We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Save Saved
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have a 3 1/2 year old and a 1 1/12 year old and were looking for a short getaway. This place worked well. Right on the water, good accommodations, conveniently located, very friendly staff, and free breakfast for kids. Yes, we would go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    47
    8
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
57
3
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am very familiar with this resort and I was on the beach last sunday the 10th. I was very pleased with the server Samantha she was going up and down the beach for hours and was so friendly she really seemed to enjoy her job! The music was amazing, very calming I thought I was in florida on the beach! Also the bar on the beach was very convient Mitch was VERY nice! I am so coming back next Sunday I already have it planned with a few girlfriends! Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband made reservations for us to get away for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Our room was nicely furnished and had spectacular views of the bay and sunsets. While waiting to go on a wine tour, I struck up a conversation with the hotel manager. At some point I must have mentioned the reason for our visit. When we returned to our room that evening, we found a note of congratulations from the hotel staff along with a bottle of wine, cherry pie, chocolates on our pillow and several other small gifts. What a spectacular second honeymoon!

Room Tip: Great location with beach and pools. Short walk to city restaurants and attractions. Visitors can al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Actually first we thought it was too expensive for us. But it was worth every penny of it. Room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and provided a very good rest. The stuff was polite and friendly. The "DayClub" restaurant faces the lake and is a nice place to sit at. Live music in the evenings makes it even more attractable.
Usually we try to go to different places to eat on vacations, but this time was different. Breakfasts were so good that we decided to try different dishes in the same place instead. All waiters looked like good friends. Only once we complained that it took too long to get our meals (it happened because there was a conference in the hotel at that time and kitchen was overloaded) but Jacky was so nice to comfort us that we left happy. Another person I'd like to thank was Niza. Her smile and caring voice is a treasure for any customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect location with beach access for the little ones to do their vacation business. Food and drinks served directly to beach and water sports activities on-site if you can be bothered to get off your sun bed.

Staff are helpful and service is very good and if you have issues they will definitely fix them.

Would I return? Definitely yes!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi TravelDazzle-

Thank you for the kind words on tripadvisor.com and thank you for staying with us all the way from Barcelona!

See you next time your on this side of the world :)

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel was nice and clean. Staff was helpful & courteous. The view of W. Grand Traverse Bay was stunning (sunsets are unreal) and watching the sailboats is so relaxing. Close to the wineries & Sleeping Bear sand dunes. walking distance to 20 restaurants. *** Only downside was the outdoor dinning/bar area can be a little loud and you CAN hear it in your room if it faces that area.

Room Tip: West side rooms have great sunsets but can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were very impressed with a young man at the Starbucks this morning. Greeted everyone wished them a good day and helped with valuable information. He was awesome. His name is Eric. On the down side. We were served martinis in plastic cups and our power tripped twice and had to call for service. The staff was very pleasent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.