We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Park Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Northern Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Park Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My favorite place to stay while in Traverse City- the historic Park Place. I checked in at 4pm and preferred a high floor but the room wasn't ready, however they had a corner king room on the 5th floor. No problem!

The room was nicely appointed, very comfortable bed, large bathroom and best of all two large windows. One had a view of downtown and the bay, the other over the pool.

I had an early dinner at Minerva's, the hotels signature restaurant. They were having a special Octoberfest menu do I had the chicken rolled in smashed pretzels. Yum! I should have ordered the mustard on the side because I'm not a huge mustard fan, however the waiter was fantastic and the meal was very good. I took my dessert to go and put it in my room refrigerator.

I then visited the pool and the Beacon lounge on the 9th floor. Gorgeous views of the peak fall color.

Back at the room, the only problem I saw was sheer contact like paper on the bathroom windows. For a nice hotel that is subpar.

Had breakfast the next morning- at Minerva's and had oatmeal and toast and excellent coffee. Again, fantastic waiter which I especially appreciate.

I had a wonderful stay as always.
PS: a nice hot bath, the remote and my dessert in bed was a great bit of me time!! Thanks Park Place!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are always welcoming new and return guests and are glad your experience was such a memorable one. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    117
    71
    42
    22
See reviews for
45
128
5
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Molokai, Hawaii
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The service at the Park Place Hotel was friendly and efficient. The hotel couldn't be in a better location. You can walk to all of the shopping along Front Street. I'm stumped by some of the negative reviews of this hotel. I had a great stay. My room looked out on the lake and the town. It was comfortable and well-appointed. Get a room in the tower for the best stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has the best location you could ask for when visiting downtown TC. It is located one block away from the popular Front Street shopping district. It was perfect! As for the hotel, it is a bit dated but then again it is a historic building. We had a room in the historic tower on the 8th floor. The room was nice with a good view. No complaints there. What needed some attention was the pool area. We went to the pool on a Sunday evening. We were the only ones there. There was no attendant, even though there was a desk area that looked like an attendant should have been there. You enter the pool area through the locker rooms. There were 2 bathrooms in there, one door didn't lock and the other didn't even have a door handle let alone a lock. The pool was nice, heated. The hot tub wasn't working properly. No sign as to how to operate the hot tub, which was tricky. Even then, only two jets worked and one was directly below a wad of gum that was smeared on the side. The cement on the sears was chipped. Not a great place to relax. All in all, we will stay here again because of the great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Park Place and appreciate your review. We hope that in the future you will visit us when you return to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville , MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at The Park Place a few times! We love that it is with-in walking distance of downtown! Our room this year was clean and updated considering it is an older hotel! The rates were the best we could find for any hotel close to downtown! Also, they don't have a 2 night minimum. Some of the hotels we checked into still had a 2 night minimum in the off season. Also, their penthouse bar, The Beacon, is incredible! It is very dark and gives an amazing view of the Traverse City area! It is very small with a capacity of only 45, which makes it that much better. They had a guy playing piano and he was pretty good! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the historic tower/ king room! Our best room to date!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are always striving to achieve a great guest experience and are happy that we met your expectations. We hope that you return to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in a junior sweet and it had a lovely view with a patio (too cold to use this trip). Nice bedding and decor, although the low ceiling and bland paint job show some age. The bathroom is a bit small. It is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown (probably the most conveniently located hotel downtown). The staff is always very helpful. This is our go to property in Traverse City.

Room Tip: Just blocks from everything the gorgeous little town has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your visit to the hotel and your review. We look forward to your next visit to Traverse City and the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Although the hotel and location are nice, the room we stayed in the tower was extremely small. For the price we paid, location and convenience were the only thing worth the high price tag of the Park Place. This would have to be one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was also small and is not large enough for two people to get ready in. Also, not enough outlets in the room, at least none that were easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel we would like to thank you for visiting the hotel and your review here. The hotel is historic and, therefore, we are unable to address the room size, but we hope that you will return to visit Traverse City and the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Mich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my first time to this hotel. I read all the reviews on TA before I booked this trip. My wife and I stayed there Sept.30th thru Oct. 4th for our 24th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a perfect location with in walking distance to everything. I heard how old the hotel is and how the view from certain rooms are not very good. Also read how rude the staff was. I did not find any of these issues during our stay. The staff was wonderful. Our room was immaculate when we returned from shopping and wine tasting. We had a room on the old side of the hotel. We over looked a roof thru one window and the pool thru another window. By the time we made it back to the room it was dark out anyways so it was no big deal. The pipes did rattle for a few seconds when the water in the shower went from cold to hot, and the bathroom was a little out dated but things like that don't really matter to me. The room was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. We did have some drinks in the bar one night in the penthouse. The bar is very small but we loved it. We go to Traverse City a couple times a year and always try different places. We will absolutely be back at the Park Place primarily because of the perfect location and how nice the room and staff were. We booked the room thru the hotel website and saved some money booking it online.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are always gratified when guests of The Park Place Hotel have enjoyed their stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your retrun stay when you visit Traverse City again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.