We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was good, so-so on the drinks..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Peak Brewing Company

North Peak Brewing Company
400 W Front St, Traverse City, MI 49684-2206
231-941-7325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Price range: $5 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
995 reviews 995 reviews
461 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 264 cities Reviews in 264 cities
2,091 helpful votes 2,091 helpful votes
“The food was good, so-so on the drinks..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My friend and I ate dinner here on a Friday night, during restaurant week. We were able to make reservations. We had a short wait. We were seated in a booth near the round bar. Very popular place, with a lot of locals. Loud, but were still able to carry on a conversation. Service was OK, average at best.

We ordered an appetizer: Eggroll Mozzarella Sticks--Rolled in egg roll skins with sundried tomatoes and garlic. Flash-fried and served with pesto ranch for dipping 8.50. We thought these were excellent and I would highly recommend them to anyone. Not your typical Mozzarella Sticks.

For dinner I thought I'd try one of their personal pizzas. The one I ordered was: Pesto Chicken--
Fresh basil pesto with grilled chicken, sundried tomatoes, mozzarella, parmesan and fresh spinach chiffonade 9.95. Again, it was excellent. I had to take some home in a box.

I had a Pena Colada and I didn't think it was very good. Fair, if that. My friend tried one of their ales that the waiter suggested and she thought is pretty good. Prices are fair, a varied menu. Parking lot is decent sized. Bathrooms were OK..could have been a bit cleaner. Location is very convenient near downtown TC.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    202
    60
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE WORTH A P E E K”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Really good beer ...People there are very nice ...All the food I have had there has been awsome..
Try the beer samp;er of the many beers they make right there...Burgers are awsome...RIBS very good ...they make their own sauce for the ribs ...TO DIE FOR...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Went here on a whim as there isn't a lot open on Sunday nights during the off season.

The atmosphere and service here are very good. And then came the food. The fish was fresh and very good (we tried the walleye) and the chicken was moist and tender.

This place is a little pricey ($15-20 per person unless you're getting sandwiches), but definitely worth a try when you're in Traverse City.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fun place, clean, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was the first time we had visited North Peak Brewing but it won't be the last. It was a nice experience all the way around. Clean. Good food. Reasonable prices. Cold, creative beer. The only downside was the waitress was a little slow and the plates - while fashionable - needed to be thought out a bit more. We would have preferred the waitress clear out some of the appetizer plates, for example, when our main meals came. A small criticism but it was kind of obvious we were hurting for space. And the plates themselves needed some more thought. We had the mussels, for example. The mussels themselves were pretty good. But the plates for shells and eating were tiny. The result was a huge mess on the table. You had the feeling no one who actually paired the plates to the food had actually used the combination in real life. In the end, these are minor quibbles. Overall it was a very pleasant experience and we'd go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible food, save your money and time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The menu is very small it need more American food and overall needs to have a signature dish like pizza or burgers. If your specialty is beer then just serve beer don't waste you time on trying to cook food

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike L, Manager at North Peak Brewing Company, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
North Peak has a wide variety of fantastic pizzas and burgers. Were you in Kilkenny's or North Peak. Not sure why you would say we don't have those items. Everyone loves our food. Please let me know why you thought we didn't have these items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Peak Brewing Company also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to North Peak Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Peak Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.