We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January and the rooms were disgusting. We had candy wrappers from a previous guest in one bed under the blankets (apparently the cleaning staff didn't feel the need to at least take them off the bed before making it which also means the sheets weren't changed). The other bed had blood or crap ( literally) in multiple spots on the blanket. When walking in to the room the box spring was covered in red stains and since the sheets don't cover it or hang over the first mattress, it was clearly never scrubbed off. If you are going to have red stained mattresses at least put a sheet over it. The other room had a leak in the window and since the heater was right under the window and it had cold water dripping on it, it never turned off all night and was miserable. When we told the front desk, she didn't offer to move my other family members (too many people for just one room). The next morning when a complaint was made again, the front desk said no one was supposed to be out in that room and we were moved. So this is poor communication between management and staff. The shower in one room only had one temperature which was burning hot and the drain had rust on it. Then the next morning there was a sewage backup in the hotel. The TVs were updated so that was a plus but I would not stay here again. I'd rather pay 50 dollars more and stay at another hotel. I wasn't expecting much for the price but I do not expect to have to worry about cleanliness. It has poor management. And poor expectations of the staff to keep it clean.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We regret that an ice jam (an act of nature) caused a leak in a room and have addressed this issue. While a few rooms did encounter some plumbing issues on the morning this party checked out, the matter was addressed and it did not effect any of the rooms of this guest or their companions. We take our guests satisfaction and concerns very seriously and as a result, all the rooms inhabited by this party were personally inspected by myself, our front desk manager and our head housekeeper and we found no evidence of any of the other issues raised. We underwent an independent inspection on November 28, 2012 and our scores in all areas, including housekeeping, received scores that exceed the standards established by Choice Hotels International.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
12
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is exactly what you would expect for $44 a night. Lady at the from desk was nice and the property is clean, Pool/spa area is in rough shape. Room was what I expected, servicable for a night or two but not the place you want to stay for long.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Due to the large usage during the summer months, our pool and spa area are repainted at least once every year during the off-season. This will be occuring again in the near future. Over the last few years we have installed new carpet throughout the facility as well as replaced wallpaper throughout the builidng. Our wifi service has been recently been expanded to make it available in every room. We are currently in the process of upgrading all of our TV's to flat screens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After staying at this hotel, it became obvious to me that this is a "Party Hotel" There were several rooms of very noisy partiers. I brought this to the attention of hotel staff twice and nothing was done. The noise continued until about 3:30 am. When I went to check out, there was nobody at the front desk. It took about 10 minutes of waiting for the front desk person to arrive in order to check out. This hotel and its management are a disgrace to the EconoLodge brand and should not be allowed to continue business as part of the Choice Hotels group

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel will have lots of noise coming in from all the partiers that stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are sorry that the behavior of other guests you were attending a wedding was a disturbance to you. The guests in question quieted down when asked and our staff person patrolled the halls throughout the night without incident. We did not have any complaints from other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

The bugs are what got to us. The price was horribly inflated and the staff was indifferent close to rude. There were signs everywhere that said don't do this and don't do that. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Surrounded by the outdoors and with many of our guests partaking in outdoor activities, we welcome suggestioins on how to live bugs from entering the building. We monitor rates on a regular basis and strive to keep our rates reasonable by Traverse City standards--we are routinely among the most affordable in the area. We regret that it is necessary based upon past guest behavior to post rules and regulations regarding proper conduct and use of facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Econo Lodge in Traverse City, MI is a good bargain especially for people who do not wish to spend over $100 a night in the area. It is just 10-15 minutes south of the heart of the city. While it does intend to be a 5 star hotel it does provide what is necessary for a good stay: clean bedding, good restroom with warm water, and a good waffle for the road.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We appreciate your business and hope that you will be back. We are continually striving to provide our guests with a pleasant stay. I am happy to announce that we have recently completed our wifi expansion project.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

No air conditioning, price was overinflated! This room was worth $79 at best! If you think your rooms are worth what you charge, you are mistaken. We will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I am also filing a complaint with Hotels.com and will suggest that they take this hotel off their list! I was very disappointed with the rate, thanks for ripping me off!

Room Tip: My tip is this,"stay at a different hotel!"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. However, the room and air conditioner in question has been in use EVERY night since your stay, with no one experiencing any problems. Our maintenance man as also thoroughly checked the unit and found no problems. This is an older model air conditioner and we do occasionally run into problems with user error as guests tend to turn the knobs to the wrong postions which then causes the unit to go into a shut down mode and further tinkering delays the restart.
We continually compare our prices with the other motels in the area and make a sincere effort to keep our prices reasonable by Traverse City standards, as such we are generally one of the least expensive stays in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

The room was 58.00 with my Discount.
Other people paid double that.
The Jacuzzi was so hot u couldn't ever put your hand in it.
Check in was a bright spot. The girl was great.
.....The room...OMG it was cold, thank god. BUt...the bed was ....well not comfy..
The pillows were squashed down. The sheets I hope were clean, but were so worn, they kept fall off the corners.
Breakfast Continental but Ok
If you want a Choice Hotel try Comfort Inn or Qualify Inn on the Bay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. The spa and pool temperature are monitored several times a day and are kept within established standards. Over the last several months the Traverse City area has been experiencing unseasonably warm temperatures. Since a room will warm up faster than it will cool down, we have been leaving air conditioners running on a continuous basis for arrivals. Unfortunately, beds are a very subjective item. In any given week we can have the same bed judged too hard, too soft or just right by guests. I am sorry that your bed was not too your liking. Please contact us at info@tceconolodge.com and identify yourself so that I may look up who checked you in and can recognize her for her performance. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.