We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Lansing MI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice for a weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whirlpool room was nice, staff helpful. Convenient location, though not walkable to beach. Breakfast area was too congested, staff could not keep up with rush. Was a weekend trip, seems everyone in hotel wanted to eat between 8:00 and 9:00. If there during the week (business travelers start earlier) would be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    85
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
101
104
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight trip to check out the fall colors. The room was very clean and we loved the micro and fridge to store our food. The pool and hot tub was really fun and the breakfast in the morning was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONSTED
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the newly, remodeled Country Inn & Suites by Carlson in Traverse City, MI. Our daily, hot breakfast had many items to choose from, was very tasty, entree changed daily and was included with our stay. Rooms have been upgraded and pool & hot tub was relaxing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be going back soon. What a great stay!!!

Larry and Sondra Carnahan

Room Tip: We have stayed in different areas of this motel and all seem to be great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lake
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel was excellent. The pool was sparkling clean. The breakfast was more than we expected. Everything was perfect oh, and the cookies at check in, yummmm! We felt very welcome. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Excellent plus I would go back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKFORD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This Inn is a great place to stay. Our Corvette Club stayed there on the 12th of October. We arrived and had drive up check-in to get our room keys. They had reserved parking for us. We were all booked in the same area of the Inn. We took over the outdoor patio with a group of about 60 people and had great fun. Although I did not use the pool or jacuzzi, it was open all night after 10 to adults only. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed our stay. We had a second floor room with its own balcony that was apart from everyone else and opened from the outside, different, but nice. The room wasn't huge, but comfortable and clean. Everything was new and updated. Breakfast had a lot of options, eggs, french toast, fresh fruit, and the assorted cold cereals, muffins, and bagels. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This used to be the Days Inn and it was OK. Now Country Suites has taken it over and everything is redecorated, re-furbished and generally improved. The rooms are all newly decorated with the totally re-done bathrooms. (our bathroom seemed a bit tiny as the new sinks are console-style with a drop in sink and the toilet paper holder is free-standing and not recessed into the wall.)
The inclusive breakfast is great with many options and staff always there to clean up, make more coffee etc. You also get a handout when you check in with a map showing your room and with the wifi password on it. Pool spa area is the same although they have added special elevator chairs to assist handicapped getting into both the pool and the jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Older guests should ask for a room close to the lobby as it can be a very long, long walk for break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City

Address: 420 Munson Avenue, Traverse City, MI 49686 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Traverse City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#4 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City Hotel Traverse City
Days Inn And Suites Traverse City
Days Inn Traverse City
Traverse City Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Traverse City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.