We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Econo Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Disgusting room. Blood stains on the mattress and box springs. BLOOD STAINS!!

Standing brown water in the refrigerator, body hairs in the bathroom. Complete indifference by the staff. We informed them of the problems before we left for a wedding, upon our return nothing was done. The girl at the front desk said she "forgot"

Mark, the owner was out of town when we checked out (you pre-pay for rooms) so when I asked for a refund I was told they were unable (willing?) to provide one. She told me that the owner would call me to discuss our problems. That was six weeks ago. Apparantly he isn't too concerned about their guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
While there were stains, they were not blood stains and this matter has been addressed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
It is common practice to pay for rooms at check in. Several chains even charge your card as soon as you make the reservation. Staff do not have the authority to issue refunds as this is at management discretion and since many guests attempt to scam in this unfortunate economy, this gives management an opportunity to investigate the situation to determine an appropriate resolution. This is also common practice in the hospitality industry.
Attempts were made to reach the guest at the number provided and messages were left. The guest did not respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    13
    13
    18
See reviews for
17
13
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

God forbid a person checking in should accidentally leave something on the counter when they're carrying suite cases, clothes on hangers for the wedding the next day, etc. Don't expect to get it back. The hotel staff will just give your property to someone passing by. I left my laptop, and it was given to some kid who said "I THINK this is my fathers". You would think a rational human being would tell the kid, "ok, well your father can come claim it." Nope. They just gave it to the kid. When I confronted the hotel staff about the missing laptop they claimed to not have seen it (because they were afraid it was the one they had just given away). Thanks for lying instead of doing what is right. Now, I'm going to have to sue the owner to get compensated for his terrible, inconsiderate staff. The manager said "oh, I went out of my way to show the camera footage to police, and now you want $1,000?" Yes sir. Thank you for doing YOUR JOB! Sorry it was such an inconvenience!! Because your staff lied, and didn't go and confront the kid once they realized they had given away my laptop, it is now gone. Your hotel owes me.

Oh, and the beds are rock hard. The pillows are small, worn out, lumpy, and yellowing. Good luck getting any rest. The bathroom was pretty clean though... Just about the only good thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Guest checked in at 6:46 pm as recorded on video and carelessly left laptop on counter while thumbing through pictures displayed on another counter. Walked passed laptop several times before leaving the lobby area. Did not report laptop missing until the following afternoon. Night shift attempted booting it up to see if log in might indicate owner and the laptop didn't even work. Management identified individual claiming the item to the police and they are handling the situation. Guest is just trying to get a non-functioning item replaced at someone else's expense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The people left in charge are completely incompetent. They'll just give your things away to random people and then tell you you need to sue them in order to be compensated, even if it's caught on tape. Also, they'll lie to you AND the police about it. If it hadn't been for the lying/stealing I would've given this place a 3. It's clean, but it's absurdly expensive. The breakfast isn't terrible. Also, we were staying there are part of a wedding group and there were several other problems with guests' rooms. I felt bad for the bride and groom who went through all the effort of setting us up with a group rate only for their guests to be treated this way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Guest carelessly left item in lobby as identified on tape and did not report item missing until the following day, by which time another guest claimed the item. Video tapes were reviewed with police who are contacting the other party.
Rates are reviewed and monitored on a regular basis and are in line with comparable motels in the area. Group received a significant discount even though they did not comply with the guidelines set out in the group contract for receiving such a discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The sides of our box springs were so stained, we joked that someone was murdered on them! GROSS!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. The matter has been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights this week. Bathroom and shower were very clean. Room had a stale, not fresh smell - underneath the obviously sprayed scented air freshener. Old, not crisp sheets, they were clean, I think, but kind of stained. Blankets seemed clean but permanently stained. Just an overall, below average feel. No OJ or milk a the continental breakfast. No decaf coffee. would not stay there again. And I'm not all that picky - usually have positive comments. It seemed like the price should have been alot less for the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City EconoLodge. We are sorry you were dissatisified with your stay. Being at 100% occupancy during the time of your stay, regrettably staff did have a difficult time keeping up with breakfast, but orange juice and milk were available. In accordance with the guidelines established by Choice Hotels International, decaf coffee (and coffee packets for in-room coffee makers) is available upon request. We are looking into the issues you raised regarding linens. We monitor our rates and those of our competitors on a regular basis and our rates are inline with the other comparable lodging facilities in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Reading the past reviews, this place must have changed management. The place is older but very clean. The staff member who ran the front office was extremely helpful and offered us suggestions and directions. The hallways smell of lysol but were also very clean.

My only complaint is that while the air conditioning worked very well, it was an older model and was very loud at times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge! We appreciate your feedback ! We are currently in the process of replacing some of our older air conditioner/heating units. In the past several months we have undergone several renovations and upgrades including equipping all guest rooms with coffee makers, intalling new carpeting throughout the building, replacing the wallpaper in the corridors and several guest rooms, connecting to the Blair Township water system, repainting the pool and spa area, and replacing the roof.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I have family in the area so we go up several times a year. We were thrilled to find Econo Lodge was reasonably priced and perfectly located for us. We looked forward to making that our place to stay at least 4 times a year. But we will not be back. The water smelled so bad coming out of the shower and sink that it was hard to brush your teeth in it and impossible to shower without getting nauseated. When my husband reported it at check out, the front desk employee made excuses and was rude. She made no attempts to try and make it right. When I e-mailed the manager, I did not receive a response. Sadly, we will be unable to use this hotel and will have to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
I apologize for your dissatisfaction. In reviewing my emails, I am not finding any relating to this matter. Please contact me by telephone so we can attempt to rectify this situation and so that I may have adequate information to deal with the staff member accordingly.
Due to being on a well, we do periodically experience a sulfer smell in our water. We are currently in negotiations to hook into the new Blair Township water system which should eliminate this problem.
Again, I apologize and look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 M-37 South, Traverse City, MI 49684
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.