Resort to anyone looking for a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    53
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
61
3
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ann arbor, mi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Whoa! $450 plus per night? Who do they think they are? The Greenbrier?
This is a Holiday Inn that happens to be on the water and have a pool and a bar. That does not mean it's a resort. In fact, it's far from a resort.

The rooms are average in size, the bathrooms are teeny, tiny! The bedding, beds, carpet are all new. There are small windows that face the water, but there's no overwhelming view.

I can't tell if the carpet in the hallways and especially in the lobby areas is new. It's beat to crap, filthy, and it's an odd choice of colors for 2014 as it seems rather dated. Did I mention, dirty?

The pools are nice-- I like the vintage feel of the pools and the way the hotel is situated around the center square. But, being dated also means that the scale is undersized. The furniture around the pool seems nice, but it was scattered and unkempt when we were there.

This summer, two things were different than last year- they put new chairs on the beach so you can actually sit on the beach and they raised the price! 2013 we paid $250 consistently during the summer weekends. 2014 we paid $450 per night for summer weekends. Same hotel, dirty hallway carpets, teeny tiny bathrooms and the price was $200 more PER NIGHT.

This is not a resort. remember, folks. It's just a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Water view, but that's kind of a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We decided to take a last minute getaway to traverse city and chose this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor. We truly enjoyed our stay, the front desk receptionist (forgot to catch her name) was very helpful in suggesting places to explore. We were fortunate enough to have great weather and took advantage of the private beach area, which was very clean. The lake water was clear yet ice cold which helped us cool down from the beaming sun. It was also great to have the option of both an indoor and outdoor pool which was not at all crowded, although our stay was during the week not sure how it is during the busy season/weekends. The proximity to downtown area is about a 2-3 block walk. The bed and pillows were quite comfortable, I slept great! I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed Saturday through Wednesday of Labor Day weekend. We were given the option of a room with a view which would be noisier, because of the nightly music and nightclub OR or a room without a view but quieter. We choose the view thinking it couldn't possibly be that bad. Well, on Saturday night it was very loud. Luckily the rest of our stay the nightclub wasn't open. FYI - there isn't much of a view anyway. Not sure who designed the hotel because the best view of the lake can be found in the stairwell. Nonetheless, the rooms were clean, beds were pretty comfy and we enjoyed our stay.

The hotel has a nice beach front area with lounge chairs and has both an indoor and outdoor pool. The indoor pool area also has a hot tub and sauna. They provide beach towels which was a plus.

We didn't eat at the hotel because it is only a short walk to downtown with many wonderful options for eating and drinking.

Room Tip: There are several rooms on Floor 2 that are directly above the nightclub (open on weekends) to steer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I'm a local, so when comes to go out on the weekends not a lot of places offers you what Holiday Inn Resort does. It's way different from all the crappy bars on Union. My friends and I come here Fridays and Saturdays. We love the patio (when the weather allows) and The View as well. We have been served several times by the same server named Ion, with a slightly accent, every time we go there we like to be served by him, he's cool. Great service and I'm sure he's one of their best employee. They have a good team. The bartenders all trained and know what they are doing. It's a pleasure to go out to the resort. Also 3 weeks ago I had my friends from Chicago who came in town for 3 days and I told them where to stay. They were very pleased with the room, they loved the pool, the bar and the club. The bartender a short blonde woman that was a pleasure to talk to, the guy by the pool Niku and the front desk were all super nice people, going out their way to make you feel like you are in a 5 stars resort or something.
Totally I'll recommend to all my friends this place when they come to visit. Thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton Rapids, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Rueben Quijas is the best server ever. Mr Personality and Professional all in one! Best hotel stay ever! James Brunfield was also wonderful. He was our server at linch when we were leaving the hotel. He had a great way of making us feel special!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello HappyHeatherHause-

Thank you for the great review and mentioning Ruebon and James. We agree they are great guys and huge assets to the team.

Thanks again,

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

One of the best hotels I've stayed at! Loved the beach front patio- great music, relaxed atmosphere, dancing, and good food. The friendly service of the hotel staff is what really made our stay as great as it was. Nikki served us on the outdoor patio each night and was super friendly and on point! Eric and Sarah at the Starbucks were very helpful each morning! Our breakfast server, Jennifer, kept us smiling and laughing during our stay. West Bay Beach definitely exceeded all of our expectations and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hi Jessika M-

Thank you for the awesome review and mentioning Nikki, Eric, Sarah & Jennifer! It sounds like you were able to experience most parts of the resort and had a great time!

See you again in the future,

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.