We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am not giving this hotel 5 stars because it needs a renovation. It was clean but outdated, especially the common areas. Our room was clean and comfortable. I was traveling for business so the location was very important to me. This hotels is in the heart of TC which compensates for a lot of disadvantages.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are very grateful for your visit to The Park Place Hotel and the review you posted. We hope that you can visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    107
    60
    36
    20
See reviews for
43
108
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The only thing I absolutely enjoyed about this hotel was the location. It was nice to be right downtown and able to walk to restaurants and shops. This is an old building so you have to expect that it is not an extremely modern hotel. I wouldn't say it was dirty, just old. The beds were very comfortable though. The pool/exercise area were not bad sizes, although we did not spend enough time at the hotel to utilize either one. My only really big complaint is the bathroom. There are no exhaust fans. It got SO steamy after a shower. It makes me wonder if they have had mold problems. I was also disappointed by the water pressure in the shower. Usually hotels have great shower heads/pressure, but my shower at home (which really sucks), is better. If you're looking to ditch a car for a lot of your trip, this is the place to go if you can deal with very average rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel, we would like to thank you for your visit and review that you posted. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you can visit Traverse City and the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The building's cornerstone lists construction dates of 1929-1930 and the hotel has done a great job at preserving its charm in the lobby area while bringing its rooms into the modern era. While small, the room we enjoyed had modern amenities and a lovely bay view. The bathroom was still somewhat dated (haven't seen a sun lamp in a while) but clean and serviceable. Desk staff during checkout Thursday a.m. was merely perfunctory. The hotel's main forte is its location, a perfect distance to Front Street, the linchpin of Traverse City's very walkable downtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We appreciate your recent stay at the hotel and your review. We always hope that travelers will return to the hotel in the future and hope you do the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location is great...within walking distance to restaurants, shopping, beach, etc.
Check in was a bit slow & front desk staff not too friendly or caring. Room was quiet and comfortable, but a bit dated. Nice view front the lounge on the 10th floor; but we received poor service.

Room Tip: Go for the tower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your visit to the Park Place Hotel and are sorry if the staff did not make you feel welcome. We always want every guest to feel special and will continue to do our best. Your comments do make a difference as we review them and learn what we can do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

You don't need 200 characters to describe the Park Place hotel because it was simply a perfect place to unwind, rest and enjoy Traverse City. The staff that I encountered was friendly and accommodating . My room 409 was clean. The bathroom was wonderfully lit and had plenty of counter space and a heater if you are cold natured like me. The water was hot for my showers and very consistent . I had a microwave and refrigerator and a very comfortable bed. I did not have a lake view but loved the huge window and brightness of the room.
I did not have the opportunity to enjoy the hotel's restaurant or bar because we spent our day enjoying wonderful Traverse City which is just outside the doors of this very comfortable hotel. I will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your visit to the hotel and your comments. We hope that you can visit us again if you ever visit Traverse City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanesville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Checked in Sat August 3, 2013
Hotel Desk Staff Friendly
Sunday - no one came to clean the room - finally late in the evening I called and asked for towels, toiletries and coffee packet. No apology from desk OR housekeeping.
Is this the service I should get for a $279.00 room including tax?

Good - Beds are very nice and comfortable. The room was quiet and I did not hear any noise from adjacent rooms

Bathtubs small and the shower curtain tends to attach to the body. Water pressure - well, let's say we are conserving water. The toiletries are made in china. I hope the hotel will feature some Michigan or American made products in the future.

The room had fingerprints on windows..

Checked out on Thursday. We did not dine in the restaurant.

The hotel is within very convenient walking distance to shops and restaurants.

The desk staff WAS very helpful with directions and information. This is a historic hotel from the 1930's. Not a cookie-cutter hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel we would like to thank you for your visit to the hotel and your comments. We can investigate further if you would like to contact the hotel regarding your issues, but appreciate your thorough review and hope that you can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Found the front desk staff ( especially the manager) to be uncaring and abrupt. They have little or no concern for guests. There for business and they are not responsive to concerns of the group.
Beds are great for Good sleep quality. Housekeeping staff wonderful. Rooms are older but have good heating and cooling. TV is up to date. First floor staff just has that tourist city attitude of take it or leave it.

Room Tip: Try to get higher up for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We would like to thank you for your visit to the hotel and your response. We always strive to make sure every guest feels welcome and we are sorry if we did not do so in your case. We hope that you can visit us in the future if you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.