We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated but Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A bit dated but Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel has the best location you could ask for when visiting downtown TC. It is located one block away from the popular Front Street shopping district. It was perfect! As for the hotel, it is a bit dated but then again it is a historic building. We had a room in the historic tower on the 8th floor. The room was nice with a good view. No complaints there. What needed some attention was the pool area. We went to the pool on a Sunday evening. We were the only ones there. There was no attendant, even though there was a desk area that looked like an attendant should have been there. You enter the pool area through the locker rooms. There were 2 bathrooms in there, one door didn't lock and the other didn't even have a door handle let alone a lock. The pool was nice, heated. The hot tub wasn't working properly. No sign as to how to operate the hot tub, which was tricky. Even then, only two jets worked and one was directly below a wad of gum that was smeared on the side. The cement on the sears was chipped. Not a great place to relax. All in all, we will stay here again because of the great location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Park Place and appreciate your review. We hope that in the future you will visit us when you return to Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    99
    54
    35
    20
See reviews for
40
100
5
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville , MI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at The Park Place a few times! We love that it is with-in walking distance of downtown! Our room this year was clean and updated considering it is an older hotel! The rates were the best we could find for any hotel close to downtown! Also, they don't have a 2 night minimum. Some of the hotels we checked into still had a 2 night minimum in the off season. Also, their penthouse bar, The Beacon, is incredible! It is very dark and gives an amazing view of the Traverse City area! It is very small with a capacity of only 45, which makes it that much better. They had a guy playing piano and he was pretty good! We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We loved the historic tower/ king room! Our best room to date!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are always striving to achieve a great guest experience and are happy that we met your expectations. We hope that you return to the hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in a junior sweet and it had a lovely view with a patio (too cold to use this trip). Nice bedding and decor, although the low ceiling and bland paint job show some age. The bathroom is a bit small. It is conveniently located within walking distance of downtown (probably the most conveniently located hotel downtown). The staff is always very helpful. This is our go to property in Traverse City.

Room Tip: Just blocks from everything the gorgeous little town has to offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your visit to the hotel and your review. We look forward to your next visit to Traverse City and the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Although the hotel and location are nice, the room we stayed in the tower was extremely small. For the price we paid, location and convenience were the only thing worth the high price tag of the Park Place. This would have to be one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in. The bathroom was also small and is not large enough for two people to get ready in. Also, not enough outlets in the room, at least none that were easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel we would like to thank you for visiting the hotel and your review here. The hotel is historic and, therefore, we are unable to address the room size, but we hope that you will return to visit Traverse City and the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Mich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was my first time to this hotel. I read all the reviews on TA before I booked this trip. My wife and I stayed there Sept.30th thru Oct. 4th for our 24th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a perfect location with in walking distance to everything. I heard how old the hotel is and how the view from certain rooms are not very good. Also read how rude the staff was. I did not find any of these issues during our stay. The staff was wonderful. Our room was immaculate when we returned from shopping and wine tasting. We had a room on the old side of the hotel. We over looked a roof thru one window and the pool thru another window. By the time we made it back to the room it was dark out anyways so it was no big deal. The pipes did rattle for a few seconds when the water in the shower went from cold to hot, and the bathroom was a little out dated but things like that don't really matter to me. The room was beautiful and the bed was comfortable. We did have some drinks in the bar one night in the penthouse. The bar is very small but we loved it. We go to Traverse City a couple times a year and always try different places. We will absolutely be back at the Park Place primarily because of the perfect location and how nice the room and staff were. We booked the room thru the hotel website and saved some money booking it online.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are always gratified when guests of The Park Place Hotel have enjoyed their stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your retrun stay when you visit Traverse City again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012. The hotel was ok but we felt needed a bit of up dating. The rooms were a bit dull and tired but very clean. The hotel bar and restaurant was good. Food was good but not great. The bar area was lively and there were plenty of televisions if your into your sport so that was good for us. Hotel is in a prime location for getting about Traverse City.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay at the Park Place Hotel. The hotel has made several updates this year-new flat screen tvs, furniture, microwaves and beds. The hotel has additional plans next year to increase our guest experience with additional updates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Location was the best for walking downtown to the shops, restaurants, and bars. Check in and check out was easy. Used the gym.....very outdated equipment but you can get by with what they have. Front desk clerk, Stacy was very helpful and pleasant. Gave us umbrellas one night it was raining and pointed us in the direction of some late night food and also arranged transportation there. Rooms are fine, nothing special, but clean and comfortable. Ate on the top floor restaurant and sat at the bar. Bartender was super nice and personable....suggested the Spanish Coffee, and it was fantastic. Overall, a very nice stay and I would recommend this hotel if you want to be in the city limits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Park Place Hotel. Your comments are appreciated and we hope that you will return to the hotel the next ime you visit Traverse City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.