We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliable Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Traverse City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Reliable Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights the last weekend of April. The staff was friendly and very helpful in providing directions and a map of the area. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The lobby, halls and other common areas were clean. Pool area was closed for maintenance. Breakfast was good - plenty of options. The hotel is located across a busy street (use the crosswalk) from a nice park and beach on the East arm of Grand Traverse Bay. It's about 3 miles to the downtown area - there are not sidewalks in some stretches along the road so walking into town is not easy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    132
    59
    16
    10
See reviews for
96
127
7
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fowlerville, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Traverse is my favorite place to stay. They remodeled in 2008 and it looks stunning! From the moment you walk in the door the front desk goes above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay! I have stayed countless times at this property and I have never had an issue with cleanliness or a maintenance problem! It is just a short walk across the street to the state park beach and close to downtown! We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atascadero
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff extremely helpful as I had just lost my wallet in Detroit airport. They called a cab for me and paid for it. Love the location across from the lake. I stay at this hotel whenever I visit Traverse City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotels was great except for the draft around the H/C unit. Not pleasant with windy 30 degree temps outside. Would stay here again. Convenient to downtown and surrounding attractions (beaches, airport, etc.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PETOSKEY
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This property epitomizes your average Hampton experience. The location is across from Traverse Bay and is quite scenic in spite of traffic. Rooms exceptionally clean. Relative to other properties in the locale, it would be hard to exceed quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a great stop over for us. We had to make a trip up north to visit a sick relative in the hospital in Traverse City. This hotel was awesome from the beginning. The girl at the desk was so friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, clean and very pleasant. The hot tub was the only thing that was sub-par, it was barely warm let alone hot. The breakfast was very good, lots of variety and the eating area was nice and clean, not to mention the view of the bay. Would most definately stay again if the need arised....hope the hot tub is working next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed the weekend for the state OM competition. The hotel was full with tons of kids. The reservations were made a month in advance but the hotel was not prepared for such a crowd. They ran out of towels at the pool and their excuse was that the laundry person didn't show up for work that day. Doesn't anyone else know how to start a washing machine?

That being said the hotel was very nice. They had a very nice breakfast, everything was very clean, the staff very friendly. I would stay here again but if it were a busy weekend I would prepare for some things to not be perfect.

The rooms are very small. Very nice and clean but you could never get a roll away in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Traverse City

Address: 1000 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#6 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Traverse City hotel, set in the heart of Traverse City, an area which features over 180 miles of beautiful Lake Michigan shoreline and 149 lakes. In our area, you'll find great train rides, beaches, museums, skiing, shopping, wineries and golf. Visit the freshwater beaches of Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore— the sand and clear water will amaze those who've only known saltwater beaches.Venture to Old Mission Village, founded by a missionary in 1839. Still an active community, the village retains many of the original structures, including a general store, Congregational church and mission house.Stay in a warm, comfy guest room at this Traverse City hotel, and enjoy a great night’s sleep on a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Start each day refreshed with Hampton’s free hot breakfast or simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday through Friday for a quick, healthy meal to go. Swim laps in the hotel’s large indoor swimming pool or work out in the fitness center with a range of cardio machines. Stay on top of work in the business center, fully equipped with printing, faxing and photocopying services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Traverse City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.