We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has a central location, a lot of restaurants, stores and beach, all within a walk from the Hotel.

The Lounge on Tenth floor is great and what a view!!!

Bedroom was nice, not so big but bathroom was excellent, it had a window!! Direct sunlight is nice always.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you, Evandro S. I am glad our comfortable rooms, amenities and location were a good fit for you. We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    107
    60
    36
    20
See reviews for
43
108
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel had a good downtown location, friendly staff at front desk, but other than that just a regular hotel. Rooms look to be updated, but the hallways needed cleaning and the outside of hotel needed some work. We had a room with a balcony, the balcony was shared with someone else with only a short wrought iron fence separating us. Our sliding door had a broken lock so we didn't really feel safe considering our neighbors just had to cross the fence to get into our room. Housekeeping staff was not friendly at all. The only reason I would go back is for the beds. The bed was one of the most comfortable ones I have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Balconies are extremely small and you share it with the room next to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello pennysh2014. We receive positive comments about our beds very regularly, so I thank you for publishing your comment. I am concerned about the unfriendliness of the housekeeping staff. We provide hospitality training before our front line employees work with the public. It very important to us that our guests are treated with the utmost respect and hospitality and that we meet guest needs with an urgent touch. I will surely speak with our Exec. Housekeeper to ensure we always uphold the importance of how we greet and treat our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here on night en route to Mackinac Island. Our room was not in the tall part of the building, so I think it may have been newer. We both really enjoyed Dave, the bartender at the Beacon Lounge on the tenth floor. If you go, ask if Mr Chamber of Commerce is there! Seriously this guy was a wealth of info......

The area around the hotel is great, the waterfront and lots of bars and restaurants. Just a nice, safe, and clean place to be.

Room Tip: I guess a high floor would be good, we were on the 3rd floor. No complaints though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hello pko57! Thank you for sharing your experience. Yes, Dave aka "Mr. Chamber of Commerce" is very good at what he does and I am glad he provided you with excellent customer service. Looking forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've stayed at other hotels in Traverse City that are nicer (in large part because they are newer, such as Cambria Suites, Tamarack), but the location alone makes the Park Place a great choice. At other hotels you have to drive into downtown (unless a shuttle is offered). The Park Place is right downtown and in walking distance to all shops and restaurants. I was attending a wedding reception at the Opera House and definitely did not want to drive. The Park Place was perfect. The rooms themselves appear a little dated, but were comfortable and clean and we had no issues with check in or check out. We stayed over Memorial weekend, but Sunday night and Monday nights. I chose a B&B for Saturday night, as the Park Place's rate for Friday and Saturday was double what they were asking for Sunday and Monday. I'd stay here again if I was hoping to partake in the TC bar scene and not have to worry about driving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you, DrJennyNovi I appreciate your comments. I agree, our location is the best! :) In the very near future, we plan on updating our facility to include our guest rooms. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are small but after a small inconvenience at check in we ended up in a handicap accessible room which gave us more space. Others in our group had very small rooms. The staff was good. Not outstanding. The rooms and hallways were WAY WAY TOO HOT. The location was perfect but the beds were too soft.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you Travelngirls08 for your comments. The Park Place does have a variety of rooms and we do our very best to match accommodations to guest needs. I hope we will have the opportunity to assist you with your reservations in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel has character - rooms are very clean and comfortable. The location is outstanding; within walking distance of shopping and dining options aplenty. The fitness room is very small and the equipment has seen better days, but I suppose most people opt for walks and runs in the nearby waterfront park. Business meals were fair; but I understand the hotel restaurant offered good food. I chose to eat in one of the many nearby restaurants when I had the chance. Plenty of free, outside parking was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: I suggest you try to attain a room with a view of the lake, and a higher floor would be best for tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPHGM, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much, Ron R. for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Our Fitness and Pool areas will undergo renovation in the very near future. I trust that the updated facility will be a better amenity for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Traveled to this area with my sister, niece and nephew to drop off my nephew at Interlochen Arts camp - stayed here and another hotel in the area. My sister booked on booking.com and since it is not really "high season" in Northern MI when we were there (weekend of 06/14) we supposedly got a deal of 150/night. Upon arrival, we were told that that rate was 179/night and after taxes it was 210. We explained that was incorrect, they said no, said they had the paperwork to prove it, which we never saw, but they were insistent. We attempted to clarify with booking.come, but of course there is no way to call them. We gave in...which I'm sure they expected, had a nice room on the 6th floor, beds comfortable, keurig coffee maker in the room with 4 cups of coffee (after four, each additional was $1) tub/shower drained very very slowly, which I reported and assume they fixed....nice indoor pool and parking was free (although I think they charge for parking during cherry festival) We did not eat at the hotel, but the restaurant looked nice. Traverse City is a nice town, small, easy to walk around, but prices are extremely high at shops, restaurants and hotels...I have paid less for a comparable hotel in NYC

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.