We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hudsonville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Walking distance to downtown, beautiful beach, great hotel. Older hotel but totally updated/renovated. Day club restaurant overlooks the bay great place to eat and live music at night. water sport rentals on site. only down fall - the carpet in the halls and stair ways were dirty and it is a little pricey but still very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Amy L-

Thank you for the great review on tripadvisor.com! Dayclub is one of my favorite places in town, the atmosphere is great and food is even better.

See you in the future!

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    89
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
62
93
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I got married just this past weekend at the West Bay Holiday Inn Resort and we cannot say enough about it. Every detail from the beach ceremony to the reception was handled with no issues by Rachelle, Kim, and Zack. Rachelle really went above and beyond and eliminated any stress to make sure we had a perfect day! We couldn't have pictured it any better. Also, a special thank you to Erik, who opened up the snack bar just for us after it was closed so that we could get a quick bite to eat. Also - thank you to Jennifer who gave us a wonderful breakfast experience the morning after the wedding. We also got a room that overlooked the beach and came back to our room after the wedding to a wonderful surprise. Thank you West Bay for giving us a wedding day that we will NEVER forget! ❤️

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Heather 0809-

First of all, Congrats on getting married!! Thank you for choosing us on your special day! Your wedding day is one of the biggest moments in your life and we are thrilled to have provided such lovely memories for you.

Rachelle, Erik, Zach & Kim are valued members of our team, thank you so much for mentioning them.

Congrats again, maybe we will see you for the one year anniversary? :)

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon Mi
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The place is constantly dirty. I'm not sure if this is because the customers are excessively rude and dirty, or if their staff is incompetent, or if they just need more trash cans conveniently placed throughout the complex, but trash was every where - food dropped on floors/beach/by pool not picked up, cigarette butts all over the beach, glasses/cups left wherever; even in the early morning, when you would have expected night staff to have been around cleaning, there would be garbage every where.
Bathroom was small but biggest complaint is that the cleaning service did not replenish toiletry items each day, including toilet paper. For $400 a night, I expect another bar of soap, bottle of shampoo and spare roll of paper each day!
Breakfast service at restaurant was slow and wrong, although they were pleasant enough.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Finnmichigan -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.

We certainly handle a large volume of guests and visitors to our property, and we need to do a better job of "reacting" to that, and ensuring that we keep our areas tidy and well kept. We let you (and others) down on this, and we need to prevent that in the future.

I understand it is frustrating to come back to a room that isn't just right. Our team needs to be more careful when servicing our guest rooms. I discussed this with the team and we will work hard to ensure this doesn't happen to other guests.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to host you while in Traverse City.

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has no concept of service, cleanliness, or how to satisfy a customer. Staff is poorly trained and not very attentive. The only hotel that was worse than this one was the resort hotels at Disney. If you like drinking out of plastic cups and having a filthy place by all means stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Gfous -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com.

We are very disappointed to see that your experience was not enjoyable.

I'm hoping you will contact me to share some more details about your stay. We often receive great comments about our staff, so I'm anxious to hear from you.

Thank you in advance,

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Ruebon Quijas was an amazing server at the patio restaurant at this hotel! He provided amazing service and has a contagious self of humor that made for a wonderful meal. Thank you Ruebon Quijas! We will come back based on this amazing expertise!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Anonymous42893-

Thank you for the great review and kind words about Reubon! He is a valued asset to our team and we are lucky to have him.

Thanks again,

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

It is so hard to know where to stay but we are VERY glad we picked this place. From the reservation process (worked directly with the hotel), to the check in and check out, we had an excellent experience. Manager Krystal, front desk Char, wait staff Jennifer, housekeeping Serena (sp?) and Paula, manager Jeremiah....everyone was wonderful!!! We really felt taken care of. Food was quite good (we ate breakfast there each morning) and wait staff was friendly. Loved the indoor AND outdoor pool option AND private beach with reservable private blue tents (see picture). Super location. Able to walk nearly the whole town from our hotel which even had a path for getting to front street without having to cross a busy (no sidewalk or light) intersection. Didn't know this the first time but figured it out. Nice surprise was that our Nauti-Cat headquarters (and boat departure) was on the dock shared by our hotel so that was easy. Only negative was the bathrooms and some parts of the hotel were dated. This was overshadowed by the parts that had been renovated and by the attentive staff.

Room Tip: We loved room 443. It's on the west side of the hotel and uses the that wing's elevator back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hi Lisa H-

It was a pleasure working with you and I am so glad we were able to fire on all cylinders to make it everything you wanted it to be.

Thank you for the lovely review! I look forward to seeing you again sometime,

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Spent 2 nights and used as a base to tour the area. The hotel is a little older but rooms are very nice. The bar and music outside was great and the sunrise is beautiful . The staff at the front desk,bar and breakfast area were very nice and helpful. We loved we could walk to town underneath the highway. Town was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
bigdaddyFlorida -

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.com! We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your feedback for others.

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn Resort West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and BookIt.com so you can book your West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.