We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Staff Not the Greatest Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Place Hotel to your Saves list
Park Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Lima, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location & Staff Not the Greatest Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for the last weekend of the Cherry Festival and I can't say enough positive things about the convenient location of this hotel. The property itself is clean, well maintained and had a terrific staff. There are two parts to this hotel, one being the historic main hotel building and the other an elevated 3 floor extension. Our room was in the three floor extension and it was nice but not high end. The beds were old and lumpy and the AC struggled to keep the room cool. The public areas are clean, comfortable and surprisingly their pool was in amazing condition.

One note for travelers that are concerned about security...this hotel is not secured. There is no key card entry required for perimeter doors and the pool, which is attached to the hotel via walkway, can be accessed by anyone. While I was there a group of teen age boys either from TC or another hotel gained access making me uncomfortable enough to leave and ultimately trashed the pool and sauna area. The hotel staff was concerned and responsive but this could be avoided by requiring key card for entry.

Overall I would stay again but only for the location. The value of the hotel itself does not warrant the $300+ a night room rate during peak season.

Room Tip: North facing rooms on higher floors in the main hotel are the ticket to a perfect stay here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and suggestions. Since your review, the hotel does have new mattresses, TVs and furniture and are reviewing our security procedures to see if changes can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    110
    68
    41
    22
See reviews for
44
116
5
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgman, Michigan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great views, at least from the 5th floor, and I'm assuming everything above the 5th floor is as great and better. Stayed during the Cherry Festival- what a great location, walking distance to everything you need. The hotel is located in town and a few blocks from the beach and parks. The bar on the top floor was wonderful, great music and fun atmosphere. Room had a frig and microwave.

Room Tip: 5th floor had nice views of the city and bay- assuming any floor above 5 has the same or better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We would like to thank you for visiting the Park Place Hotel and your review. We look forward when you visit Traverse City again and the Park Place Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great setting for a family trip. The room was big enough with two sinks and two double beds. Even loved the balcony. Easy walking distance to everything. The kids loved the pool and being able to play the piano in the lobby. Would definitely come back to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Traverse City and to the Park Place Hotel. We hope that you will return soon and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Park Place for three week-nights as a getaway destination for relaxation. Our King-bed, Bay-view room was nice, and was clean and updated well (though the closet and hall entryway had drop ceilings, which was odd). The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows, and the bathroom had a new sink and counter tops. I understand that some of the quirks of the room were due to it's age, but the worst had to be the shower head in the very high step-over bathtub; I am 6' tall and had to crank the shower head all the way "up" just to get it to hit me in the chest! The shower head itself was a CHEAP plastic replacement that barely threw any water, and the pressure was poor as well. The room had basic cable on a decent flat-screen but the reception was poor (no big deal..we weren't there to watch TV). The hotel was WiFi equipped, but internet connections were SLOW and frequently dropped, even in the main lobby with the lobby network selected.

Which brings me to the title of my review...

While the Park place was a charming hotel, and nicely situated in the heart of Traverse City, the value aspect was just NOT there. We paid $200 per night, and given the level of service that we received, we felt a bit cheated (an indifferent, somewhat icy attitude by the entire staff, including the front desk, no Continental breakfast (complimentary coffee only), sliver sized "bar" of soap in the bathroom, an old pizza box and room service tray that was left in the hall by our door for two nights before being picked up). If the room were $125 per night, no problem, but, at $200, a few of the aforementioned missing amenities should have been there. Finally, a visit to the top-floor lounge for a sunset cocktail overlooking West Bay was a joke, as the number of seats available was clearly insufficient for the number of patrons that showed up. The lounge was in sore-need of an update (bad carpeting, cheesy-looking bar, ratty shades on the windows), and a "piano bar" in one corner of the room was vacant and took up a ton of space that could have been used for additional seating. We ordered food, which was good, but the service was slow. Finally, the room felt claustrophobic, as it had only one entry point with a single floor fan blowing the air around. Not a very pleasant experience.

Overall, the Park Place was nice, but in order to improve on their "niceness", management should consider dropping their rates a bit, or offering a few more amenities to help make their patrons feel as though they really are worth the price that they are paying. We would probably not stay there again.

Room Tip: Bay view is nice, but you have to look over a bunch of rooftops and around some of the taller buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
On behalf of the Park Place Hotel we do appreciate your visit to Traverse City and to the hotel. The hotel does updates every year and have more planned for next year. While the hotel cannot do anything in regards to the size of it's rooms or the Beacon Lounge, we do value any suggestions guests do give us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Park Place's location downtown can't be beat. You are walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants, Clinch Park beach/zoo and other downtown Cherry Festival activities. Minerva's restaurant has good food and surprisingly reasonable prices for a hotel restaurant. It also has a nice bar area to hang out in between activities. It was a great place for breakfast/brunch and we also enjoyed a dinner there, although you really want to take advantage of all the great restaurants downtown for dinner. My wife and teenage daughter loved the gift shop, it was a very unique mix of vintage antique like items and other more eclectic area gifts and food items that fit well with the history of this old hotel. I was also shocked by how reasonable the prices were at the gift shop. All the employees were welcoming, attentive and provided great service.

The downside is that this is an old hotel. The rooms are smaller than you would expect and the bathroom is tiny. It has a heated indoor pool and a serviceable workout area but it all could use some renovation. We had a "larger" double queen room with three adults and one teenager and were pretty cramped. They had a table and two chairs in the room that were pushed to the side and should have just been removed altogether to free up the floor space. The balcony is small but if you face the bay (as we did) it was great for the fireworks or just taking in the views.

I still think it is a very good hotel overall and would stay there again. I think the higher price relative to other area hotels is well worth it because of the location, service and other amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms in the West Wing are larger than the tower (the tower is the original hotel, the west wing was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
We would like to thank your for visiting Traverse City and the Park Place Hotel. While the hotel is historic, the hotel has undergone many updates this year-new beds, flat screen TVs and furniture. We always strive to enhance ou guest's experience and will continue to do so in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. On arrival reception staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment. Location was great with everything on the doorstep. The cost is pricey but this is what you have to pay if you want to stay downtown. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplace1, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Park Place Hotel and your review. We are glad that you chose the Park Place and hope you will visit us again when you visit Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, MI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is old you can tell, but it's still pretty nice. The pool area was HOT, but it was about 95 degrees outside. The location can't be beat as it's downtown. We brought bikes and there was a place to park them that was covered. The check-out front desk employee was less-than-friendly, but efficient. While you're there check out the bar on the 10th floor, it's got a wonderful view, but it's pretty small. The price of these rooms can be somewhat off-putting but also consider the parking is included and downtown parking can add up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We appreciate your response here and glad that you visited the Park Place Hotel. We look forward to your next visit the next time you come to Traverse City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Address: 300 East State Street, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Traverse City
Hotel Park Place

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.