We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice look and atmosphere, average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Haslett, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice look and atmosphere, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've been to the Park Place Hotel a few times and have enjoyed every stay. This hotel provides a nice pool with toys for kids, a good hot tub, and a nice top-floor bar. This hotel is situated in a perfect downtown area, perfect if you don't mind driving or walking to the beach. The only downside to our visits to the Park Place is the service. Our room was not cleaned a few times and we had to book another room at the hotel once since they lost our first reservation. Still overall it is a good hotel in the heart of downtown TC.

Room Tip: Make sure that they have your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay and review of the hotel. We always strive to have every guest experience an enjoyable one and we apologize regarding the service issue that you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    108
    63
    39
    21
See reviews for
43
112
5
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

my husband and I stayed at the Park Place Hotel for a recent weekend getaway. we were pretty disapointed to be honest.
The hotel is pet friendly. The first room we were given reaked of cat pee. reaked. The front desk was polite and accomodating and moved us right away. The next room was fine. average to good. decent linens and beds, very small balcony.
The second night of our stay we were awoken at 1:30 a.m. by a dog barking and howling in the room next door. I called the front desk. they explained that they'd been trying to contact the owners but hadn't been successful. The barking and howling went on until 2:45 a.m. and we got very little sleep. again, the front desk was polite about the issue and have a 1 strike policy with these situations, but it really put a damper on our getaway.
as others said, the location is convenient. however, we did not have a good experience and wouldn't reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are sorry that your stay at the hotel was not up to our standards. While we do allow pets at the hotel, we have a strict policy regarding this and unfortunately, a guest was disrespectful of this and caused this incident, which is rare.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have stayed here a few times. The property is older but kept up nicely. Small rooms but nice view. There are good restaurants right on site. Its nice to be right downtown to be able to walk everywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your return visit to Traverse City and your continued patronage of The Park Place Hotel. We hope you have many return visits in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am not giving this hotel 5 stars because it needs a renovation. It was clean but outdated, especially the common areas. Our room was clean and comfortable. I was traveling for business so the location was very important to me. This hotels is in the heart of TC which compensates for a lot of disadvantages.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are very grateful for your visit to The Park Place Hotel and the review you posted. We hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The only thing I absolutely enjoyed about this hotel was the location. It was nice to be right downtown and able to walk to restaurants and shops. This is an old building so you have to expect that it is not an extremely modern hotel. I wouldn't say it was dirty, just old. The beds were very comfortable though. The pool/exercise area were not bad sizes, although we did not spend enough time at the hotel to utilize either one. My only really big complaint is the bathroom. There are no exhaust fans. It got SO steamy after a shower. It makes me wonder if they have had mold problems. I was also disappointed by the water pressure in the shower. Usually hotels have great shower heads/pressure, but my shower at home (which really sucks), is better. If you're looking to ditch a car for a lot of your trip, this is the place to go if you can deal with very average rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel, we would like to thank you for your visit and review that you posted. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you can visit Traverse City and the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The building's cornerstone lists construction dates of 1929-1930 and the hotel has done a great job at preserving its charm in the lobby area while bringing its rooms into the modern era. While small, the room we enjoyed had modern amenities and a lovely bay view. The bathroom was still somewhat dated (haven't seen a sun lamp in a while) but clean and serviceable. Desk staff during checkout Thursday a.m. was merely perfunctory. The hotel's main forte is its location, a perfect distance to Front Street, the linchpin of Traverse City's very walkable downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay at the hotel and your review. We always hope that travelers will return to the hotel in the future and hope you do the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location is great...within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, beach, etc.
Check in was a bit slow & front desk staff not too friendly or caring. Room was quiet and comfortable, but a bit dated. Nice view front the lounge on the 10th floor; but we received poor service.

Room Tip: Go for the tower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your visit to the Park Place Hotel and are sorry if the staff did not make you feel welcome. We always want every guest to feel special and will continue to do our best. Your comments do make a difference as we review them and learn what we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.