We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way past it's prime.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Four Seasons

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Four Seasons to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Four Seasons
305 Munson Avenue (US 31), Traverse City, MI 49686-3069   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Jemez Springs, NM
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Way past it's prime.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel needs to be updated starting with the mattresses. Sleeping on a hard flat mattress does not make vacation very fun. Tiny space for four people. Rooms were kind of dark and the "table runner" on the beds is kind of cheap. Not enough money to put on a nice cover I guess. I would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay. I appreciate your taking the time to write and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced.

I am disappointed we failed to give you the fine accommodations and consideration we strive for with all our guests - the type of service we pride ourselves in. If you could let me know what room you stayed in, either via email, russ@traversecitylodging.com, or call 888-499-3060, then I could take the steps to ensure that the issues you experienced do not happen again.

We appreciate your staying with us and hope you will give us another opportunity next time you are in Traverse City to make amends. I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one as we illustrate that what happened to you was an unfortunate exception to our normally high quality of service.

Sincerely,
Russ W. Cole
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    90
    42
    23
    16
See reviews for
94
160
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for a week while photographing fall color in the area. The rooms are nice (I had the two-story loft - very cool) and everything was very clean. The beds and pillows are some of the best I've encountered in a hotel. The only thing I could find wrong with it was that the TV remote had a somewhat weak signal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Dylan,
Thank you for sharing your story of your stay with us during your trip photographing the beautiful fall color we've had and continue to have, hopefully for another week. Northwest Michigan puts on quite a show of color and it draws a lot of people north to see it. We would love to see some of your fall color photos on our Facebook page, www.Facebook.com/bwfourseasons!

I'm delighted to read you enjoyed the loft rooms with a big jetted tub, they are a very unique room and one of our most popular out of the 10 different styles. I will pass on your comments with our staff to read, knowing it will be an inspiration to continue to provide "heroic hospitality" to all our guests. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in Traverse City. Best Regards, Russ W. Cole, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was extremely impressed with the operation of this hotel. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, we were as comfortable as we have ever been. The people at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. I love being greeted by a smiling face. They really seemed happy to have us. Upon entering the room, everything was setup very nicely. Even the clock radio had been turned on and was softly playing which told me that they pay attention to the smallest details. Most hotels could care less about small things like this. We were not in the room for 30 minutes before we received a call from the front desk asking if everything was in order and if there was anything we needed. I have stayed in newer and fancier hotels, but I have never seen one that was as well managed as this one. We will certainly recommend this to anyone planning to go to the Traverse City area. As a matter of fact, we decided to return to the area on our return trip and spent an another night here. If we ever return, this is definitely where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ron,
Wow, what a glowing review! Our focus is to hit it out of the park like this all the time and I'm delighted to hear when we do. We work hard to be sure we pay attention to all the details. The soft music playing in the rooms and big smiles I feel just makes for a warm welcome, and yes they are genuine. Years ago I learned if you hire positive, upbeat, friendly, outgoing, energetic people, they will take great care of your guests. You can't train someone to have that personality, either they've got it or they don't. I'm very thankful we've filled our staff with such great people, as they not only make my job as general manager much easier, but they also ensure our guests feel like part of the family. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope you return soon! Russ W. Cole, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great place to stay. We stay there every fall during our annual leaf-peeking trip Michigan. Always find everything tob e just fine. Clean comfortable beds and a good breakfast. The grounds are nicely kept and the personnel always pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Gerald, we're delighted you returned to beautiful Traverse City in the fall to see all the color on the trees and stay with us again. We love to see our return guests, just like family coming to visit! Glad you had a great stay and we'll look forward to your return again, but keep in mind, our area is beautiful during the other seasons too! Best regards, Russ W. Cole, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in Sept 1, for one night. The front desk learned that we were there for our wedding, they decorated our room, and champagne, chocolates, very sweet. We definitely would like to go there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
I hope everyone had fun at the wedding and it was our pleasure to do something special for you during your stay. We look forward to your return visit and opportunity to give you the wow factor again! Best regards, Russ W. Cole, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Best Western in Traverse City was near shopping, beaches and restaurants. Very clean. Staff was hospitable and very knowledgeable with directions. More counter space needed in the bathroom area. Very nice amenities and good, full breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Pat and Ray, I apologize about the counter space, hopefully the next time you come for a visit you will see new granite sinks and expanded areas for your personal items. Room cleanliness I feel is priority #1 and our housekeeping department take this mandate very seriously. We inspect with black lights and UV sterilize all high touch areas as part of our I Care Clean program. I'm delighted we didn't disappoint you. We look forward to your return visit soon, best regards, Russ W. Cole, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a fun, quirky hotel. We stayed in a king whirlpool suite and it was wonderful. They had our comfort in mind all the way. We had the option of a pillow bar, the pool is open 24/7, very nice continental breakfast but above all the front desk staff were phenomenal.
It is located on the main drag which is a very busy road so there is a little road noise even though it is set back from the road a little.
We did have the problem of cigarette smoke wafting into our room through the balcony since the smoking area was just below our balcony window.

Room Tip: try and stay away from the smoking deck area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussWCole, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Jean! Thank you for taking time to share your review of our hotel, we appreciate your suggestions and compliments. We did move the smoking area out to the front yard and the very few who smoke on staff were reminded their smoke breaks need to be away from the rooms out in the parking lot or front yard. Thank you for reminding us why this is important. I'm very pleased to read our front desk staff did a phenomenal job of taking care of you during your stay. We work hard to deliver "heroic hospitality", especially being an older, "quirky" (love that word!) hotel we need to go that extra mile to wow our guests. I'm glad we did! Thank you and we look forward to your return visit soon, God bless and best regards, Russ W. Cole, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Four Seasons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Four Seasons

Address: 305 Munson Avenue (US 31), Traverse City, MI 49686-3069
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Traverse City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#12 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Traverse City, close to Munson Medical, downtown Traverse City, Old Mission Peninsula wineries and beaches. Best FREE Hot Breakfast in Traverse City, Deepest indoor pool in city 11ft open 24 hours, free breakfast room service, movie nights on 52" LCD TV for the kids, many new updates including 42" LCD High-Def TV's. Located just 1-1/2 miles from downtown. 2 Best of the Best Awards and 8 consecutive Chairman's Awards for excellence. Come check out our commitment to providing "Heroic Hospitality"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Four Seasons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Four Seasons Hotel Traverse City
Best Western 4 Seasons
Best Western Traverse City
Four Seasons Traverse City
Traverse City Best Western
Traverse City Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Four Seasons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.