We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn on the Bay
12068 S. West Bay Shore Drive, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Miami, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great spot to stay! Very Nice, clean and cozy rooms. Great private beach section. Just a few minutes away from the downtown area. A lot of good restaurants around and different things to do. Owners are very friendly, prices are comparably cheap. Free WiFi and Cable. Will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: If you travel with a family, choose a bigger cottages with 1-2 bedrooms, they have kitchens and livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been visiting our mom in Traverse for a couple years now and every time we stay at Anchors Inn on The Bay. I have to say the place is great! Location is awesome, is just 10 min away from downtown, where all the fun is (bars, restaurants, shopping, concerts, public beaches) another big plus- they are right on the bay and have their own little private beach! You can also rent kayak if you want for an additional. The hotel is very nice itself, we stayed at the few different rooms and you can find anything from small cottages (studio style) for a couple till the little nice 2-bedroom cottages with kitchen and living room.Huge kids playground and fire place right in front of the hotel. Also grills and picnic tables in front of each lil cottage! We had so much fun there! The hotel is very clean, maid service is every day (which we didnt expect, so it was nice to get back to the room and find a made bed). The owners, Sara & Jon, who run the hotel are very nice and friendly And they always on premises if you need anything!
Great experience, great place to stay. We recommend Anchor Inn on the Bay to everyone and we definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

First of all, Traverse City is an extremely nice vacation spot. The bays are absolutely perfect for all kinds of water activity. The city has an amazing variety of art, culture, and entertainment. Wine and Beer lovers will rejoice! There is an impressive collection of winery and brewery to choose from. The Anchor Inn boasts a relaxed family atmosphere at a reasonable price. The rooms are more like cabins near the beach than a typical modern hotel room. If you are looking for a clean, quiet place with fridge, microwave, (some have kitchens), picnic tables, Large fire-pit, room for the kids to play, BBQs, and private beach, this is the place for you. The owner's are very accommodating. The location is semi secluded, the grounds and buildings are maintained well. After two visits, one solo, one for family reunion, I can absolutely recommend this location to anyone visiting Traverse City.

If you have a group of people or a family, this is a great spot to get together and enjoy each others company.

Note: The beach is secluded and private but located across the street. (very short walk)

Room Tip: Rooms vary from family size with kitchens to double queen beds with micro and fridge. Be sure to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved the Anchor Inn! The bay is right across the street. Private setting with sand and a cozy fire pit. Kayaks available. Fridge, microwave and coffee in room. Parking right outside rooms. Plenty of channels to surf on the TV. Surrounded by trees. Cabins were cute and clean. Most comfortable. Owners were very pleasant. We will be back! Downtown Traverse City now far. Plenty of dinning in the area. Fun for all ages. We had a large family reunion there and everyone had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, WIsconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This place brought back great memories of a little place my parents used to take me in North Carolina. Clean, convenient and accomodating. The people running the place were helpful with restraunt suggestions and fixing anything that was needed. Great space for our two small kids to play outside and wonderful location close to everything we wanted to see. We are going to be repeat customers!!

Room Tip: The rooms with a kitchen are great but ALL rooms come with a grill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I knew what to expect by reading reviews so I wasn't disappointed as far as the layout was concerned. However, I could have done without the spiders,ants and mosquitoes inside the cottage. It seems as if there needs to be some seals/caulking done along with some screen repairs for the windows. It is a beautiful climate and the rooms had a musty smell so keeping the windows open was a must. Also have 2 mice run across the porch was a turnoff. We will not be back. The owners were kind and the grounds were nice but overall it was just not for us. I'm sure with a little more TLC this place could be great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The Anchor Inn is a quaint mix of cottages and motel rooms set close to downtown Traverse. If you read through the reviews and know what to expect with the age and size of rooms, you'll be pleasantly surprised. The owners keep the rooms extremely clean, and provide a personal touch you can't get from a big chain. The grounds are lovely as well. If you need to stay in a new and modern facility, this is not the place for you. If you appreciate character and a personal touch, you'll love the Anchor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn on the Bay

Address: 12068 S. West Bay Shore Drive, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn on the Bay is a quaint family style resort on the West Grand Traverse Bay - situated in a beautiful park like setting. You may choose from 1, 2 or bedroom cottages with full kitchens - or a unique motel room. All rooms are air conditioned. We are on M-22 just 2 miles north of Traverse City. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anchor Inn on the Bay to your Saves list