We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They serve Starbucks Coffee!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Save Saved
You added West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“They serve Starbucks Coffee!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was better than expected. Recently remodeled, updated rooms, staff was excellent. Would stay here again and again. Perfect location, walk to downtown, sit on the patio for dinner and live entertainment or overlook the bay. Beach is 20 feet from the resort, small park next door.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Eric M-

Thank you for the great review on tripadvisor.com! You traveled a long way to visit us and we appreciate that!

See you again sometime,

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
18
45
2
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This resort/hotel is simply awesome! Perfect location within walking distance to downtown, the beach is RIGHT there, a park next door, and quick and easy if you want to drive anywhere. Plus, the West Bay is where all the good action is! We stayed here for the 4th, and while it was noisy (as to be expected), watching the sun set right from our 4th floor room every night was amazing! The staff were wonderful and knowledgeable, the food in the restaurants smelled delicious (although we didn't get to try it), and their beach was beautiful.

Room Tip: West end of the hotel. You'll have some noise from the outdoor bar at night, but only till 10 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, Guest Relations Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Carrie C-

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the lovely review!

We look forward to seeing you in the future and hopefully you can eat at our restaurants next time!

Thanks again,

Krystal F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I travel home to visit family and friends with my children and we've stayed at the Holiday Inn several times. I love this place. I feel at home and the staff in all areas is wonderful and welcoming. I never consider any other hotel. The location is prime and the views of the bay are beautiful. Great job making us feel as though we are home away from home Holiday Inn!!!! We love you! !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
NikkiRogers -

Thank you for your second wonderful review on our property! We REALLY appreciate your loyalty when returning "home".

See you again soon, we hope!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been coming here for at least 15 years. For much of that time, you could set your watch by its reliable and steady value. It was an understated gem in Traverse City. Some of our favorite family memories were made here, and we cherish them all. We saw many of the same employees year after year, which spoke well of the management and working conditions. We felt like we were coming home every year.

Under new ownership, this is now a "resort." I don't want to sell the property short. It is a rare property on the bay because of its multiple dining, drinking, and pool options. (And the outdoor pool, thankfully, is warm!) The view is very nice and location ideal. The new décor is new. That said, our days as guests may be numbered. The food has become too expensive (no Holiday Inn menu either) and the whole atmosphere seems more enticing for 20 and 30-somethings without kids. The room prices are climbing, climbing . . .

We don't see many of those same employees. Maybe they're still there but we just don't see them. Our one constant remaining is Jennifer, who has served us breakfast as long as we've been coming. She has watched our kids grow up and she is a friend we look forward to seeing with every trip. I think it is safe to say that as long as she is here, we'll be coming back. Once she's gone...?

A lot of money has been sunk into the new "resort," but does this justify the higher prices everywhere? Will this become a haven for the "good time" crowd, or continue to be a family destination and an option for a variety of guests? Time will tell.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hi Lovemykids2 -

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor.com. We really appreciate your feedback.

Rest assured, many of our loyal employees are still with us! In fact, before I wrote this, I did some fact checking:

We have 43 employees that have been here 7+ years! within that great group, there are 15+ that have been here 20+ years! Icing on the cake? We have two employees with 45 years! The tenure of our staff is a large part of what makes our property so great!

See you next time!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Had an awesome stay. The remodel looks great. Our server Nikki on the patio was the best. The staff was all good and room was comfortable. Food was good and drinks aren't super expensive. Also it's a short walk to downtown. We will definitely come back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Jim S -

Thank you for your five star review here on TripAdvisor.com! We really appreciate you sharing your feedback with others!

Also - thank you for mentioning Nikki! She's a wonderful addition to our team!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donnellson, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did not stay here but wish we had instead of Grand Traverse. We loved the vibe, the fact that it was right in the water and the food was good. I saw pool,and it was marginal but I am looking for beach in the Michigan summer. The band was fun and so was the crowd.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Theresa N -

Thank you for your review! We appreciate you sharing your feedback! We can't wait to have you stay with us next time!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Huge success! Just wanted to say I appreciate everything they did for us in hosting our staff meeting. Food, rooms, everything was great! The place is really looking nice and their staff was very nice, attentive and accommodating! Great work! Can't beat those views of West Bay too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin W, General Manager at West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Zachary K -

Thank you SO much for your wonderful review! It was such a pleasure hosting your group here at West Bay Beach.

See you soon!

Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort

Address: 615 E. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684 (Formerly Holiday Inn Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the waters edge, West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort is the only full-service, four season resort on the white sandy shores of West Grand Traverse Bay. You can do it all while visiting the Holiday Inn West Bay hotel. Conveniently located within walking distance to downtown, Traverse City offers unique boutique shops and an eclectic area of restaurants, art galleries, and theaters. Looking for things to do while you re in the area? Traverse City offers an abundant amount of satisfying activities such as hiking, biking, golf, water sports, para-sailing, boating w/ boat rentals, charter fishing, kayaking, wine tours, and dune climbing to name a few. Nearby area attractions include Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes National Park, Leland's Fishtown, Hagerty Conference Center, Turtle Creek Casino, Interlochen Arts Academy, Dennos Museum, Music House Museum, and Grand Traverse Mall just to name a few. Whether for work or for pleasure, West Bay Beach has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Bay Beach - A Holiday Inn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.