We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neahtawanta Inn

Neahtawanta Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neahtawanta Inn
Save Saved
You added Neahtawanta Inn to your Saves list
1308 Neahtawanta Road, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Blue Mounds, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Go to their website. Read it. It is exactly as described. Bob & Sally have put themselves into the Neahtawanta Inn & it reflects their hospitality, taste, & love perfectly. They are attentive & friendly hosts without intruding. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, cozy place to not just sleep but hang out, this the place. Yes it's a bit off the beaten path but that's why you stay there. The breakfasts were unique, completely homemade, and delicious. They even gave us deal on a different room when our first choice was taken. Our only regret is that is far enough from central WI to keep us from visiting more often.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Getting away and going Up North in Michigan, can be hectic and anything but relaxing. A stay at The Neahtawanta Inn is a great way to experience the beauty of Michigan in any season.
We've stayed at the Inn about a dozen times, in every season and always enjoy returning. The rooms are pretty, clean and green. The innkeepers, Sally and Bob are dedicated environmentalists and used recycled products and organic soaps and cleaning products at the Inn as well as solar powered hot water. The Inn is well-cared for and loved.
They also make a wonderful breakfast and amazing coffee.
The Inn itself is spacious with a big porch, beach, dining room, library and living room. Even when the Inn is full, it doesn't seem crowded.
Sally and Bob are wonderful hosts and do their best to make people feel welcome. They're very knowledgeable about the Old Mission Peninsula area and offer good ideas about things to do and events around town.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are always nice, the accessible room on the first floor is great for people w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

The Neahtawanta Inn is a historic Victorian Inn that is perfect in every way. Owners Sally an Bob are wonderful hosts -- kind, gentle, generous, and supportive but never intrusive. The Inn has its own beach and the jewel-toned water (the colors of the Carribean!) is clear and refreshing for swimming. Breakfasts are organic and farm-to-table, emphasizing the delicious local fruit -- apricots, cherries, and berries -- as well as Bob's scrumptious recipes for pancakes with local maple syrup or egg casserole and Sally's incredible homemade whole wheat toast with local preserves. There are always fresh flowers from the garden on the breakfast table and being there is like going back in time to the Inn's early days. We return every year and look forward all year to the magic, calming atmosphere of the Inn. Try one of Sally's excellent outdoor morning yoga classes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

My wife and I took a much needed vacation to Traverse City and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The atmosphere in this inn is so very relaxing. Everyone involved in running the inn were friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and available when needed. The food was great, creative, and well prepared. The location was perfect. We spent our last morning watching the sunrise over Lake Michigan while sitting in two comfortable (and colorful) chairs on their pier. If you're looking for a relaxing get away in a beautiful spot, go here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I love this place. Suffice it to say that my wife and I live in Michigan and we have decided that for as long as we stay here, we will go to Neahtawanta once or twice a year, every year. These are about the only times we will ever stay in a hotel in Michigan. In other words, it's the one and only place we will go.

I like it because the location is perfect; Sally and Bob are wonderful hosts; it's spotlessly clean; it's extremely relaxed and feels just like home. It's nicely decorated but not foofy as some B&Bs are -- it's just a normal place and I love it.

Room Tip: They're all nice - depends on what you want. Ask Sally and Bob's advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I had one of my favorite summer vacations at the Neahtawanta Inn, hosted by Bob and Sally - a super friendly and kind couple whose positive spirit and love for this beautiful area make it a really special experience. Breakfast is fresh and tasty with local berries, the large house is cozy and beautifully appointed in a country fashion. Out the back door, you're on a beautiful shaded lawn for a picnic lunch overlooking the water - WARM clear water! We launched kayaks from their dock, swam and played in the sun. We felt so at home - like it was our house! There's an option to have a yoga class out under the trees! Nearby are lovely restaurants with excellent food. I'd go back in a second - in fact I DREAM of going back!

Room Tip: Every room is different. Some rooms have extra beds for kids, and there is a suite with a kitchenett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally V, Owner at Neahtawanta Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Providing a peaceful, relaxing place for our guests to enjoy themselves in a natural setting is our top priority in running the Inn. We are so happy when our guests are happy and drinking in the beauty of woods and water that surround the Inn. We are happy to give advice as to what to see and do in the area; we are also aware that sometimes people are looking for solitude and quiet so we give people their own space when that seems appropriate.
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here.
Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

As a family, we were looking for a place in Northern Michigan to get away for a few, peaceful days. We went on-line and searched "Vegetarian B & B" and this was the only place that popped up. The Inn was JUST what we were looking for! I am so glad that we found this place... and I am sure we will return in the future! The Innkeepers were friendly and welcoming. The Inn was peaceful, quiet and clean. The living room has a very large fireplace with an awesome sitting area. My family enjoyed reading and visiting around the wood-burning fire. In the evening, we watched the sunset on the beach. In the morning we saw the sunrise from our room. Breakfast was made Vegan (by our request) and it was delicious!!! Freshly made bread, fresh fruits quinoa and more! My husband, who is not vegetarian also loved the breakfast. By the way, everyone in my family has allergies to animal dander, but the Inn is kept so clean that this was not an issue.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite. We had 2 bedrooms, a kitchenette, a sitting area and a bathroom. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neahtawanta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neahtawanta Inn

Address: 1308 Neahtawanta Road, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neahtawanta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.