We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and experience the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn on the Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn on the Bay
12068 S. West Bay Shore Drive, Traverse City, MI 49684   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Port Huron
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and experience the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We chose this place because of the good reviews on trip adviser. We weren't disappointed, it was what we expected, an older establishment, but very clean and comfortable, just what we were looking for away from the crowds. It was off season so very quite and we couldn't believe how well we slept at night. It was about 2 miles from Traverse City where we had some great meals. We could go out and experience the sights, Dunes, Old mission Penninula, etc and come back at the end of the day and relax. Cozy places outside to sit. We are geocachers and found lots to keep us busy on our hikes. A great vacation that ended to soon. If ever in the area again we would stay at this establishment again.

Room Tip: We stayed in #114, which faces the lake, nice view especially in the morning when the sun is coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is a cute little old timey Inn at a bargain price, just outside of town. We were able to get one of their newly renovated rooms, a small but nicely appointed room with a queen bed. It was so cozy, fresh, clean and comfortable. If you don’t like small rooms, not a choice for you, so try one of the others, but perfect for us and with A/C! The property has a combination of motel rooms and cottages. Chairs, Picnic tables and grills are right outside the door. A playground for the kids, hammock, badminton court and horseshoe court are on the other side of the parking area. A WONDERFUL, PRIVATE Beach is across the road, with Adirondack chairs ready for you to put your toes in the sand! Bring a flashlight so you can come out and enjoy the stars at night…A Romantic Delight!

Room Tip: oops...didn't mean to click the swimming pool, there isn't one, but there is the beach...bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were traveling from Sizzlin' Hot Texas to Michigan & stayed at Anchor Inn on the Bay with my
in-laws during the Cherry Festival. I booked this motel early in the Spring & became worried that my in-laws room w/ 2-double size beds had no a/c. I pestered the owners about not having a/c as we're not accustomed to living without. Just as we were leaving Texas I got an email that an a/c unit was placed in the room. How Wonderful was that!?!?! Couldn't thank them enough!!!!! We stayed from July 11-14th.
My family of 4 (2 adults & 2 kids) stayed in the room with 2-queen size beds. The room was large with a dinning table & a HUGE TV mounted on the wall. There was also a small frig, microwave & coffee maker. Each room has a bench outside w/ a charcoal grill. To keep us entertained while hanging out at the motel there is a large grassy area with a playground, volleyball court, horseshoes & a firepit (they supplied all the things you need to play with). I saw some bikes that you can rent. Across the road is a private beach. There is traffic but we never had a problem crossing the road. The beach is beautiful w/ a fire pit, lawn chairs & a wooden 3 person swing.

If we travel to Traverse City again we will definitely stay here again!!! I love the atmosphere as we felt more at home here rather than in a hotel in town. It was so peaceful!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Axe, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I stayed at Anchor Inn during a recent trip for winery tour. It was a fantastic place with a perfect location for us. The rates were reasonable and the room was very clean. It wasn't a large room, like a traditional motel room but it was perfect for what we wanted. Our favorite part was the chairs that were outside each unit. We sat outside in the evenings over a park-like setting and enjoyed the quiet peace. The owner was very accomodating as well. Overall, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was a last minute get away.Didn't have much money to spend d/t a previous spring vacation. My limit was to keep the cost under $100.00 per night. This is the high season in northwest Michigan and prices are high. Even camping is costly, but I was determined to get away! I came across the Anchor Inn on the Bay read the reviews. When I called I was pleasantly surprised to find a double room with a/c, coffee maker and mini fridge. I booked it. I called the day before we were to check in and asked if there was a microwave and the owner said, "it will now". Upon arrival we were happy to find the Inn just as described. Small and quaint. A step back in time. Our room was small but adequate, beds comfy, bathroom was tiny but clean. Cooked out 2 nights and ate on the picnic table. I know we had one of the smallest rooms but we had a porch with a glider where we had our morning coffee and our evening libation.The drain in the shower was running a little slow and when I reported it to the office it was taken care of immediately. The beaches in this part of bay tend to be rocky so I recommend watershoes to enjoy the crystal clear water of the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I've been visiting the Anchor Inn for several years and have stayed in both the motel rooms and the cottages. I must say, that recent improvements by the new owners made my recent trip a most pleasant experience.

The location is superb- far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the strip of chain motels, yet a bike ride away from downtown. With the completion of the new bike path to Suttons Bay, it is also an easy ride to this quaint little village.

Our one bedroom cottage was clean and comfortable. And, even on the hottest day of the year, the fans kept us cool.

The beautifully landscaped setting, the refurbished picnic tables, and grills give you the outdoor sense of camping, without the hassle.

The owners are friendly and attentive and want you to come back- which I will!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a rather large "motel room" with two queen-size beds, a dining area, fridge and microwave. We did have an AC unit, but never needed it. We had access to a private beach and a hammock, swing and other "toys." It was close to wineries, restaurants, swimming and nature areas. Suttons Bay and Traverse City are minutes away! We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: There is an AC unit in some rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Inn on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn on the Bay

Address: 12068 S. West Bay Shore Drive, Traverse City, MI 49684
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Inn on the Bay is a quaint family style resort on the West Grand Traverse Bay - situated in a beautiful park like setting. You may choose from 1, 2 or bedroom cottages with full kitchens - or a unique motel room. All rooms are air conditioned. We are on M-22 just 2 miles north of Traverse City. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn on the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anchor Inn on the Bay to your Saves list