We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Santa Monica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Park Place is the only hotel right in downtown Traverse City. We've been staying there for years with our kids. It's a little pricey for an older place, but they work hard on the upkeep. We stay in the older section, the tower, with a corner bayview, and it still is really nice even if some of the furniture is a bit shabby. The downtown is wonderful and you can walk to every kind of restaurant and brewpub. The hotel restaurant is good, and the bar at the top of the tower has the best views in the city. Now that the kids are older, we get a connecting room with two queens. The room is small with little view, but they were happy with the big TV, and it's nice to find connecting rooms. WiFi was a bit unstable. Passable workout room, and nice older indoor pool under a dome. Get a room on the 6, 7 or 8th floor, so your view isn't blocked completely by the relatively new city parking structure. The newer, lower wing apparently just got new beds, but we've never stayed there.

Room Tip: High floor, request bayview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
While the hotel is in a great location, our main goal is providing the best service to our guests and that we can continue to make their visit memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    110
    68
    42
    22
See reviews for
45
116
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a great experience on our weekend stay. We wanted to upgrade our hotel on this trip since we were participating in the Glen Arbor Solstice Half Marathon. We had a corner room in the tower which gave us a wonderful view of the city and bay.

Rooms were very clean and modern. The hotel is old but is well maintained and definitely has character. The staff is very friendly and professional.

Highly recommend drinks in the lounge on the top floor. The view is awesome. Also the restaurant is very good and again the staff is very helpful.

We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a corner room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are pleased that you had a great stay at the hotel and hope that your next visit includes a stay again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I don't usually write reviews for hotels, as I don't often complain about what we get, but we paid a premium to stay here, and our experience was very disappointing. The location is convenient and views of bay are nice, but accommodations were unsatisfactory. Friends were having wedding a reception here, so we stayed because rooms were blocked off by the couple. First of all, the room we had was so small and poorly laid out, you could not walk past one another in the room without stepping aside for passage. Next the bathroom size and layout was ridiculously small, even just for one person to be in there- no counter space and you were competing with the door to just get in front of the sink. And there wasn't any bathroom ventilation fan so it steamed up with each shower. There was only 1 mirror in the hotel room (the bathroom) and no full length mirror at all. The sliding closet doors kept falling off the tracks and we couldn't get them back on- so it blocked use of the closet. There was no fan control on the HVAC, so it was blowing high at one extreme or the other. Finally, the elevators were extremely slow. In general, the rooms are clean but in need of fixture updates and general room layout improvements.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Since the hotel is historic, room size is one feature that cannot be changed. However, we will investigate the other issues and see if we can improve upon those.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I will have to admit I was a bit nervous after reading some of the reviews but this Hotel was great! We were greeted right away by a friendly worker when checking in. We had bid for this hotel on Priceline ($70) and they said that usually when you bid they give you a Pet friendly room in the older section but because they had openings and we didn't have pets they put us on the 5th floor in the Tower. Nice bright room, very clean. Corner room with views of the Bay. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a little order but had granite countertops and served its purpose. Room had mini fridge and microwave. Bed was comfortable. The best thing about this hotel was the location. This is the only hotel right downtown Traverse City. All the other hotels you would have to drive to the downtown area so this was perfect for us so that we could walk around, get dinner, walk to the beach and never have to get in our car.

Make sure if you stay here you enjoy a cocktail at the Beacon Bar which is at the top level of the hotel. Gorgeous views of the Bay. They have a great Happy Hour from 5-6. Also a Piano player at night.

For the price we paid we thought it was a great value and will definitely stay here again and we recommend to others. This is not a new modern hotel but is older and has a lot of character.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are always happy to hear of guest's having a great stay with us and we strive everyday to make those memories for everone. Thank you for your review and hope to see you in the furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have stayed in Traverse City many times, but never at this property before. What a wonderful experience. Check in was great - gave us a larger corner room without us asking. Room was small, but cozy, and all we needed for the two of us. Still had a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. Bathroom was also small, but functional. Only drawback was that we went to Minerva's for breakfast on Memorial Day Monday, and they had already stopped serving at 10:30 a.m. Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate your recent and comments regarding your stay. We hope you can visit the hotel soon and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Park Place many times. I prefer the original part of the hotel which has old world charm. The rooms are beautiful and the Bay view is amazing. I have also stayed in the newer (west) side and enjoyed the spacious room size. Always clean, plenty of towels and if you have any problem at all the front desk staff is right there ready to help. I travel a great deal and always seem to have problems with comfortable beds and at the Park Place I have no complaints at all in this area. I enjoy the Top of the Park Lounge for wonderful drinks and incredible view! Minerva's Restaurant always has a large and varied menu to satisfy the most discriminating tastes. Don't miss the gift shop! The eclectic selection is amazing. The owner is a true gentleman. I have spoken to him many times and truly amazed as he is in his 90's, sharp as a tack and just as sweet as can be. His daughter is cannot do enough to help you and is so gracious.
In the many times I have stayed here I have not had any problems with the staff. They have been courteous, helpful in recommendations for shopping and restaurants, directions, any issues you may have with your stay. The only rough time was with reservations as they just recently updated their reservation department and now are able to keep your profile on file.
This is not a chain hotel. If you want the chain hotel feel this is not for you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty in being a returning guest and would like to thank you for your comments. We look forward to your return visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best things about this small hotel in Traverse City are the location, the indoor pool, Minerva's Restaurant and last, but not least, Top of the Park lounge! The best view of the Grand Traverse Bay is had here and the "stylings" of singers and musicians are on the traditional and jazzy side. There's always an enthusiastic crowd of chic townies and tourists burning the midnight oil and tripping the light fantastic. But the very best part for us is sipping a cocktail while looking at the sparkling halo of lights forming a crescent around the Bay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We would like to thank you for your visit to the Beacon Lounge and hope your can return soon. The Beacon Lounge is open to the general public for those 21 and older to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.