We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Save Saved
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Brighton, Michigan
1 review
“Girls Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I recently stayed at the West Bay Beach for a girls weekend and was blown away by the exceptional service. I was greeted by Stephanie who was a pleasure to work with. She helped me find my way around and gave a great tour !! The resort had everything from paddle boarding to sidewalks leading straight to downtown. Our server Keene was such a breathe of fresh air. He was professional, fun, and handled a large group amazingly. Jon from Security was also a great resource and very helpful! I look forward to bringing my family back over Labor Day weekend and hope to see all of these wonderful staff members again! Definitely recommend this place for all ages!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    36
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
20
49
2
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I just recently stayed at this resort and was so pleased with everything! My friends and I had such wonderful customer service. The new private cabanas on the beach were so relaxing. The location of the hotel was perfect, within walking distance of downtown TC. I highly recommend staying at this resort for all age groups.

Keene and Jon did a great job taking care of our group. We really appreciated their superb customer service and friendly personalities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Shores, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The changes that have taken place since the new management took over is just amazing. From the second I walked into the hotel it was obvious by the friendly greeting from the front desk employees, and it didn't stop there. Wherever I walked I was greeted with a "good afternoon sir". The renovations are wonderful and the view of the Bay from the outdoor restaurant are some of the best around. Access to the downtown shops and restaurants is just a short walk away which makes this location the best of all worlds. Definitely a hotel worth staying at.

Room Tip: Can't beat the high floors with bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here the whole weekend for a friend's bachelorette party and had an amazing time. Friendly and helpful staff, fun activities, great night life, awesome food, spacious rooms. Downtown Traverse City is very close (walking distance).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the West Bay Beach this past weekend for a bachelorette party and had an amazing time. We were originally planning on renting a house for the weekend, but I'm sooo glad we didn't. There was tons to do on site and within walking distance of the hotel. The food at the restaurants was amazing and I could definitely see and taste the difference in the quality since the last time I stayed there (a couple years ago). We also rented a cabana for a day which was really fun with a big group of girls and we were able to rent paddle boards and jet skis on location. The club at the View was great for dancing at night after an awesome time on the NautiCat. I can't say enough about all the great things we did at the hotel. The staff was also so incredibly helpful, specifically Stephanie, who helped plan the whole weekend. Ryan and Keene also made sure we had great service the whole weekend. The rooms were also clean and very nicely renovated. I would definitely recommend this hotel as it has everything you need right on site and is within walking distance of downtown!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had the most amazing experience at the West Bay Beach resort in Traverse City this past weekend. I stayed there with 12 of my best girlfriends for a weekend getaway and could not have been more pleased with the service or the location. I would recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great Traverse City experience. There is a beautiful beach with plenty of available activities, and it is walking distance from downtown. The food was amazing and you can eat breakfast, lunch or dinner overlooking the water.

The rooms are clean and spacious with great views of the lake.

Also can't say enough about the staff. If you go, be sure to request Keene - he is sweet and fun and will provide excellent service. Jon was also extremely helpful with anything we needed.Just to name a few ... the entire staff was amazing.

If you are looking for a weekend getaway, whether for a group event or just a fun weekend away to enjoy pure Michigan - this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My friends and I most recently visited the hotel and were blown away with the amazing service and beautiful location! Each and every staff member was attentive and accommodating, but Keene and Jon were specifically wonderful. The hotel remodel was done beautifully, the location is perfect and within walking distance to downtown, and there were plenty of activities to keep our group of 13 having fun all weekend long. I would most certainly recommend this hotel to anybody who asks!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Amy R -

Thank you for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor.com! We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and others! Keene & Jon are wonderful members of our team here at West Bay Beach!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.