We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Pies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Traverse Pie Co.

Grand Traverse Pie Co.
525 W. Front St., Traverse City, MI 49684
+1 231-929-7841
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 255 Restaurants in Traverse City
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Description: The original Grand Traverse Pie Company location! Our first Pie Shop opened in July of 1996 by company founders, Mike and Denise Busley. The shop is conveniently located on West Front Street in Traverse City, Michigan, just a short walk from downtown and a block from West Grand Traverse Bay. Our open-air design has the kitchen in full view of our customers. There's comfortable seating for those who would like to sit and relax with a slice of pie and a cup of gourmet coffee. We also have great lunch selections, with quiches, soups, pot pie by the slice, salads, sandwiches, and wraps. We serve espresso, smoothies, and a variety of homemade baked goods.
Elgin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We love coming here each time we visit the area. We make is a special point to stop. The crusts are always wonderful and the assorted fillings are delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    107
    20
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A plate of sugar for too much $”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Years ago their pies were fabulous.
Not too sweet, could really taste the fruit.
Now you couldn't give me one of their pies.
Sickeningly sweet. Apparently sugar is cheaper than fruit. Huge profits they must be making - I guess a lot of people like super sweet.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Good food, great desserts! Lives up to its name. Recommend a pot pie ( I had the shepherds pot pie) or a sandwich. Crumb top apple was my favorite. Wife had a slice of apple, blueberry ,cherry (called ABC). Will definitely be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Yummy Hot Pie in front of a fireplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Wish there had been more varieties of pies to choose from, there were about ten. We had a slice of one that had a mix of apples, raspberry, blackberry, etc. They ask if you wish to have it warmed and we did. It was delicious. Hard to park at this downtown location but found a public parking area. Enjoyed sitting in front of a warm fire.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's a regular stop for us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We come to TVC often for plays, and we frequently stop at the Grand Traverse Pie Company. It's so convenient, right on Front Street, and it's a great place to grab your coffee, something sweet, and people watch from a table by the window. Even though we don't live here, it's interesting to see the same people at their tables when we're there. The food is always tasty, never had anything I didn't like. I think that their chicken pot pies are the best you can buy, and I've tested lots of others. Love the atmosphere here, and the staff is always accomodating and friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Traverse Pie Co. also viewed

Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
Traverse City, Grand Traverse County
 

Been to Grand Traverse Pie Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Traverse Pie Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.