We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic food, memorable ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Stella

Trattoria Stella
1200 West 11th Street, Unit One, Suite One, Traverse City, MI 49684
231-929-8989
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Clare, Michigan, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic food, memorable ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I'm not much of a reviwer, but I had to say what an amazing place this is. The ambiance is dim, romantic, fairly quiet but not somber. The food, while pricey, is simply out of this world. Flavor combinations that sound quite strange on the menu, but when you taste it you just shut your eyes and go "oh my word, this is incredible". The portions are small for some things i thought, like the Scottish salmon (smoked raw salmon--no, it's not gross, it's awesome!) there wasn't that much there. For the price I thought they could've given about twice the portion (salmon is not hard to find resource). The meat (beef) dishes are just melt in your mouth with perfect char and grill flavor. The wines are extensive, the waitress knew to a "T" what wines had what qualities. We tried a bottle and didn't care for it so she took it back free and brought us another and her descriptions were spot on. Desert was great too, I think i had a tiramisou (spelling?) or similar and I wanted about 3 of them they were so good. Nothing here is typical restaurant quality, it's far above that. It's a place you go to when you want a really really NICE dinner out. This is not Applebees. All in all with dinner, a couple appetizers for us to split, and dessert i didn't leave hungry, and I have quite an appetite, especially for good food. This place is amazing. Thank goodness I live a couple hours away or I'd go broke eating their waygu filet mignon or their veal chop. Oh wow, the memories are back just from writing this!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    111
    41
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The ambiance was romantic. The price was a little steep for my particular meal. The waiter was exceptional!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My Italian Wife Loves This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We joined some dear friends for dinner with our children here as they recommended it after eating lunch. It is a wonderful, high end Italian restaurant with some twists on the standard fare and some unique and different preparations. We simply loved every single item and we shared a variety of appetizers and deserts. Great selection - something for everyone. The service, led by Stuart, was impeccable and achieved that perfect balance of just being there when you need. The setting (which we also enjoyed) is interesting being spread through several long rooms which tends to keep the noise manageable - you can hear everyone at your table and they had a round table for our group of six which aids the conversation. Highly recommended. Entrees from $15 to $27.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been several times. We like that the menu changes everyday and would recommend that you look it up on their website to see what is offered and how the menu is set up. The staff will explain the menu and make great recommendations. The food is fresh and very tasty. We make a least one visit when in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Twp
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“From the Field to your Table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As soon as you get your menu you will see a list of all the local farmers that helped to produce your extraordinary meal. The menu is changed regularly to take advantage of seasonal produce.
The food is great and cannot be stereotyped into a class of cuisine. Fresh and well prepared is their signature!

The service is attentive but not overwhelming. This restaurant would be comfortable in the Upper East side of NYC or the North Loop of Chicago, but without the high cost.

For private or intimate dining choose one of many alcoves that seat 4 people comfortably.
Well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Stella also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Trattoria Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Stella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.