We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy With Our Stay at Pointes North Beachfront Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Powderly, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Happy With Our Stay at Pointes North Beachfront Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were looking for somewhere close to the airport and Pointes North Beachfront Resort was three miles away. We were very happy with our choice. The staff is very friendly and allowed us to check in about an hour early. The room was clean and furnished nicely including a microwave, coffee maker and small refrigerator. It had a great view of the Bay. The Wi-Fi was good. I took a point off because it would have been helpful if they had supplied a roll of paper towels or some napkins. Also there was no dishwashing liquid for cleaning up used glasses. Overall, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in room 103 which was on the quiet end away from pool. Great view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    70
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
37
98
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheswick, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Shirley at the front desk was more than helpful. We arrived with no clue as to what to do, and the front desk lady pretty much helped us plan the whole week. THE ROOMS are spacious and have amazing views of the bay, but could use a little carpentry work. THE BEDS are stiff and not conformed nor comfortable to anyone who has a curvy body. Wife and I had to run on down to Wally-World and pick up some comfy pillows that supported our heads without piling 4 on top of each other. ALL IN ALL it's a decent place. They try very hard to maintain the residence. We just hated the bed, pillows, sheets, and the evil black squirrel that darted the dunes in search of it's nuts.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have stayed at Pointes North for years - I love it -- to sit on their porch and look at the water is a delight -- so peaceful. I now go each year for my birthday and the staff is terrific. Call "Amazing Shirley" for your reservation..,you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: They are all good - I like a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently went to Mackinaw Island and flew out of Traverse City. We decided to stay in Traverse City a couple of nights before returning home. We stayed at the Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel. It was very nice. The view from the patio door is amazing. You can walk right out into the sand and down to the lake. The room was very clean and roomy. Each room is owned by a different owner so each room is decorated differently. My cousin and her husband had the room next to ours and it was beautiful as well but looked totally different from ours. The breakfast wasn't great but the room and view are wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Husband and I stayed here for a long weekend for wine trails and Sleeping Bear Dunes. We stayed in two different rooms, and the staff was able to accommodate our request to switch rooms after 1 night. if you can, book a room in the newer building with the elevator. The main building's rooms overlook the pool, which means you'll hear everything if you sit on the patio and people are in the pool. Mostly, though, the balconies are not private in this building but they are slanted for more privacy in the other; what's more, the rooms are newer. That said, this place is very clean. We slept very well in comfortable beds in both rooms, and the staff members are very friendly and accommodating. The beach on the bay is small but lovely. Breakfast is included but limited (cold cereal, instant oatmeal, nice bread assortment, yogurt, apples, canned juice); the coffee is not great. For those who need great joe, head for Crow About It, less than 1/4 mile from the hotel. We felt that this hotel offered great value for the price and wouldn't hesitate to come here again.

Room Tip: Try to book in the newer building. Rooms are newer; balconies are slanted for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a room on the top floor (no lift) with a great view of the beach and the lake. We got a great rate as we were off season and the hotel was really quiet. It's too far to walk into town so we got a cab one night which was easy. The room was huge and we could have easily spent a week there if the weather was warmer. The staff were really helpful with dinner suggestions and booking. We didn't try to pool as it was too cold, but had a jacuzzi in the room so that made up for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosslake
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and the first night we stayed in 103, I think it was one of the prettier units, lovely bedding, etc., however, it was perhaps one of the most uncomfortable beds we had ever slept in. I believe it was a pillow top and I'm sure some might like it, but it was so bad that we asked to change rooms. Also, we had some serious foot traffic over head as well. They offered to switch us to 313 and it was far better. These are very clean both inside and outside.

Room Tip: Choose upper level rooms to avoid foot traffic above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.