We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mesa Grill

Red Mesa Grill
1544 U.S. 31 N, Traverse City, MI 49686
+1 231-938-2773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 261 Restaurants in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional Mexican and Latin American specialties served in a fun, lively and festive setting. Featuring the finest and largest selection of Tequila in the North and Michigan's best Margaritas.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very good food. Excellent margaritas. Lots of choices. Good portions. Lively music and great decor. Well done

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    106
    39
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Have the Churrasco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Walking up to the resturant we could smell meat being grilled outside and it smelled wonderful! Our server suggested the Churrasco, a plate of three different grilled meats, chicken, pork, and beef each served with their our special sauces. So good! Each dinner came with interesting side dishes. Pretty reasonable in price and lots of food. We loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had a party of 6 for lunch. For appetizers we ordered the armadillo eggs which were great and the black bean cakes which were nothing special. I ordered the black bean chicken burrito and thought it was very good. The waitress we had was nice but she needed to be faster. We waited about 20 minutes for her to take care of our bills.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Liked it so much, returned two days later”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I had one of the Latin specialties, a tuna dish with poblano sauce. Truly great stuff! Came with veggies, rice and black beans, so plenty to eat. We returned two days later and brought friends, who got the Mexican dishes instead of a Latin specialty. They also sang the food's praises.
Lively, fun place with lots of options, from burritos to gluten-free dishes. Magician beer was a hit with our group. The server and the menu explain the degrees of spiciness of the sauces and dishes, so pay attention if you don't like things too spicy. Will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Latin Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The meals and drinks can be expensive, but you receive a lot of food for the price and they have a happy hour. If you don't like spicy food, this is not the place for you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa Grill also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Red Mesa Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mesa Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.