We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We spent one night here and really enjoyed it. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the staff was helpful. We had a room on the 8th floor overlooking downtown and the bay. It was gorgeous. The room was very large. I thought the decor was nice and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom decor was a bit outdated, but honestly, how much time do you spend in the bathroom anyway. They have a large pool/gym area. The pool is nice and big, but the area is looking a little rundown. The hotel is just a block off of Front St. so it's the perfect location for exploring the downtown. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit to the hotel and hope that if you do return to Traverse City, you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    94
    47
    34
    19
See reviews for
37
97
5
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A fine dining restaurant is needed in this establishment and windows and/or insulation needed in the rooms and bathrooms. Freezing in the winter. Bathroom floor was fridgid and in order to stay warm in the bedroom, we needed to close the bathroom door and stuff a bath towel under the door to keep out the draft. Our room faced the bay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent visit and comments. The Park Place does have several updates coming to the hotel in 2013 to improve our guest's comfort and we look forward to another great year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I make several trips a year to Traverse City and I always try to book a room at the Park Place Hotel. It's downtown location makes it an ideal place to say to experience all that TC has to offer. Restaurants, shops, the lake, etc. are all with in an easy walk. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. I prefer the historic wing to the "newer" wing. The rooms are small but clean and well maintained. Definitely my favorite place to stay in Traverse City!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We most certainly appreciate your recent stay at the hotel and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We hosted a cocktail party in their Courtyards rooms for our wedding. It was great for us to be able to use the courtyard space and the conference rooms. Food and drinks were reasonably priced. Staff were very attentive and packed up the leftovers for us.

We also stayed in their King Suite for our wedding night, and the room had great views and a fantastic bathtub with water jets. Room service was excellent. The rooms are a little smaller than your typical hotel room, but it didn't make much difference to us. A gorgeous hotel in a location that can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel, we would like to thank you for your visit and your review here. We look forward to your return visit the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midland, mi
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Te wife and I stayed one night here. We wanted to explore the downtown area on foot and this is the only hotel that would allow this. Bed was comfortable, room was average, but had everything we needed. Bathroom was dated but clean. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it was packed on Saturday night. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent at the hotel. We hope that when you return to Traverse City, you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is wonderfully located in the downtown area but is in need of basic updating in the rooms. The scent of cleaning supplies was overwhelming and if you had any kind of sensitivity you might have a problem. The bathroom mirror was in need of reglazing, the wallpaper was starting to peel and the tub was beyond description as it appeared to have been resurfaced and was peeling in many spots, most unappealing. Even though we had requested a certain wing of the hotel (by phone) they had not processed our request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
On behalf of The Park Place Hotel, we would think to thank you for your recent visit to the hotel. Beginning this year, the hotel is switching to different cleaning products, which should reduce the smell described above. All bathubs are scheduled to be refinished this year, along with other improvements to further upgrade the guest experience for our visitors this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is an older hotel but the rooms are very nice clean and updated. The shower was horrible. The water temp would go from cold to hot to cold to hot without me touching the temp settings at all. I had to dash in and out of the shower to rense off. The workout equipment was seriously from the 1980's. very used but it worked. The pool had green algae all over the base of the windows. Very gross! Not sure why management doesn't notice that and power wash it. If your looking just for a room then this is a great spot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
The Park Place Hotel is appreciative of your stay here and the comments written. The health club equipment is inspected and maintained on a regular basis, but due to a recent equipment failure, excess moisture in the pool area resulted in the problem noted above. This issue has been resloved and we are soory that is was not taken care of during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place
Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list