We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Saint Louis
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed here for one night. I chose it because of price and the close proximity to the Dennos Museum. I have no complaints about this hotel. Upon check-in, the desk attendant offered me the choice of buildings and the choice of a 1st or 2nd floor room. The room was clean. The bed was quite comfortable -- I very much liked the firm mattress -- and the pillows were also very comfy -- they were soft -- the perfect combination in my mind. Since it was the off-season, it was also quiet, which was very welcome, especially after a long day of driving. Breakfast is quite an expanded version of the 'continental' breakfast and I can't imagine someone not being able to find something they want to eat. Both desk attendants were young but extremely helpful, nice and respectful. The cleaning staff was equally friendly and helpful. There is handicapped parking close to an automatic rear door which is also close to an elevator. Overall, the property seemed clean and well-kept. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others. Oh, and there's coffee and hot water [for tea] plus cookies in the lobby.

Room Tip: The elevator was a bit cold. My 2nd floor room looked down on an inner courtyard with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    115
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
135
143
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the bedroom/suite and the room was spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool and the complimentary cookies at the front desk. The breakfast was amazing and offered a great variety of food to choose from. This hotel offers a GREAT value at a very reasonable price. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posen
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked the jaccuzzi and fireplace in the bedroom. The shape of the jaccuzzi tub was nice. We also found the kitchenette handy. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and everything was very clean.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanson, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A nicely furnished and spacious hotel suite at an affordable price. Quality linens and comfortable beds and furniture. Helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is conveniently located to the airport and shopping.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel was in good location. Room was very clean and nice having fridge and microwave in room...comfy beds. but the breakfast that everyone is raving about is NOT GOOD. Stayed over sat night looking forward to breakfast and what a disappointment. No breakfast meats as stated.. eggs runny and lumpy... so I pick up a plain bagel... I could have broke a window if I threw it. It was hard as a rock. Needless to say I went down the street to McDonald's... oh and if you want to know what walmart employees make in north Dakota just stand at the front desk and wait for service while employees search the web and ignore you.. dog run is big mud pit in back of parking lot.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musssey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed two nights for a very much needed getaway. Service was great. Room and hotel very clean and updated. Breakfast bar was like no other. EXCELLENT.....:) Being so close to everything in Traverse City and Old Mission was a big plus. I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was for two nights visiting friends and downtown area. The bed in our queen size room was lumpy and well used, lumpy. Pillows were flat and hard to sleep on, water in bathtub would not completely shut off. The fan in the bathroom rattled when turned on. The room was very dreary and dark unless lights were used to make it more appealing. Did not get the feeling that the room was cleaned that thoroughly since the last person's stay. There were little places to put the towels in the bathroom, only one towel rack. Little place to put towels to dry out after use as the bar for the shower curtain was very high and thin. We had to go to some lengths to get additional towels, kleenex, because the people who were servicing the rooms were way up in front of the building, carts were not seen from where we were. The breakfast buffet was very average.... potatoes very dry, egg patties... may have been made with powered eggs. Coffee was weak and watered down. Seems to be a better place to take kids, because they don't care about these kinds of things that much. However, and luckily for the hotel, the city itself has a very pleasant feeling, which helps to compensate for the room. Did not feel like the value for the money was very good after seeing signs listing other hotels in the area at better prices. Overall have been better serviced at other hotels in the area. Posssibly the staff is not paid that much, which added to the lack luster service.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms to comment on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.