We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel
2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$99 includes coupon book
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Traverse City
1 review
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean and inviting. View from the balcony was pleasent. I would recommend this hotel. Prices were a little on the high end, but overall nice place to stay. It was about ten minutes from down town

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    65
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
91
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A winter storm forced my wife and I to stay an extra night in the Traverse City area. We called Pointes North and made a reservation for the same day. The room had everything we needed- fridge, microwave, jacuzzi, and tv. We hope to stay here again in the Summer.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayy Up Mi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Had a ton of problems at Howard Johnson down the street and had to find another hotel fast cause the snow was coming! Chose this place and what a great choice! Very reasonable rate and was well worth it. Great views of the bay, which is still breathtaking in winter, a Jacuzzi tub that actually was very quiet, microwave, good sized mini-fridge, separate shower and very comfy beds. Staff is all professional, friendly and knowledgeable. Everything was crisp, clean and didn't have odor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is truly appreciated. We hope to see you at Pointes North again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel, more of a nice motel though. The walk all the way up to the room was very chilly. I can see it would be better enjoyed in the spring or summer. The room was updated, but the pillows were flat. I wished I had brought my own. The jacuzzi was enjoyable, though incredibly loud. Overall, I'd stay again in warmer weather.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenton,MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Awesome spot, location, great room and amenities! Highly recommend Pointes North for couples or families! Location can't be beat in TC! Room was well equipped, very nice, spacious, loved looking out onto the bay. So much to do in Traverse City, wine country, shopping, beaches,loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We love staying at this place, a great value for a jacuzzi room with kitchenette. Rooms are clean and up to date. The view is beautiful. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is a bit north of downtown, but it's still close enough to be convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris G, Manager at Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We are so happy that Pointes North is your favorite place to stay in Traverse City!
We do our best to accommodate our guests.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I picked this resort because of the waterfront location for my kids, unfortunately we were there during the coldest weekend of the summer! The staff at Pointes North was awesome and helped us find kid friendly activities that didn't involve the cold beach!! The pool was heated so the kids still had a great experience. The view from our room was beautiful.

My only complaint was the room was very old fashioned. For the price we paid, I would expect more modern accommodations. The tv barely worked and the furniture looked like it was from the 80s. Despite the decor, my family and I had an awesome time!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel

Address: 2211 US 31 North, Traverse City, MI 49686
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Traverse City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Family Hotel in Traverse City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Traverse City
#13 Business Hotel in Traverse City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise found on Michigans Gold Coast. Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel is located on the shores of East Grand Traverse Bay in Traverse City where you’ll find no better place to relax and unwind in any season. Our spacious rooms feature two person JACUZZI® spas, private balcony or patio and breathtaking panoramic views of the beach and East Grand Traverse Bay. No rooms identically furnished for a unique touch to your up-north experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pointes North Hotel Traverse City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointes North Beachfront Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.