We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Traverse City
Certificate of Excellence
Alpena, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Fun Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a little weekend away and chose the Pointes North because their Romance Package included a dinner voucher of $25-which was more than many other hotels in the area of the same price range. We splurged a bit but enjoyed our stay. The view was nice, breakfast was simple but healthy. I agree that summer might be better but wouldn't pay more than the winter rate for the amenities. Motel instead of hotel fits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    74
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
37
111
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairgrove, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I had a bit of cabin fever in early March so we took off on a Saturday morning for a drive with no destination except up north. We ended up in Traverse City, which we both love. I have always wanted to stay at one of the resorts along Grand Traverse Bay but figured the price would be out of our price range, even in the off season. We checked a couple of hotels on the non water side of US 31 and just for the heck of it we stopped at Pointes North Beachfront Resort because the sign said walk in specials. We were greeted with a very friendly staff member and given a great rate for 1 night. The rate was even lower than some of the other hotels on the non-water side and about $100 lower than a resort just a couple doors down. Our room was very nice and clean. We had wonderful view and even a Jacuzzi tub! Now I understand the price was low because of the off season/winter but it was still great and we would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Room was very clean and inviting. View from the balcony was pleasent. I would recommend this hotel. Prices were a little on the high end, but overall nice place to stay. It was about ten minutes from down town

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

A winter storm forced my wife and I to stay an extra night in the Traverse City area. We called Pointes North and made a reservation for the same day. The room had everything we needed- fridge, microwave, jacuzzi, and tv. We hope to stay here again in the Summer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayy Up Mi
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a ton of problems at Howard Johnson down the street and had to find another hotel fast cause the snow was coming! Chose this place and what a great choice! Very reasonable rate and was well worth it. Great views of the bay, which is still breathtaking in winter, a Jacuzzi tub that actually was very quiet, microwave, good sized mini-fridge, separate shower and very comfy beds. Staff is all professional, friendly and knowledgeable. Everything was crisp, clean and didn't have odor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is truly appreciated. We hope to see you at Pointes North again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel, more of a nice motel though. The walk all the way up to the room was very chilly. I can see it would be better enjoyed in the spring or summer. The room was updated, but the pillows were flat. I wished I had brought my own. The jacuzzi was enjoyable, though incredibly loud. Overall, I'd stay again in warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenton,MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Awesome spot, location, great room and amenities! Highly recommend Pointes North for couples or families! Location can't be beat in TC! Room was well equipped, very nice, spacious, loved looking out onto the bay. So much to do in Traverse City, wine country, shopping, beaches,loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.