We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Traverse City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Poynette, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Visiting Traverse City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I, in our 60's, love to travel. We recently returned from our first "Traverse City Trip" while spending four nights at the Country Inn and Suites. Our selection of this Inn turned out to be an excellent choice.

The central location was the answer for visiting not only all that beautiful Traverse City offered, but every scenic location within an easy 30 minute drive.

The rooms were equipped with microwave, fridge, flat screen tv, and excellent free WI-FI. The entire motel had been recently refurbished, and was extremely clean and well maintained.

The staff were one of the most friendly and customer oriented we have seen in our trips to various cities.

The breakfast buffet had a large assortment and amount of hot and very satisfying items. This assortment was constantly replenished by the staff and the tables were immediately cleaned when patrons were finished.

We cannot say enough on how well we were treated during our four night stay. Bryan Dickey, General Manager, and staff, our doing an excellent job and should be recognized for their efforts. We would highly recommend this Inn to others who might be staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    79
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
97
99
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at country Inn & Suites in Traverse City MI while on vacation. We chose this hotel somewhat at random after narrowing down our choices by reading the reviews and the visiting each hotel's web site. After staying at this hotel I can honestly say that I would not consider staying at any other hotel the next time the wife and I are in Traverse City. Everything was great the room, breakfast, the pool & hot tub, staff.... There was not a single aspect of our stay that could have been improved.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed there in June 2014 for 2 nights. This was the only hotel with few rooms left, everything else was booked ahead. The room was very clean. We had an issues with the TV or the cable in the room, as soon I called, 5 min later I had the technician by the door and he fixed it. It was a room in the back of the building so we didnt have any noise from the streets nor the neighbors.
The price for stay is expensive in my opinion ~`200$/night on Fri and Sat 06.27.14, but I guess they are all like that, since we couldn't get a room anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The newly 2013 redecorated room was very nice. We had an upstairs end room which was oversized. It was in a separate building from the lobby and breakfast area. During winter I would request a room in the lobby building. It was very clean and popcorn for the microwave was a bonus I have not seen in other hotels.

Room Tip: See comments
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Country Inn, Traverse City, is what quality motels should be. While others have described the rooms, amenities, etc., I would focus on the swimming pool. Indoors in a large addition built just for the purpose, the pool is quite large and rectangular. One can swim laps for exercise. This feature brought my wife and me back for a second stay at the end of our trip. I would recommend this motel and would look forward to revisiting it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location - clean room - friendly staff - 2nd year we have stayed here for our Anniversary Weekend. Last year we ate breakfast there and they provided a nice spread. This year we had other plans for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Compared to other hotels, this one is much more reasonably priced. Amenities are everything you would need. If you like a firm pillow, bring your own, otherwise room was excellent, nice and clean. Location is not great if you are shopping (not within walking distance)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.