We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sands Motel
1465 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Fremont, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beach wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My son and his lovely bride picked The Sands. We stayed the night and the rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. They provided a dinner afterwards and it was very good. It was "off season" however next summer my husband and I will return as they have many things to do here right on the property. Overall we will definately stay again!

Room Tip: Definately want upstairs the view is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    1
    4
    14
See reviews for
9
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I can only recommend The Sands Motel and we had great vacation staying there for three nights. We didn't even expect to have such a relaxing time in Traverse City, but it really felt like we were away from it all, and we extended our stay for another night even though we needed to move to the room next to us for the extra night. We will definitely be back! While this hotel might not be for everyone because it might not be sophisticated or professional enough for some people, we loved it there and did not want to leave. If you can look beyond the lack of basic maintenance like non-functioning bathroom fans, lose towel bars, ductape on torn window screens and other little things like that), and if the really busy and loud street that the motel is on does not bother you, you will have a great time here (no, I'm not being sarcastic).
When we arrived we were able to check in early and we loved the room because of its great view to the beach and bay. We had the Double Deluxe Room and for the little bit of extra money, this room was absolutely worth it. Acommondations are basic and clean, but the location on the beach and the personal service and hospitality makes up for anything else that might be lacking.
We used the free kajaks every day and also took the free bicyles for a ride once on the nearby trail (which was more like a maintenance road next the railroad tracks). You could walk or rather run across the street to a small deli store and quite a few different restaurants down the street.
Whenever we needed something we felt like the general manager Chris and everyone else who worked there went above and beyond to accomodate your needs in a very friendly and welcoming way. We enjoyed long walks on the beach and sitting by the fire at night with live music on the weekend. We even lit a small fire in the morning to have breakfast on the beach while watching the sunrise. They offer a good continental breakfast and you can use the grills outside if you want. We had such a great time and we will definitely be back!
Please note that when you look up this motel on Google Maps it will show in the wrong location. It is actually located directly on the beach East of the State park a couple hotels down the street.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get the double deluxe room upstairs at the end of the motel with two windows t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Last weekend my husband and I, along with some other friends had the pleasure of vacationing at the Sands Motel in Traverse City. We had an awesome time and the place is located right on the beautiful East Bay. We did some kayaking and enjoyed a nightly fire and meet some great people. The owner, Chris, was very nice and helpful as was all the staff. The place was clean and we could tell Chris had been busy adding special touches around the property to make it a pleasing and enjoyable place to hang outside. The Sands is centrally located and close to restaurants and town. We had a lovely time and would definitely recommend this place to others and can’t wait to go back next year. I am pretty sure this will turn out to be a yearly vacation site for us. Thank you Chris and all the staff for making our little get-a-way so wonderful! Donna

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Chris is the owner of this place and was a great host! Very personable, professional, helpful, kind, and very customer satisfaction oriented! Chris is the personality that makes the stay at the Sands in TC GREAT! The entire staff goes above and beyond the call of duty with all guest needs/wants, from parking to restaurant suggestions, asking if anyone needs anything from the store, etc. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU Rachel, Patrick, Chris, the live music, everything!
If I cant stay at the Sands I am not staying in TC! Period.

Room Tip: ask for Chris :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Sands Motel was a Great get-a-way! The staff was great-rooms, clean,with good rates! The view of lake breath taking! We cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrillville, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was my second stay at the Sands, Beautiful Beach, friendly and attentive staff, and Chris (the owner), could not be more helpful. I give The Sands a AAA+++++ rating, and if I visit Traverse City again, it will be the only place I stay.

Room Tip: All have great view of the Beach, better view upstairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 via mobile

The general manager, Chris, was very strange and seemed intoxicated every time we saw him. Our toilet didn't flush and when we told Chris about the problem he said he would fix it but when we came back it still wasn't flushing and they left the plunger in our room. So for the 3 nights we were there we had to plunge the toilet every time we used it. The rooms we older and smelled like smoke. The staff were all rude teenagers that cared more about being on the beach. I would not stay here again or recommend the motel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Motel

Also Known As:
The Sands Hotel Traverse City
Sands Hotel Traverse City
Address: 1465 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traverse City's best kept little secret for a motel on the beach of Grand Traverse East Bay. 21 cozy rooms with microwave, coffee pot, and refrigerator in them. Wireless net with continental breakfast in the summer time. Also, the only live streaming video of our beach and of east bay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Sands Motel to your Saves list