We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and nice view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 includes coupon book
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff and nice view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at this during a work trip. Traverse City is definitely one of those hidden gems. First time I've been and we're from VA. Only negative for me was the cost of flight but this is good for those Michigan residents as it keeps many "tourists" away.

We chose Pointes North primarily because it was one of the few hotels with 3 rooms available and because all rooms are oceanfront. The view is unbeatable from the hotel. One of our rooms was located directly in front of the pool and there is literally no privacy if you want your blinds open in the evening to enjoy the wonderful view. I think Rooms 115 - 111 have this view so my recommendation would be to request something other than these rooms. If you have young kids who may spend much of their time in the pool then it may be a good choice.

It's true that the beach in front is pretty narrow (only about 100 feet) but I'm told they have strict guidelines of beach size when in the wetlands so if you want deeper water then you may want to look elsewhere. By for young kids that you don't want in deep water then this would be nice. And you can walk out very far. Probably a couple hundred yards and still be in water no higher than knee depth.

The rooms are a bit odd. There's a separate jacuzzi tub right next to the bed (literally). See my photo. Maybe this is a romantic thing but I don't know of many people who take baths when on vacation as a shower.bath combo would have done. The other thing about the bath is there is no provacy so for those few who do want to bathe, you have not separation from the room so anyone with you will see all. The AC does not get very cold and I like it cold at night but the evenings are cool. The shower water did not get very hot. it was barely above luke warm but it got my clean without being in freezing water

Overall, this hotel is very nice, great service.

Room Tip: Request NOT to be in Rooms 111-115. These are located in the pool area and you have about 3 feet out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    65
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
92
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bella Vista, AR
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed here some years ago and not much has changed -- which is a good thing! Located on east side of bay, well groomed beach area and perfect sunset views. Our room on 3rd floor of bldg. with elevator was easy access from parking lot, quiet and immaculately clean, good sized balcony, and comfortable bed and seating area. I could live without the Jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room (romantic couples might enjoy but we were there for sun and sand). Shower was very small in an odd spot next to the tub, but good pressure and plenty of hot water. Staff friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast provided in the very small lobby area, although there are a few additional tables outside. We opted to skip the unexciting breakfast offering and head to the Grand Traverse Pie Company instead, which I highly recommend. Good value for the price. Building with the elevator was a must for us.

Room Tip: We liked the view from the 3rd floor; be sure to request the building with elevator (2nd building do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights here (July 14-16, 2013). We were originally booked on the 3rd floor in the building with no elevator. However, when we checked in, we were given a 2nd floor room on the very end with an elevator. It was room 201, a perfect location because it was away from the pool and we had an extra window because it was on the end. The room was extremely clean, and the bed couldn't have been more comfortable!! There was a jacuzzi tub and a nice shower, also a nice flat screen TV. The room was very spacious with a king size bed. Also, the balconies in our building were angled so you had privacy. The other building was different and I can see where there would be no privacy on those balconies. We enjoyed the nice beach too. The water is very shallow for a long way, great for small children!! (no rocks or debri, just clear water and nice sandy bottom) The staff was very attentive when we asked for more towels, and for recommendations of good local restaurants to try. The only thing I would say could be better is the continental breakfast. It is set up in a very small lobby where you check in and out of the rooms. There are just 3 small tables and two outside which are often being used. The breakfast consists of bagels, mini muffins, yogurt and small cereal boxes. Of course there is coffee and small cans of orange juice as well. We were fine with this but had we had our two teenage sons with us, they would've needed a little more to eat than this. I would've loved to have some fresh fruit. The location is on the east bay which is little bit of a drive to the downtown Traverse City area. (not far, 2-3 miles, but just can't walk there) We would stay here again because of the beautiful view, clean room, and friendly service. This was one of the few hotels with "no vacancy" on their sign both nights we were there. Just FYI if you haven't been to TC before. Since my husband and I grew up in Michigan, our expectations are in line with the location. Most of the resorts have been there for many, many years, probably all remodeled at some point. Do not expect a 5 start resort, as this is still a "lake" vacation. Traverse City is a beautiful place to enjoy the outdoors,i.e. beaches, boating, wineries, shopping, etc. You will not find luxurious accomodations in Traverse City as it is not centered around being pampered, but just good relaxing FUN in the beautiful outdoors of northern Michigan. We spend very little time at our resort when we are up in TC.

Room Tip: For a more private balcony, choose the building on the left if you're facing the water. You may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I cannot say anything bad about this resort/hotel!

We arrived on Thursday and stayed through Sunday. We were promptly greeted from a very friendly front office staff, who were well educated on the hotel and the area restaurants as well. The rooms were priced higher due to the season, however, we did not feel we were overcharged at all.

Our room was on the first floor, next to the pool (which was never loud) and allowed for beach access right from the room. We felt safe enough to leave the screen door out with our things inside as we ventured to the beach. The beach was well combed, and was never crowded.

The room itself was very clean. From the carpets, to the bedding, the bathroom area (which was spacious) to the jetted tub. I was a bit leery regarding the tub, but it was clean and provided the relaxation perfect for a getaway.

We will absolutely return to this location. Out of all of the options on the "strip" area, Pointes North has our vote indefinitely.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room that did not open to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed on the 3rd floor in the building with the elevator. Was pleasantly surprised at how clean the rooms were and how big the balcony was; you could actually have 4 people without having to sit on top of each other. Staff was friendly, grounds were very well kept, had a big binder in the lobby of local restaurant information. We were there in mid-week and it was nice and quiet, no kids which was just what we were looking for. Beach area was nice, easy access, and well maintained. Would recommend to people looking for a bit of a quieter place to stay.

Room Tip: Only 1 of the buildings has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked this hotel mainly because all the rooms have a great view of the Bay and a private beach which makes it about $50 higher than comparable hotels. The room itself was just average and in need of updating. Very small flat screen t.v. with no sleep timer. Noisy wall air conditioner. Staff was very friendly and moved us to a higher floor. Unfortunately, it rained the entire day we were there, but we did see a spectacular lightning bolt over the Bay that knocked out power to much of the city! The most useful part the property is the restroom off the lobby that we were able to use before and after checkout. Basic continental breakfast with minimal seating.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views of the Bay and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Points North Resort was simply awesome!!! The staff was so wonderful and accommodating! The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable. Nice sandy beach, water was warm and shallow for a ways out. Chairs on the Beach. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.