We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel with Good Amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City to your Saves list
Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Davenport, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Older Hotel with Good Amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Very clean place and great bed. Very good internet and cable system. Breakfast was better than many places that we have stayed in. Good water pressure in the shower. This is an older building and does show that in some areas but nothing that would prevent us from recommending. They are keeping up with all required maintenance. Amenities are very good compared to other hotels at this level. Typical older noisy AC system at window.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    115
    32
    5
    5
See reviews for
135
143
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The price that was paid was far from what it was worth. If you just need a place to lay your head it will do, but I didn't even want to walk on the carpet. Stains everywhere and very noisy!! When the neighbors used their shower or toilet it sounded like water was going to shoot through the wall. Room was smelly and felt dank, the air unit worked off and on. Did not get the room I thought I had reserved and the hotel blammed it on making the reservation through a third party site. Do your research and save your money...go to another hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mkbtcmi, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites for your stay in Traverse City. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfying. We value each and every guest that stays with us; we also value your opinion and take what you say making sure we investigate and correct any deficiency. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have had. Our staff is very well trained and would sincerely take care of you if you had any grievances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and were pleased with the staff, the breakfast and the cleanliness. We were on a 2 week vacation and spent every night in a hotels. This one rated one of the best that we stayed at and would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We recently stayed in this hotel and found it to be clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and it is in a good position with just a short drive down to Traverse City.
We had a 1 bedroom suite which included a pull down bed which our teenage son thought was fab and had his own teenage pad !!!
Breakfasts were as you would expect, fruit, cereal, muffins,scrambled eggs etc. I guess our only complaint were the use of polystyrene plates and bowls due to the environmental impact all the rubbish created!!
I'd Definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if I was ever lucky enough to be in the area again !!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsonville, MD
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent two nights here while visiting Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore. The check in staff was very friendly and efficient. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had some odd trouble with the TV - it turned on and off by itself - and someone came within ten minutes to fix the problem. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choices. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at Country inn and suites because we got two free nights thru using credit card pts. It was not walkable to the town. It was clean but bathroom very small. Walls were thin, could hear our neighbors. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave great suggestions of where to eat and how to get to your destination. They had a nice courtyard where you could sit outside. We only got juice and coffee at the free breakfast. They have warm cookies at arrival. Free internet and parking.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a few days here while touring this area of Michigan. Very nice spot. Very accomodating staff-called room to be sure we were satisfied. Shared ideas for places to eat, see or confirmed the information I had about things to see & do. Rooms were clean. Bed was comfortable. Did not use any amenities-pool, exercise room, but they were in use. Very convenient. Price is lower than most--probably because you are not on the water nor are you directly across the parkway from the water. That was fine for us. The only drawback (which you can run into anywhere & @ the time you choose for breakfast)--tour bus group @ complimentary breakfast. Very, very crowded in the room. Nice weather so people could eat on their patio. I would recommend this place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.