We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Traverse City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Saginaw, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Years Eve Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The room was filthy with cookie crumbs near the end table between the bed, pills on the floor and wrappers between the bed and the armoire. The comforter appeared to have fresh stains on it. A very gross experience. Hard to believe that anyone tended to this room before we arrived and if they did they should not be working in house keeping. Check-in took about 10 minutes as the employees who were supposed to be tending to the front desk were in the back room chatting and unaware that I was at the desk. The in room heater made a continuous ticking noise to the point of continually waking me up. This will be my last stay at Hampton Inn. Disappointing experience and one of the worst that I've had in the area. I would recommend Cambria Suites.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    142
    64
    17
    11
See reviews for
101
139
7
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were pleased with our stay. From the outside it looks like an older hotel but the rooms were very nice. On the small side but very nice styling and clean. In the summer the location near the state park would be ideal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel was OK. Was clean and breakfast was fine. No microwave nor refrigerator in rooms. Beds were not as comfortable as other Hampton Inn beds we have slept in. There are many hotels in Traverse city, I would try another if available.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize if during your stay we were not up to Hampton's excellent standard of service. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault set marie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Excellent stay. Had great service and the breaky was delicious. The coffee was very good as well. The rooms were super quiet and the room was super clean. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would come back every time when visiting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, Front Desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
France Fitzgerald F.D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, MI, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

There is nothing more to add, so I am typing to simply fulfill the two hundred character minimum. I hope you have a very merry Christmas and a healthy and a happy new year. The red fox jumped over the log to get where he was going.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France F, front desk at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
France Fitzgerald F D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Room was nice, staff good. Bed was terrible. Too soft and almost lumpy. Just not good. Breakfast was a bit lacking but basically on par with any complimentary breakfast fare. Location is very convenient to downtown and airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Hampton Inn of Traverse City. You are an important guest and all of your comments and feedback help us better serve you. I apologize that the quality of the bed was not up to your standards. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This property was a real hit with me and the employees traveling with me in Traverse City. Everything was incredibly clean, and looked to have been remodeled very recently and in a very stylish and warm manner.
Our King rooms were very nicely laid out, and included some very nice features such as a sofa/sitting area, and built in desk (bed should be a few inches further from it, though). The walk-in shower in the bathroom was also a very pleasant surprise.
The pool was much larger than you usually find at this type of hotel, and it - together with the large hot tub - were very refreshing.
Fitness room had very nice equipment (elliptical, bike, & treadmill) with built in televisions - the headphone jack is kind of hidden below the stop button - which I've never seen outside of a very expensive hotel before.
Probably the only let-down of the entire stay was the breakfast. They did have a hot choice each day, but just eggs and carbs (biscuits, french toast sticks). Eggs are great, but they feel lonely without their friend Bacon :-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Traverse City, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
The Hampton Inn Traverse City is very pleased to hear that our hotel was a real hit with you and your associates. We take pride to maintain Hampton's excellent standard of service and quality. Thank you for your time and I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the near future. We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.